Vision Critical Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vision Critical Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Vision Critical CEO Scott Miller
Scott Miller
165 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility with work/ life balance - understanding with family and outside commitments(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great people work at the company(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great company and people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are amazing and they have very competitive pay and excellent benefits. You get to constantly learn (with great resources available internally for personal or professional learning). Great opportunities for growth and leadership supports and encourages all employees to learn and grow. The C-suite is open and transparent and bi-monthly there are set times where the executives are online and... available to answer any question employees ask. Flexibility to work remote if and when you need to.

    Show More

    Cons

    fast paced work environment where things can change very quickly.

    Vision Critical2019-05-08
  2. "VC is an awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture, awesome work environment

    Cons

    Can't say I have any complaints

    Vision Critical2019-10-05
  3. "Challenging and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's not a transactional sale, so it requires to hone in important skills and develop a broad business acumen

    Cons

    There's no line of progression for BDA's into becoming AE's

    Advice to Management

    Develop talent internally

    Vision Critical2019-10-12
  4. "Great, if you are under 30"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive Work Environment Room for Advancement

    Cons

    Company is very young Office environment is very noisy

    Vision Critical2019-10-10
  5. "A great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I came to Vision Critical straight out of University. It was a great place to develop my research skills. I understand that the company is now moving away from research services and focusing more on developing their licensed platform. That's one of the reasons why I decided to leave. That said, the benefits are decent for a mid-sized company. But the best part about Vision Critical were the people. The HR team did a... great job of hiring very positive, smart, and friendly people. I know many people who are still at the company for the same reason.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't speak for the company now, but when I was there a few years ago - if you weren't a programmer or software engineer or in senior leadership, you were likely to make a salary that is below industry standard. Things may have changed since then.

    Advice to Management

    Culture is great, but need to improve compensation.

    Vision Critical2019-09-15
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Company is on cruise control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People and customer roster Office locations are central Collaboration with others

    Cons

    Promotions are hard to come by and reserved for those that the c suite like personally Lack of company innovation on the product side and on the people front since departure of key people leaders last year in HR Important decisions are made on the fly and without much regard for people, history and vision for what lies ahead Turnover is the highest it’s ever been Non existent c suite in decision making, CEO is... the voice and heart of the company There is no formal recognition of people still and we have been promised a company rewards program but nothing has happened yet.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People are working hard. It’s time to put your high profile leaders to the test CEO should speak to the staff and not rely on the leaders to filter the information up Employee engagement surveys should be outsourced Diversity and inclusion in upper management or c suite needs to be a priority not just mentioned in town halls

    Vision Critical2019-09-10
  7. "Things are looking up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Surrounded by intelligent individuals - Support always available

    Cons

    - There has been a lot of change throughout organization

    Vision Critical2019-08-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "stormy journey, calm seas ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical for more than 3 years

    Pros

    hard working team of people with strong support across the organization. the exec team is completely reformed around software industry experience, finally leaving the legacy agency culture behind. execs work hard to help the employees that want to succeed.

    Cons

    the noise and distraction caused by those who resist the change needed to keep this organization relevant in the evolving market, those who did not want the responsibility of competing and winning and those who would rather keep the status quo (of the past) ...

    Advice to Management

    steady on course. the market has moved forward and for the first time in a long time the product has caught up with the needs of the buyer that represents our future. now focus on anticipating, by asking the customers and prospects that are your future what they need instead of assuming it or asking your legacy customers for guidance. the vc product is competitive and wins with those who understand its strategic... value. avoid being influenced by those who want to use it to satisfy mere commodity needs... and those haters here... grow up! there is so much engagement, transparency and empowerment here that if you feel so bitter, maybe you should have taken the issue up with those you are blaming... maybe you would have learnt something... i left because i wanted to go do something different but it is still a great company with a tremendous amount of upside given what has been achieved by some industry competitors like qualtrics and medallia....

    Show More
    Vision Critical2019-07-25
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Good People but things often don't make sense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Level Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - A few really talented people that think logically and act in the best interests' of the company - Fast paced which means you get exposure to a lot of areas in a short amount of time - Work Location Flexibility - you can generally work from where you want (Note: this is not equivalent to work-life-balance) - Reasonable salary/good benefits

    Cons

    - Product value proposition can be difficult to grasp at times - Important decisions feel rushed and not well thought out - Other important strategic initiatives feel eerily similar to legacy ideas from past VC leadership - Lack of investment in the majority of the talent pool (execs are heavily biased towards a retention strategy around "A" players) - Senior Leadership Group - no communication to the middle... layer, you will constantly need to take the initiative to seek out what is happening and what to focus on

    Show More
    Vision Critical2019-07-24
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Good people, bad strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Critical full-time

    Pros

    When I was there, the people were great.

    Cons

    The product was bad, so every business function was hampered by that.

    Vision Critical2019-07-07
Found 283 reviews