Waste Management Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Waste Management President and CEO James C. Fish, Jr
James C. Fish, Jr
365 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Hard work long hours But weekends off(in 87 reviews)

  • "It is a great show but us employees (customer service reps) "a free pass" is out of the question when we work for the company that is hosting the event(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cozy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Dispatcher in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    This is an amazing company to work for. We work well together in our department and always help each other.

    Cons

    There are no cons, its really a great company.

    Waste Management2020-04-11
  2. "Impressive Team spirit"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Communications Coordinator in Waterloo, ON

    I have been working at Waste Management part-time

    Pros

    Most departments have great team spirit and are all about working in tandem towards a bigger goal.

    Cons

    Growth potential is small except for a very select few.

    Waste Management2020-05-08
  3. "Everyone supports one another and is so kind. It's a wonderful work environment."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is very thorough. You have constant support available. Everyone helps each other succeed. Constant recognition and rewards.

    Cons

    The base pay isn't great but you have the opportunity to make much more with commissions.

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2020-03-07
  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly fair Busy Always interesting Good people Good pay

    Cons

    Downsized out, nothing bad to say

    Waste Management2019-12-15

    Waste Management Response

    January 9, 2020SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your feedback and review. The key to our success is our people. We’re glad you enjoyed working with your team and hopefully will work with you again in the future.

  5. "Good place to start"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive staff, nice office, stable job

    Cons

    repetitive work load. tough fees to explain.

    Waste Management2019-10-24

    Waste Management Response

    November 20, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your feedback and review. The key to our success is our people. We’re glad you enjoyed working with your team!

  6. "Trash"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy , easy excel, moving to recycling.

    Cons

    Absentee management, ageism, reverse discrimination

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-10-25

    Waste Management Response

    November 20, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns, and we take your comments very seriously. At Waste Management, one of our core values is Inclusion and Diversity. If you feel that there is discrimination within the workplace, we encourage you to reach out to your management, local HR, or anonymously to the Integrity Help Line at 1-800-265-9381 so that your claim can be investigated. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams, and your feedback is beneficial.

  7. "Working at WM"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Account Manager 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Potential for high salary, flexibility

    Cons

    The culture and management needs work

    Waste Management2019-06-13

    Waste Management Response

    July 17, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy to offer our employees opportunities to grow within our many departments and pride ourselves on providing a comprehensive benefits.

  8. "Good company if you can stand the smell"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    competitive benefits at the company

    Cons

    Smell in the yard, too many unions, management disconnected with union employees

    Continue reading
    Waste Management2019-06-12

    Waste Management Response

    June 18, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We value all feedback from our employees. We continually strive to ensure that our management is providing the best leadership to our teams. Our staff does the best it can to minimize the smell from the waste and seek new ways to address the issue.

  9. "High expectations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waste Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun team environment and the drivers are great

    Cons

    Very high expectations extremely hard market

    Waste Management2019-04-17

    Waste Management Response

    June 18, 2019SoMe Associate

    Thank you for your feedback and review. The key to our success is our people. We appreciate your commitment and the contributions you made to our team.

  10. "Res"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Waste Management full-time

    Pros

    Home nightly and good benefits

    Cons

    Early Mornings and weekend call ins

    Waste Management2019-03-23

    Waste Management Response

    April 9, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your great review! We’re happy to hear you are enjoying your work experience with Waste Management thus far. We love to hear recommendations on how to best provide a positive work experience. We hope you continue to grow your career with us!

Found 1769 reviews