WE Charity Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

WE Charity Reviews

Updated 29 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
WE Charity CEO Scott Baker
Scott Baker
117 Ratings
Pros
  • "FTC is growing at a rapid pace and sometimes that means learning new things in uncharted territories(in 18 reviews)

  • "Good time off, travel opportunities, meaningful work, organization is focused on continuous improvement for the better(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "They will tell you how lucky you are to work there (stating some bogus "it's harder to get accepted into Harvard than to get hired at FTC" fact)(in 22 reviews)

  • "hours/per week without overtime pay or lieu time(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strong investments being made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The organization heavily in manager training into support of employees. This is a learning organization, always innovation and improving the employee experiences. As a young manager, I have been able to participate in a number of trainings that are equipping me to support my staff. The executives at WE spend considerable efforts working on improving experience while ensuring strong performance. Amazing training and... learning plus many opportunities to travel and be a part of a global organization.

    Show More

    Cons

    not an average workplace- need to be self directed and passionate

    WE Charity2019-11-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Anxiety Inducing Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel opportunities, talented staff

    Cons

    Leadership does not care about their staff and the pay is unliveable. I had been with WE for years and it took months for me being out of it to realize the negative effects it had on my self esteem. A few of the heads feel pressure from the top down and everyone under them feels the pressure. A lot of the management is not experienced enough as people leaders to be in their role, and the “mission based” view is not... an excuse for how staff are treated. While I am grateful for the time I had, and the development work done, working here is not sustainable for anyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your staff. Pay in a liveable salary. Allow for work life balance

    WE Charity2019-11-29
  3. "a great opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I would like to clarify for readers that the organization does indeed have pay band and job levels. Job levels range from coordinator to executives. Within these levels there are managers, specialists, associates, directors, director heads and so on. Each level has a set of job responsibilities and the skills needed for the job. Each level is compensated within the job level. To be fair, the organization makes it... very clear from the beginning that due to maintaining a low admin fee, salaries are not high however they more make than make up for that with their total rewards strategy which includes a positive culture, perks like wellness, birthdays off and lots of free coffee. We have excellent learning opportunities. Its not for everyone but those of us that love it stay!

    Show More

    Cons

    need to be able to juggle many balls in the air.

    WE Charity2019-11-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "One of a kind organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I whole heartedly disagree with the previous post. Perhaps one or two individuals who work here that may feel this way, but I can assure you that many employees spend years here building their skill sets and making undeniable impact. The organization gives people unbelievable opportunities to develop skills, travel and forge life long relationships. The organization gives its employees global reach, exposure and... influence. The organization has really stepped up to support managers and teams. I've worked in environments that are stuffy, pretentious, where ten people have to look through one memo draft, where the whereabouts of people are tracked day and night through tools like slack. Environments where co-workers track and report your every move- WE is not like that. We hire responsible adults and gives them ownership to do their work. I've been in environments where people sabotage your projects, steal you work and take credit from right under you and do not help you so you fail, I can assure you WE is not like that. People care! Management invest in you. The previous post undermines the hard work of me and my colleagues which is very unfortunate and sad. Extremely.

    Show More

    Cons

    This role involves patience and flexibility its not a typical 9-5 type of employment

    WE Charity2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to jumpstart learning!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Will be given lots of learning opportunities and very cool projects to work on! You will learn quickly and make a positive impact in the world.

    Cons

    Very fast-paced environment. It is competitive to work here and the energy levels and commitment to doing big things sometimes means long days and it's easy to burn out.

    Advice to Management

    Do anything you can to tackle the burn out in your employees!

    WE Charity2019-10-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "High turnover, do not value employees, low pay. Many opportunities for travel."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fulfilling to know the work you are doing creates an impact. Lots of opportunity for cool international travel. Get to work on various projects that build your skills in many areas.

    Cons

    Awful pay, inconsistent (No salary bands, just up to the discretion of whomever you happen to report to at the time). Organization does not value employees and their contributions, even if they have been there for 5+ years. Lots of big egos at the Executive Level although they will vehemently deny it and never want to admit their mistakes. They never put their employees first, always put money and the image of... the organization/co-founders first.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Co-founders need a reality check, this is no longer a family business and cannot be run as such. Value employees that have been around for 5+ years and contributed to the org. Compensation has to be up to industry standards, enough with the "you're making an impact" taglines, plenty of charities pay 15-20k more per person for the same job. If you make long-term investments in quality employees, they will stay -... otherwise, short-sited decisions will cost the company a lot.

    Show More
    WE Charity2019-11-08
  7. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Charity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good environment and co workers. people are very friend and helpful. Lots to learn. Birthdays and holidays off.

    Cons

    this job is not a 9-5

    WE Charity2019-10-18
  8. "good times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Charity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked here before moving up to another position. There was a lot of assistance in getting me to where I am now. There is tons of support if you want to move up to other positions. Very supportive management and great feedback and recognition

    Cons

    Not close to subway station, must take streetcar

    WE Charity2019-09-25
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Unprofessional management, toxic and cult-like work culture. Believe Canadaland."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at WE Charity full-time

    Pros

    ME to WE staff sales

    Cons

    Poor working conditions. The most recent Canadaland article nails the staff culture at WE Charity, which is cult-like and overall toxic. So much pressure is put on overworked and underpaid young people, straight out of university who have no idea that these working conditions are not the norm and they deserve better. I have seen some of the most unprofessional behaviour inside the walls of 339 Queen St. E and... across North America at various WE Day events. I've had the misfortune of being apart of very unprofessional meetings where Directors and Heads have bullied and manipulated lower level employees into completing work deemed unethical. I've also witnessed Directors and Heads pressuring lower level employees into unofficial job titles with no adherence to company policy or HR process. HR shrugged and merely said thats how things get done here. This same HR Business Partner resigned less than 2 months later. I was forced to participate in an unethical assessment of corporate partnerships and the value WE provides them with made up dollar values not vetted by executive leadership. There's no shortage of stories from WE employees surrounding unprofessional and inappropriate behaviour from management. A true shame and sham seeing as though the organization was founded on the basis of empowering young people. They've lost this vision and are now driven by corporate greed and optics. This is the common understanding among most people I had the pleasure of working with at WE. I wouldn't be surprised if most of these 4/5 star positive reviews on Glassdoor are fake and commissioned by the organization to improve their negative perception.

    Show More
    WE Charity2019-10-21
  10. "A memorable journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Charity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a hard journey however a rewarding and memorable journey. Helping women and childing is very rewarding. You help them globally with all your strenghs and skills you learn while you work here. You meet so many people from around the world who eventually become your lifelong friends.

    Cons

    Travelling sometimes more than a week at a time.

    WE Charity2019-08-19
Found 182 reviews