Vision Critical Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vision Critical Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Vision Critical CEO Scott Miller
Scott Miller
169 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility with work/ life balance - understanding with family and outside commitments(in 30 reviews)

  • "Great people work at the company(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great company and people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are amazing and they have very competitive pay and excellent benefits. You get to constantly learn (with great resources available internally for personal or professional learning). Great opportunities for growth and leadership supports and encourages all employees to learn and grow. The C-suite is open and transparent and bi-monthly there are set times where the executives are online and... available to answer any question employees ask. Flexibility to work remote if and when you need to.

    Show More

    Cons

    fast paced work environment where things can change very quickly.

    Vision Critical2019-05-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In the right industry Great growth potential

    Cons

    Currently undergoing significant changes, which not everyone can endure.

    Vision Critical2019-06-10
  3. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting platform Treats employees well Good benefits

    Cons

    Lots of turnover in all departments

    Vision Critical2019-12-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Growing up, but still confused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The business has finally cut its links with its research past and can move on to being a pure play software company removing a lot of legacy cultural confusion. The team is diverse, inclusive, friendly, transparent and solidly supported by management from first line right up to the execs. The execs are accessible anytime and informal.

    Cons

    The machine is still moving too slow. There are some who are in touch with what the market wants and can be directly delivered by the platform but they are being silenced by the noise created by those who are much more about being visionary well beyond the product capability or roadmap which has seems to have stalled. The business will struggle to move forward until the product roadmap and delivery solidly support... the vision of the complete value proposition.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on what the majority of the market wants today instead of dreaming up stuff you believe the market may want tomorrow. You know this thinking has not delivered over the years... The top "visionary" use cases represent a small percentage of our overall base and they were developed over time by our customers. If you want to claim those use cases as representative of our solution, the product roadmap has to... evolve significantly to fill the product gaps to be credible. Until then, the recently launched positioning makes little sense and no matter how much forced enablement takes place, none of it will stick beyond what our customers and prospects are looking to buy in the day to day conversations we have with them.

    Show More
    Vision Critical2019-11-13
  5. Helpful (5)

    "The company is in a tough spot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Mature development practices Strong middle management

    Cons

    The market VC is in is evolving and the company is struggling to find the solution to match the current trends. Lack of product vision Lack of cohesion in leadership Culture that is fading as many of the top talent exit the company Lack of defined career paths in engineering Haven't seen much financial success from the current CEO Bleeding talent faster than it can be replaced

    Advice to Management

    Make better use of the engineering talent that's left before they all decide to leave Take responsibility for the lack of success and devise better market strategies VC has reached the point where we need to look to the top of the org chart for accountability on the current state of affairs. Empower the product group to make an impact

    Vision Critical2019-11-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Culture is pretty relaxed - People are very helpful - Good work life balance

    Cons

    - Slow pace - Constant change in management decisions and company structure. It feels like they don't know where they should be heading to improve the product. - Multiple rounds of layoffs

    Vision Critical2019-11-03
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good at recycling but not innovating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great work environment fun atmosphere social committee is great good people

    Cons

    Leadership is non existent. CEO is out selling and others are trying to get more visibility and climb the golden ladder for thier own careers. Product needs an overhaul not a cosmetic touch up, Existing customers No HR voice at the table. Plan fun events but strategic initiatives are lacking. They can be seen socializing with the employees but are slow on deliverables, Employee surveys are sent out but the... feedback isn't shared. No f

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a new C suite. Hire credible senior executives who understand our space and GTM strategy. We need established executives who have played in this space before,

    Vision Critical2019-10-30
  8. "Challenging and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's not a transactional sale, so it requires to hone in important skills and develop a broad business acumen

    Cons

    There's no line of progression for BDA's into becoming AE's

    Advice to Management

    Develop talent internally

    Vision Critical2019-10-12
  9. "Great, if you are under 30"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive Work Environment Room for Advancement

    Cons

    Company is very young Office environment is very noisy

    Vision Critical2019-10-10
  10. "VC is an awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Critical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture, awesome work environment

    Cons

    Can't say I have any complaints

    Vision Critical2019-10-05
Found 288 reviews