Vivint Smart Home Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vivint Smart Home Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1267 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Vivint Smart Home CEO Todd Pedersen
Todd Pedersen
831 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch, I love the company always have a great time at work(in 130 reviews)

  • "In my experience Vivint offers the freedom to live a true work life balance(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Have to travel out of the state for 3 months, Door to door is tough in the beginning(in 53 reviews)

  • "not good at doing work/life balance(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Vivint provides amazing summer and full time jobs that pay well and teach priceless life skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Kamloops, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Smart Home full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -PHD in sales in one summer -$22,000 avg. 1st year summer income (May-Aug) -Overcame fear of rejection -Learn many life skills like: confidence, self worth, problem solving skills that you can use in life

    Cons

    -Must work hard and study to get the most out of it -Usually have to move to a new city for the summer

    Vivint Smart Home2018-12-20
  2. "Sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Vivint Smart Home

    Pros

    Great company, very hard work. Builds character and taught me to sell. Great sales training, great money if you sell.

    Cons

    Door to door sales. Tough work lots of rejection but great learning experience. Lack of work life balance.

    Vivint Smart Home2019-01-27
  3. "Great company to work for but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Kamloops, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Smart Home full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great management Money is amazing Lots of room for growth Treat employees well

    Cons

    Away from home a lot Tough job mentally

    Vivint Smart Home2018-08-19

    Vivint Smart Home Response

    August 20, 2018Recruiter

    Great to hear that you are happy at Vivint. Thank you for taking the time to post.

  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Vivint Smart Home full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, great money if you can sell

      Cons

      Got bad area some times, some of the workmates were immature

      Vivint Smart Home2018-07-24
    • "Skills training but tough environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Surrey, BC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vivint Smart Home full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      It was a cool place to meet people and a fun working environment. Can help break you out of your shell if you’re not very outgoing

      Cons

      Really hard to sell for 85% of people and long hours

      Advice to Management

      Better compensation more off days

      Vivint Smart Home2018-07-11
    • "Working at Vivint"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - SmartHome Professional in Calgary, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Vivint Smart Home full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      In the beginning, working with Vivint was great. They provided full training including a 2 week course in Florida which is a nice break from Canada. I was given all new equipment including tablet, phone, tools and truck. They have always been flexible with my shift and have allowed me to visit doctors when I needed to. My immediate managers were friendly and helpful.

      Cons

      CHANGE. If you don't like change, don't work here. Everything changes on nearly a daily basis. When I started, I had maybe 30 or 40 pieces of inventory to track and now I have 100's. My job description went from installing security to: installing home automation, installing cameras, running CAT5 cables through the walls of homes, finding leads and so on and so forth. The software that a pro uses is under constant...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of any and all metrics that include timing a pro on their performance. This leads to high levels of stress both mentally and physically on a pro. In my 3 years, I can almost guarantee that those who are responsible for making up the ridiculous metrics have never spent a day in the field, nor have a clue what the job entails. Huge dis-coordination there.

      Vivint Smart Home2018-03-28
    • "Great opportunity but not for everyone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vivint Smart Home full-time

      Pros

      Great opportunity for those looking getting into sales. Huge learning opportunity. Great door to door rep.

      Cons

      Tough if you get discouraged easily and not for everyone.

      Vivint Smart Home2017-06-08
    • "Huge opportunity, but high risk and hard work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Saskatoon, SK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vivint Smart Home full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - run like a sports team - tons of motivation, training, support - great pay when you succeed: between $350 - 450 per sale - confident, motivated people to work with

      Cons

      - 100% commission based: if you don't do well, you won't get paid - fair amount of pressure to work hard - expectation to knock doors from 2pm - 9pm every day except Sunday

      Advice to Management

      Move the day off from Sunday to Monday, and have reps start hitting doors at 3pm or later instead of 2pm. Prime time isn't till 5, I hated knocking before then

      Vivint Smart Home2017-05-25
    • "Install Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Vivint Smart Home (Less than a year)

      Pros

      It seemed like the info checked out at the beginning after I did some research, but it ended up being one of the worst decisions I have made career wise. The manager named Travis Prete was nice and available to come help on a tricky install, as there was virtually no training except a few job shadows that you don't really get paid for.

      Cons

      I packed up my life, gave up my apartment for a promising summer job before school in the fall and they promise that you can make vast amounts of money and avoid student debt but later when my manager called my fiancé and I in early to a meeting to do "inventory" with him, he then said "I'm letting you guys go." just like that. one day we had a job and the next we are unemployed and practically homeless because we were...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Compensate your employees better if you are going to let them go with no warning after they take such a big risk and life uproar. I lost so much money coming to work for them

      Vivint Smart Home2017-05-17
    • "Operations Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Vivint Smart Home

      Pros

      Great management, wages and experience! My managers were always eager to help and assist in anyway I needed. Really good group.

      Cons

      Long hours are for sure a con, but if you're used to working hard it shouldn't be a problem.

      Advice to Management

      More incentives for employees and more compensation for mileage and wear and tear on using our own cars.

      Vivint Smart Home2017-04-07
    Found 1267 reviews