Walmart "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Walmart Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Mar 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Walmart CEO Horacio Barbeito
Horacio Barbeito
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay great benefits mostly good(in 1874 reviews)

  • "Good benefits when you become full-time(in 1230 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Dawson, YT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good job for full time student

    Cons

    Not much flexible timing on weekdays

    Walmart2020-02-08
  2. "I would never recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Associate in Ancaster, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    10% staff discount. Free parking. If they give you full time, the benefits are decent.

    Cons

    Management treats non management associates like they are imbeciles . There is zero respect. There is no positive feedback or encouragement. Managers are not approachable or helpful (to associates). I have never felt so degraded at a job. Many staff members, including some in management, are unhappy. It's a negative environment and experience.

    Continue reading
    Walmart2020-03-16
  3. "Tools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Fashion Associate in Cornwall, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Willing to work around my other full time job

    Cons

    Tools you need to perform your job not readily available

    Walmart2020-01-23
  4. "Good Team, flexible, positive atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Yarmouth, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits for full time and part time, profit sharing, flexible schedule, incentives, staff discount, managers are responsive, supports IWK hospital, fun coworkers

    Cons

    Need to ask customers to get credit card, store news doesn't filter down to cash, hours are cut in the summer

    Continue reading
    Walmart2019-11-15
  5. "Ups and Downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at Walmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked part time as a cashier all while being a full time university student. The job itself is fine, mindless and easy. I loved the people I worked with, if anything they made my shift tolerable. I was lucky and had good managers, so I enjoyed my time here. If you communicate properly, they can give you proper hours (especially if you're working part time)

    Cons

    The only reason why I didn't like this job at times was due to the receptiveness of the job. You just greet, scan and bag items for customers. Customers were nice most of the time, only a couple complaints when its super busy (back to school).

    Walmart2019-09-17
  6. "More work with fewer associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits if you get on full time In store discount on all merchandise Associate stock purchase

    Cons

    Less people doing the same amount of work or more No fixed schedule No accountability Associates are treated with very little respect, just someone to get the work done Management does not listen to their people

    Continue reading
    Walmart2019-09-01
  7. "Bakery Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Associate in Regina, SK
    Recommends

    I worked at Walmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started as a part time . 5month later, I got full time position. nice management. nice co worker

    Cons

    cover other department like deli, produce.

    Walmart2018-10-24
  8. "Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Bakery Clerk in Owen Sound, ON

    I have been working at Walmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can get full-time hours

    Cons

    Work hours all over the place including weekends

    Walmart2018-09-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good if you like working alone & outside (weather independant)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Standards Associate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -10% discount is nice to have -Management will leave you alone for 99% of your work time -If you're efficient with grabbing carts there can be plenty of downtime -Pretty decent exercise while working (continuously walking) -Morning and Evening weekday shifts require minimal work (if you're efficient) -Request for time off can be done online without hassle -Decent money for entry level job, includes minor vacation pay as well. -Hours are dictated by availability, high availability = higher hours -Good side job for secondary students -Colleagues are good to work with -Opportunities to get promoted full-time inside the store (if interested)

    Cons

    -Work is weather independent whether heavy rain, +36 to -40 you will have to be working outside, dress appropriately -Strays (abandoned carts) tend to spike during heavy rains, strong winds or super-cold weather forcing you to work longer outside during those times -Sale days (Boxing, Labour day, Black Friday etc.) can be very exhausting due to the amount of traffic in the store, combined with plenty of strays outside -Weekend shifts require a fair amount of walking (~2km/shift) and may be tiring to some -Pushing long cart lines during rush periods (weekends) in tight parking lots can be pretty daunting -Continuously grabbing strays from the store and all over the parking can be quiet tiring sometimes -Crazy/bad drivers (rare) that can be very inconsiderate with right-of-way -Having to change outside overfilled garbage bins are not fun, neither is removing used diapers from shopping carts (rare but sadly does happen)

    Continue reading
    Walmart2018-09-16
  10. "Varies with each division but good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Walmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Almost Full Time hours, Breaks, Other Co-workers, Front end managers were nice

    Cons

    CSM's were rude, Customers were horrible, very busy sometimes

    Walmart2018-06-03
Found 508 reviews