WE Charity Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
WE Charity Executive Director Scott Baker
Scott Baker
117 Ratings
Pros
  • "FTC is growing at a rapid pace and sometimes that means learning new things in uncharted territories(in 18 reviews)

  • "Good time off, travel opportunities, meaningful work, organization is focused on continuous improvement for the better(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "They will tell you how lucky you are to work there (stating some bogus "it's harder to get accepted into Harvard than to get hired at FTC" fact)(in 22 reviews)

  • "hours/per week without overtime pay or lieu time(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great group of people and great experiences"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employee experience especially for the young people. Great benefits, lots of time off, holidays its closed get to spend time with family and friends. Lots of learning development and lots of new tools and skills to learn. You gain access to high profile leaders externally and internally, all while making a great difference through programs and initiatives to support young people locally and internationally.

    Cons

    The normal growing pains that the leadership is always working to improve

    WE Charity2019-12-31
  2. "Great cause"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Charity full-time

    Pros

    Great collaboration, lots of room to get creative and learn new skills, amazing impact.

    Cons

    high pressure, fast-paced unilateral decision making, confusing org framework

    WE Charity2020-05-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great people but dont value retaining staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partnership Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Charity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel opportunities, great people, get to be apart of inspiring work, skill building

    Cons

    underpay staff and prefer to higher new staff at a lower salary then retain experience so there is a very high turnover rate

    WE Charity2020-05-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place for entry level job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Toronto, ON

    I worked at WE Charity full-time

    Pros

    Offers an abundance of learning opportunities and unforgettable experiences Great place to work right out of school

    Cons

    Vertical growth isn't a possibility for all Work-life balance varies

    WE Charity2020-04-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poor leadership and values"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and a beautiful office to work in.

    Cons

    WE commits to things that they cannot fulfill in the interest of obtaining funds from corporate donors that directly clash with their purported values. The leadership team is cliquey and catty. Staff are overworked, under paid and under utilized for their skills.

    WE Charity2020-05-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Poor leadership and business practices"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and a beautiful office to work in.

    Cons

    Employees at WE often feel like they must abandon their personal values in order to keep their jobs. We were so often asked to meet the needs of corporate donors that often compromised the integrity of our work with young people. The leadership team was inexperienced and ineffective.

    WE Charity2020-05-20
  7. "Fun and Rewarding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - WE Day Events Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with like minded individuals that always go above and beyond

    Cons

    Communication stays at upper management and very little opportunity for advancement

    WE Charity2020-03-23
  8. "On right track"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The organization is evolving and changing for the better. In the many years I have been there, there have been many improvements to the employee experience- from improved time off, lieu days and Christmas off. Great benefits and colleagues. There is strong investment in people managers whereby managers continually add to their toolkits managing diverse and passionate employee base.

    Cons

    There are normal growing pains which management is hard at work addressing

    WE Charity2019-12-12
  9. "Strong investments being made"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The organization heavily in manager training into support of employees. This is a learning organization, always innovation and improving the employee experiences. As a young manager, I have been able to participate in a number of trainings that are equipping me to support my staff. The executives at WE spend considerable efforts working on improving experience while ensuring strong performance. Amazing training and learning plus many opportunities to travel and be a part of a global organization.

    Cons

    not an average workplace- need to be self directed and passionate

    WE Charity2019-11-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Anxiety Inducing Workplace"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Charity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel opportunities, talented staff

    Cons

    Leadership does not care about their staff and the pay is unliveable. I had been with WE for years and it took months for me being out of it to realize the negative effects it had on my self esteem. A few of the heads feel pressure from the top down and everyone under them feels the pressure. A lot of the management is not experienced enough as people leaders to be in their role, and the “mission based” view is not an excuse for how staff are treated. While I am grateful for the time I had, and the development work done, working here is not sustainable for anyone.

    Continue reading
    WE Charity2019-11-29
Found 182 reviews