WE Communications Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

WE Communications Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
51%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
WE Communications President and CEO Melissa Waggener Zorkin
Melissa Waggener Zorkin
205 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance differs amongst teams(in 44 reviews)

  • "Extremely long hours with pressure to meet high billable hour goals(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A company with sufficient worklife balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Sufficient Work-Life Balance - Good Employee Benefits

    Cons

    - After change of management team, management don't seems to be a people person. - Doesn't really know what employee wants as well.

    WE Communications2020-03-09
  2. "Great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications

    Pros

    Hasn't been here for long but experienced better top people previously.

    Cons

    No longer a people-first company.

    WE Communications2020-03-12
  3. "Creative and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Sydney
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, driven, Value, great clients, fast paced

    Cons

    Change in staff is sometimes high

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2020-02-15
  4. "Incredible PR agency with finger in advertising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, scope-creep protection, great customer service, strong work ethic, high-quality work, stellar creative talent and work, general friendliness of everyone.

    Cons

    Inexperience in advertising - keep in mind that this is a PR-first agency so much if not all of the advertising business has been built out of PR work, not been pitched and won thanks to experience, expertise, and capabilities. Consequently, media experience and knowledge were limited across most of the agency except within the media team (which was tiny) and there were few tools. There was little focus on building out advertising as evidenced by biz dev. While there were solid ad agency hires in upper management to the team during my time, those above and below that level had limited knowledge of how media worked within and across channels: what is a pixel, how to effectively use retargeting, what CPM points to, identifying audience overlap, how to build a pivot table, how to properly set up and measure an A/B test, understanding importance of R/F, importance of site-side measurement, siloed in the upper funnel without properly considering the down-funnel effects, right-sizing campaigns to budgets, attribution, how to build a media strategy deck (vs. tactics), etc., etc.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2020-02-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Mundane work for you without any reward or growth bu managers gets promoted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Have learned over the years how not to be a bad leader by observing managers who have overstayed their welcome, and making really bad decisions. I've seen individuals being disrespected, used condescending tones, second guessing your own colleagues work ethic, unaware of peoples cultures, and making comments that would lead to termination had it been said by a minority. Taking all of these expeirences, I've learned to stay away from negativity and had to change myself to work with these individuals with a fake smile, but its hard when people who have created a safe haven for themselves in this company by being there for so many years that others can never hope to succeed.

    Cons

    Managers being promoted for their subordinates hard work to complete projects. Cherry picked projects to assign to individuals and then setting up roadblocks so they can never get this achieved aka setting them up failure.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2020-02-11
  6. "Busy but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Fun colleagues and good staff welfare

    Cons

    Long working hours even on weekends

    WE Communications2020-01-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Learn what you can, then move on asap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I learned how to write a good email. I learned a great deal from my Microsoft colleagues. My WE colleagues were cutthroat however.

    Cons

    I've never worked someplace where there are so many women working to cut each other down. The pettiness and the obsession with hierarchy here is just beyond toxic. Management rewards tattling and acting out. This is not a place to stay.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2020-01-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Learn, But For Me, Not to Stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consignment Inventory Analyst in Bellevue, WA

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training opportunities, paid time off to serve, frequent catered meals, and chance to see (and play a part in) how big companies like Microsoft run their communications. I had a wonderful manager who looked out for me.

    Cons

    A lot of grueling, rote work--mostly hours upon hours spent recapping and analyzing the news--with little personal payoff. Less opportunity to pursue creative ideas at this level. Working to support a complex product I didn't understand well and had little passion for.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2020-01-17
  9. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people and everyone is very supportive and encouraging.

    Cons

    Not the biggest clients but team is working on changing that

    WE Communications2020-01-02
  10. "Work hard, learn a lot, growing variety of clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President 

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    You work and learn from great colleagues in an environment committed to communications excellence. Over the past 5 years, the agency leadership has strengthened, and the business is in better shape, the client roster is more diverse.

    Cons

    Client service isn't for everyone, and sometimes the "how high" response to Microsoft requests and demands puts agency people in the role of having to take hits they don't deserve.

    WE Communications2019-11-14
Found 332 reviews