Visa Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Visa Inc. Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Visa Inc. CEO Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.
Alfred F. Kelly, Jr.
517 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company that cares for work life balance(in 389 reviews)

  • "Company provides good benefits to its employees and the working environment is good(in 185 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is a challenge at tlimes(in 124 reviews)

  • "Would benefit from FEWER title levels at mid to senior management thus allowing for mobility through payscale (e(in 120 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Vice President 

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Benefits package, work-life balance

    Cons

    No advancement So you have to stay in same role a long time.

    Advice to Management

    N/A Keep up the good work.

    Visa Inc.2019-12-23
  2. "payroll specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    a very good and free organization to work

    Cons

    nothing is wrong with working for this company

    Visa Inc.2019-04-12
  3. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Work Life balance is good

    Cons

    Nothing as such notable here

    Visa Inc.2019-02-08
  4. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Visa Inc.

    Pros

    Good opportunity to learn and network

    Cons

    Old school corporate culture and not great flexibilty for work life balance

    Advice to Management

    stop pandering to senior management. Be creative

    Visa Inc.2018-03-13
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and tuition package

    Cons

    Slightly disorganised and processes slow

    Visa Inc.2017-12-18
  6. "Regional Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging and interesting job in multinational environment.

    Cons

    True mechanistic bureaucracy. HR function is not employee oriented.

    Advice to Management

    No

    Visa Inc.2017-06-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good salary but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Visa Inc.

    Pros

    Good salary for student job

    Cons

    Too much calls, pressure on reaching the sales objectives

    Visa Inc.2016-12-20
  8. Helpful (26)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of smart and talent people. Great to see such passionate people who are willing to share their knowledge.

    Cons

    With relatively recent management hires, they've come in and basically said that what we've been doing all along was wrong. So they're tearing up structure, changing work flows, hiring all their own staff. All the things that made Visa great are slowly being chipped away. But it's like a pendulum, it has to get worse before they start making it better. I hope.

    Visa Inc.2015-12-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Started out great but then it all went downhill..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Strong global brand, great benefits, good collaboration, lots of ideas and potential opportunities, met some very smart people.

    Cons

    Constant change, slow to innovate so many missed opportunities, too political, very silo'd, increasingly toxic environment, limited oversight in some areas, inflexible work arrangements, limited ability for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    More consistency in direction and vision. Need to have an integrated plan for sustained growth and innovation. Increase support for and invest in employees for continued growth and promotion. Provide training to enhance people management skills.

    Visa Inc.2014-02-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Okay, could be great, but too much politics among management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Brand recognition - Industry Leader - Access to newer technologies Overall --on paper-- Visa is a good place to work. Depending on which office you are in, your experience can vary and range from excellent to mediocre. Staff are generally happy and Visa tries to keep employee satisfaction high.

    Cons

    The politics in management is sometimes volatile with management running things the way 'they' seem fit. Difficult to truly shine when the reporting structure is muddled and where managers often find themselves with their hands tied and unable to lead. It's disappointing when you have direct reports that you wish to recognize, but caps and politics means that we lose good talent simply because we've capped the numbers. Although the company is global, the focus remains in the US and mostly in California. If you're elsewhere in the world, it's very easy to be forgotten.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ease up on the kool-aid. We know that Visa is a great company, but your over-zealousness makes people uneasy. The world doesn't revolve around Pacific Time. Allow the employees a chance to break the mold and be creative and innovative instead of being dull, boring and repetitive.

    Visa Inc.2013-12-18
Found 2639 reviews