Waste Management Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Waste Management Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
349 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Limited upper management opportunity/Internal politics/long hours(in 83 reviews)

  • "Knowing the amount of trash we add to the environment(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Res"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Home nightly and good benefits

    Cons

    Early Mornings and weekend call ins

    Waste Management2019-03-23

    Waste Management Response

    April 9, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your great review! We’re happy to hear you are enjoying your work experience with Waste Management thus far. We love to hear recommendations on how to best provide a positive work experience. We hope you continue to grow your career with us!

    Continue reading
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly fair Busy Always interesting Good people Good pay

    Cons

    Downsized out, nothing bad to say

    Waste Management2019-12-15

    Waste Management Response

    January 9, 2020SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your feedback and review. The key to our success is our people. We’re glad you enjoyed working with your team and hopefully will work with you again in the future.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive staff, nice office, stable job

    Cons

    repetitive work load. tough fees to explain.

    Waste Management2019-10-24

    Waste Management Response

    November 20, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your feedback and review. The key to our success is our people. We’re glad you enjoyed working with your team!

    Continue reading
  4. "Trash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy , easy excel, moving to recycling.

    Cons

    Absentee management, ageism, reverse discrimination

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-10-25

    Waste Management Response

    November 20, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns, and we take your comments very seriously. At Waste Management, one of our core values is Inclusion and Diversity. If you feel that there is discrimination within the workplace, we encourage you to reach out to your management, local HR, or anonymously to the Integrity Help Line at 1-800-265-9381 so that your claim can be investigated. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams, and your feedback is beneficial.

    Continue reading
  5. "Working at WM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Manager 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Potential for high salary, flexibility

    Cons

    The culture and management needs work

    Waste Management2019-06-13

    Waste Management Response

    July 17, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to offer our employees opportunities to grow within our many departments and pride ourselves on providing a comprehensive benefits.

    Continue reading
  6. "Good company if you can stand the smell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    competitive benefits at the company

    Cons

    Smell in the yard, too many unions, management disconnected with union employees

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-06-12

    Waste Management Response

    June 18, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value all feedback from our employees. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams. Our staff does the best it can to minimize the smell from the waste and seek new ways to address the issue.

    Continue reading
  7. "High expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun team environment and the drivers are great

    Cons

    Very high expectations extremely hard market

    Waste Management2019-04-17

    Waste Management Response

    June 18, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your feedback and review. The key to our success is our people. We appreciate your commitment and the contributions you made to our team.

    Continue reading
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Really great place to work

    Cons

    nothing really to comment on

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-02-24

    Waste Management Response

    March 5, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your great review! We’re happy to hear you are enjoying your work experience with us thus far. Thank you for being a part of the WM team!

    Continue reading
  9. "Ok pay!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Money benefits but thats about it!!

    Cons

    Long hours with zero advancement

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-02-01

    Waste Management Response

    February 11, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. As you know, this industry can be demanding, but we understand that work-life balance is important to all our employees. We appreciate any recommendations to best provide a positive work experience. Our growth opportunities are currently a large focus for our senior leaders and we are constantly looking for ways to improve. Recently, we launched a new careers site to make it simpler to find new careers opportunities and advancement opportunities. We encourage everyone to explore furthering their career with Waste Management by visiting careers.wm.com and joining our Talent Network to keep informed about our other upcoming improvements.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Load Driver in Prince George, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managment is great and so Is pay

    Cons

    Sometimes your routes are large and are a pain to complete

    Waste Management2018-11-20

    Waste Management Response

    November 28, 2018Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your great review! We know the job can be demanding at times but we appreciate your hard work and contributions to our team.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1731 reviews