Vision Critical Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vision Critical Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 278 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Vision Critical CEO Scott Miller
Scott Miller
161 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility with work/ life balance - understanding with family and outside commitments(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great people work at the company(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Varying culture and work-life balance by team(in 11 reviews)

  • "Fast paced so you need to like that type of environment(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company and people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are amazing and they have very competitive pay and excellent benefits. You get to constantly learn (with great resources available internally for personal or professional learning). Great opportunities for growth and leadership supports and encourages all employees to learn and grow. The C-suite is open and transparent and bi-monthly there are set times where the executives are online and available to answer any question employees ask. Flexibility to work remote if and when you need to.

    Cons

    fast paced work environment where things can change very quickly.

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-05-08
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In the right industry Great growth potential

    Cons

    Currently undergoing significant changes, which not everyone can endure.

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-06-10
  3. "Things are looking up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Surrounded by intelligent individuals - Support always available

    Cons

    - There has been a lot of change throughout organization

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "stormy journey, calm seas ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical for more than 3 years

    Pros

    hard working team of people with strong support across the organization. the exec team is completely reformed around software industry experience, finally leaving the legacy agency culture behind. execs work hard to help the employees that want to succeed.

    Cons

    the noise and distraction caused by those who resist the change needed to keep this organization relevant in the evolving market, those who did not want the responsibility of competing and winning and those who would rather keep the status quo (of the past) ...

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-07-25
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good People but things often don't make sense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Level Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - A few really talented people that think logically and act in the best interests' of the company - Fast paced which means you get exposure to a lot of areas in a short amount of time - Work Location Flexibility - you can generally work from where you want (Note: this is not equivalent to work-life-balance) - Reasonable salary/good benefits

    Cons

    - Product value proposition can be difficult to grasp at times - Important decisions feel rushed and not well thought out - Other important strategic initiatives feel eerily similar to legacy ideas from past VC leadership - Lack of investment in the majority of the talent pool (execs are heavily biased towards a retention strategy around "A" players) - Senior Leadership Group - no communication to the middle layer, you will constantly need to take the initiative to seek out what is happening and what to focus on

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-07-24
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Good people, bad strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical full-time

    Pros

    When I was there, the people were great.

    Cons

    The product was bad, so every business function was hampered by that.

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-07-07
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product and product team! They do the impossible.

    Cons

    Very toxic environment fostered by C-suite. They are very eager to throw people under the bus just to save themselves in the eyes of the board...absolutely terrible leadership, if you can even call it that. You gossip and badmouth other staff and departments among yourselves and your staff. We know exactly what you are saying about us because we talk to each other! Imagine what we think of you and your political games when we witness this? Do you think we want to stay and give you our best?

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-07-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical full-time

    Pros

    Had a good team of sales folks, and decent leadership

    Cons

    Changed leadership who were terrible

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-05-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great People... Supplier Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical full-time

    Pros

    Loved the people, and some work perks.

    Cons

    Pay was not competitive and hours were insane.

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-05-13
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Eh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots to learn Opportunity to grow into other positions

    Cons

    Cheap company, not a lot of money allocated for food, or beers, or even Christmas parties or events. Put against other tech companies it's really not competitive at all for culture.

    Continue reading
    Vision Critical2019-05-02
Found 278 reviews