Voyage Care Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Voyage Care Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Voyage Care Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Cannon
Andrew Cannon
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity for progression, treated well by management and great people we support(in 35 reviews)

  • "Giving service users the life they deserve and teaching them new skills(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours managment dont listen when you have concerns poorly run service(in 12 reviews)

  • "The job can be very challenging due to the unpredictable behaviour of service users(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Honest and positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Shepton Mallet, England

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Giving service users the life they deserve and teaching them new skills

    Cons

    Pay is not great

    Voyage Care2020-02-13
  2. "Overall Thumbs up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Manager in Waterlooville, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive operations team Career development opportunities Genuinely care about delivering good services Proven track record

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay scales for support staff working in services in the same locations for no apparent reason other than recruitment needs. Voyage should be rewarding the services who retain a stable staff team except they feel deflated when their colleagues 2 doors down are getting paid more to do the same job. Sometimes feels like the company react to quickly to changes/updates. Whilst it's great and reassuring to know that the company monitor changes to legislation and lessons learnt, the response often feels rushed and not well thought out which results in several versions of a new policy or document being released in a short space of time before we reach a suitable and final peice which is highly frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2020-01-28
  3. "Most uncaring company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Voyage Care part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    LITERALLY NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THIS COMPANY

    Cons

    The wages are shocking, the hours are long, they hire anyone and everyone so you find yourself in a team of useless staff. Seniors and managers are two faced and nasty and untrustworthy, meanwhile the few of us who do care are run off our feet and get treated like crap. staff are in with service users before being trained in mappa or manual handling, and don't even get me started on the way the service users are treated. do not work here!

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2020-02-24
  4. "Thereaare upsides but if you're offered another job, take it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people I work with are very nice, get on with the residents.

    Cons

    Ridiculously short hours between separate shifts (7-8 hours in some cases), long hours (24+ hour shifts in some instances) which I'm not sure are even legal, certain members of management can be very rude, element of bullying from some fellow staff members, rota system is extremely haphazard and disorganised for those of us who haven't yet received phones, appalling pay.

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2020-01-02
  5. "Very good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Support Supervisor in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Voyage Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for progression, treated well by management and great people we support. You will read bad reviews on here and indeed from people who either had their contract terminated or who can’t understand basic employments. All company’s have policies and procedures which everyone needs to follow - I have noticed most posts have been by those who don’t recognize the commitment they may have made and then we’re terminated from the service due to being a risk to the team or pws. I worked with a great team of people and always felt supported by everyone. The support workers were difficult sometimes as they didn’t understand the workload or pressure in the DCA offices however this is expected. I wouldn’t go into this role if you want an easy life, it does come with a lot of responsibility but I throughly enjoyed it.

    Cons

    The pay for all support workers and the office team is slightly lower than the average care provider - although this is made up in the fantastic culture and support from the company. No pay for on call! This is a serious problem as the on call is as abused regularly by support workers and therefor it’s more difficult to retain office staff due to unhealthy work life balance - please pay them!

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-21
  6. "Jealousies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Worker in Fareham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Residents I guess

    Cons

    I experienced a lot of jealousy from senior s and other staff at voyage care.bit would appear that the more money these people have the more they enjoy seeing me fail, trip up or fall flat on my face. They enjoyed seeing me failing and finding know why?From experience I definitely was getting jealousy attacks but I do believe in Karma

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-17

    Voyage Care Response

    November 29, 2019Voyage Care

    We are extremely concerned to read your comments, please can you get in touch with our HR team to discuss your above experiences? You can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679.

    Continue reading
  7. "Fantastic Varied Role that changes daily."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Christchurch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing supportive teams Fun and rewarding vocation Passionate and hardworking support staff Transforming people’s lives daily

    Cons

    Can be long hours and lots of hard work, which can be emotional and physical.

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-01

    Voyage Care Response

    November 29, 2019Voyage Care

    This is such a wonderful review, thank you. Like you said, being a support worker can be very demanding but the reward of transforming someone's life is what many of support worker's say they enjoy the most about the job. Many thanks again for your review.

    Continue reading
  8. "Could not ask for a better team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding support from management, whatever support iv asked for or needed I have always received it. Even when I have been stranded the manager has gone out of her way to pick me up and make sure I’m safe. The staff team are amazing and for the first time in my life I feel I can honestly say I work for a company that puts the pws first and the staff are supported. If your looking for a job in health and social care, that you can progress and be treated like a person and not a number then this is the job to apply for.

    Cons

    It’s not just a job you can do if you don’t have no ambition or want to be in, if your after just a wage or something easy then it’s not the job for you.

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-10-28

    Voyage Care Response

    November 1, 2019Voyage Care

    What an utterly fantastic review! It really is heart warming to read about your positive experiences. Thank you for your hard work and dedication.

    Continue reading
  9. "Support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time

    Pros

    Great place, the houses I work in are enjoyable and rewarding. Really good training and the staff work together helping eachother our making it flexible when needed. Management are approachable and contactable at all times to help out.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-10-28

    Voyage Care Response

    November 1, 2019Voyage Care

    Thank you for your review, it is fantastic to hear that you find your work enjoyable and rewarding. Our comprehensive training programmes are something that we really pride ourselves on so it's great that you have found this useful. The social care sector is facing funding challenges, which makes it difficult for us to do all we would like to on pay, however we are continually fighting for fairer funding. We also offer company benefits that give staff access to exclusive discounts, please ask your Manager if you’ve not signed up for this.

    Continue reading
  10. "AVOID AT ALL COST!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Wolverhampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people you support are lovely and learning new things every day

    Cons

    AWFUL management BAD ATTITUDES FROM MANAGEMENT working over 60 hours per week above contracted. LESS THAN FIVE HOURS SLEEP BEFORE NEXT SHIFT DUE TO TIME YOU'D HAVE TO GET UP READY FOR THE NEXT ONE

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-16

    Voyage Care Response

    November 29, 2019Voyage Care

    We are very concerned to read your comments, please can you get in touch with our HR team to discuss your above experiences? You can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679.

    Continue reading
Found 203 reviews