Walker Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Walker Group Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "A great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Walker Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very dynamic, innovative and solutions-based employer, backed up by great team work and supportive corporate culture.

    Cons

    Decision making process cycle could use some trimming.

    Continue reading
    Walker Group2018-09-06

    Walker Group Response

    September 6, 2018Marketing Director

    Thank you for the advice to embrace alignment, it's sometimes the simplest things that get lost in the mix. It's very encouraging to read such positive feedback from an employee that has been with us for 10 years.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walker Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open-door policy for suggestions and improvements. Genuine interest in personal and professional life. Willing to provide training and opportunities for self-improvement and skill development. Encouragement for both team and individual working aptitudes.

    Cons

    Structured process plans for various projects seem lacking at times. While the work does get done, not always in the most efficient way.

    Continue reading
    Walker Group2018-09-06

    Walker Group Response

    September 6, 2018Marketing Director

    It's true, change isn't easy and it will all come into place soon. Thank you for the positive encouragement!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Walker Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've been working here for 9 years and I would not change for anything else. Great benefits and good conditions.

    Cons

    Teamwork is sometime difficult to reach otherwise everything else is good

    Walker Group2018-09-06

    Walker Group Response

    September 6, 2018Marketing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to review us. These health checks are incredibly important for our growth. We love this feedback because teamwork and collaboration are critical. We will look to improve this.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Walker Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - People are nice and caring - the environment is pretty good - location peaceful and the beautiful view of the sea and Stanley Park

    Cons

    - depending on which area you are working on could be a little dark space

    Walker Group2018-09-06

    Walker Group Response

    September 6, 2018Marketing Director

    Thank you very much. The views are great from the Vancouver office, that we can't complain about. As we strive for continuous improvements and we've noted your feedback. There are definitely areas of the office that can get a little darker than others, especially when it's raining!

    Continue reading
  5. "Wish you were here...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walker Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your colleagues are incredibly friendly. The fact this is a family enterprise influences how the company feels; it feels like a big family right down to Christmas parties in the founder's home. The company is small enough so you can make a huge impact if you want it. The group is comprised of multiple sub-companies who all collaborate but who also have a diverse portfolio of products - that means there's always opportunities to learn something new. The company is stable - we've been going since 1968 so we're here to stay. Some of the sub-companies have been around since the start and some are brand new, so you get the stability that comes with long-term success plus the experience and mentorship from folk who've been succeeding at this for a long time. You also get the entrepreneurial spirit that comes with some of the newer sub-companies working like start-ups with a 'skunk-works' mentality. We have Oscar, the office dog. The Vancouver office is right on the beach and we're 'beach casual'. There's a roof terrace with a bar, a BBQ, an organic vegetable garden and ping pong table.

    Cons

    If you're reading this then you're probably not already here :o(

    Continue reading
    Walker Group2018-09-06

    Walker Group Response

    September 6, 2018Marketing Director

    Wow! We hear you loud and clear and this is us standing our chair shouting "THANK YOU". There are definitely a lot of opportunities to celebrate our achievements and even more now that we are growing and expanding into new spaces.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walker Group full-time

    Pros

    The Walker Group provides a very pleasant and nurturing work environment. Management is always supportive and the company encourages a great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Since the company is small there is not a large amount of opportunity to quickly move up the ranks. As the company continues to grow this is sure to change.

    Walker Group2018-09-06

    Walker Group Response

    September 6, 2018Marketing Director

    We are definitely growing and more opportunities to follow. Rest assured we always look internally first when new roles become available. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  7. "The best place I have ever worked!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Walker Group

    Pros

    Dynamic and entrepreneurial team that works well together. Despite being results driven the ownership and leadership group are empathetic and understanding and definitely make the workplace feel like an extended family. Compensation and benefits are competitive and the work is interesting and challenging.

    Cons

    Like many company's the Walker Group can do more to standardize procedures and improve adherence to SOP.

    Walker Group2018-09-06

    Walker Group Response

    September 6, 2018Marketing Director

    It's always amazing to hear our team is happy and engaged. Even better when you read "it's the best place you've ever worked at". We do understand there are some challenges that we need to overcome by facing them directly. Standardizing procedures, improving collaboration and communication with tools like Slack and aligning the businesses are a priority for us.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bilingual Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at Walker Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive and Caring Management Teams and Co-Workers. Flexible Working Hours and Job Perks are great if you have a family. Positive and Family Oriented Work Environment.

    Cons

    Extended Benefits could be a little better - but overall satisfied.

    Walker Group2018-09-06

    Walker Group Response

    September 6, 2018Marketing Director

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We really pride ourselves on ensuring a family-focused culture in both offices, which is why it's important to give everyone the flexibility they need! We'll table your feedback for extended benefits.

    Continue reading
  9. "Don’t go to HR & Beware of master manipulator rinning the show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Whitby, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Walker Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great products, loyal associates often manipulated by “Leader” who are simply unaware

    Cons

    Leadership & Management dont have a clue how to lead and foster high performance. They reward mediocre performance and punish high performers due to CONTROL issues. If you have a problem, deal with it yourself OR leave as NOTHING changes or you’re at risk of losing your job if HR gets involved because you’ve upset the “Leadership” cult. NOTE: President is a liar who only does whats right for him & I guarantee your ethics will be compromised.

    Continue reading
    Walker Group2018-06-20

    Walker Group Response

    September 5, 2018Marketing Director

    Thanks for the feedback. We are committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all our employees so I'm disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. We value all feedback and we are finding ways to improve but we want to address some of your specific concerns here. First, we operate in a lean environment which has its benefits and drawbacks. Benefits include quick problem solving but at the risk of wearing multiple hats at once. Being a senior leader within the company you are expected to not let emotions drive decisions and to work in a collaborative manner. We are incredibly focused on rewarding high performers and developing medicore performers through coaching opportunities. What may appear right to many will ulitmately upset others. For this we apologize. Thank you for your contribution to the company. This feedback helps us make Walker Group a better place and best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews