Virgin Media "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Virgin Media Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jan 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Media CEO Lutz Schüler (no image)
Lutz Schüler
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "All about money and cost cutting since liberty global took over(in 33 reviews)

  • "Senior management keep to themselves & are not in touch with their employees,too corporate(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "People are great, management are not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time

    Pros

    Employees, generous leave, paid health insurance, good pension benefit

    Cons

    Senior management keep to themselves & are not in touch with their employees,too corporate

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2020-01-31
  2. "Derogatory Culture - Finance floor ex colleague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some nice people being walked all over. €1.50 OFF LUNCHES.

    Cons

    Rotten Culture. Terrible pay. Board room doesn't respect finance and UK parent doesn't respect Ireland. HR non existent & afraid of senior management. Numerous sackings in finance function over 3 year period outside of massive reorg. Continuous turnover is a policy. Canteen staff wont except notes as a form of payment. Abuse staff at till.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2019-12-19
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic-Stressed- Poor pay-No future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Field Technician in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic shift pattern free healthcare

    Cons

    So I’ve been at virgin for over 10 years, our job as technicians is to fix faults affecting customers tv & internet etc, the last 5 years have been a rough, stress filled spiral into a corporate toxic fake daily stress. It’s such a shame as most if not all other departments still have a great virgin culture but the service department seems to be picked on by its senior management. As soon as Liberty Global purchased virgin media they announced that they feel they “over paid” for the company and that we need to make a huge amount of cost savings. First to go was our management structure which didn’t really affect things too much, then it was the uk call centres and boy let me tell you the one we now use in India do their best I’m sure but the level of customer service is shocking, Almost every customer I speak of which I see around 10 a day all have to vent to us just how bad it is, customer tell me they are rude, lacking in knowledge and are completely scripted, it on average takes 2-3 separate calls just to get a appointment if you need help which is causing massive frustration. To mitigate this virgins launched a app called my virgin media so you won’t have to call in anymore, not let’s get his sorted let’s just avoid it. Once we do get there we have to desperately ask the customer to recommend their friends and family, which in it’s simplest form is a great way for customers to save money as you get £50 if you do it, however from the tech point of view we have been targeted to get our customers to do like a sales target and this is a huge cause of stress for field management and techs as our senior management see us as a cost to virgin not a investment keeping our customers happy and connected so to mitigate our own cost we are to get our customers to recommend our services to help pay for ourselves. That is straight from the head of department words himself nice one JP. If we miss our targets then we are micro managed to the point of desperation as the field manger also has his target for his techs to hit and if we miss it so dose he and then sits on your shoulders all day every day making sure you are working to our recommend processes which is a whole other story. Another great example of just how toxic it is is our internal staff survey called ZOOM, this was designed to test the water and see how the staff are doing, trouble is if anyone is unhappy with anything we are seen as not engaged with the company even if the company is making bad decisions if you disagree with them then the field manger gets the blame for you not being engaged so to save the manger getting sacked or put on a performance improve plan we all have to lie and rate the company as amazing or my manager who deep down is a good guy gets in from the senior manager and there’s only one way *#*# rolls and that’s down hill so to spare us all we need to say how great it all is even thou we all (me and my area at least) currently hate our working days not our work just the environment. Work amount is another bugbear, at the end of your very long 8am to 7pm shift without commute your asked to stay late to cover extra appointments that we couldn’t cover on time due to current incompetence, if you had plans after work forget it, if you say I can’t stay late the senior management phone you to guilt trip you, if you still say no your reputation is left in in bits and your own manager is forced to leave his house to come out to cover that job/jobs himself which you can imagine how your treated after that. It’s also advertised as having a bonus each month, that’s unrealistic to get and further more there’s a new bonus system in 2020 that makes sure more will get bonus turns out to be a money saver for the company where is better if we all get pennies then some earn hundreds. Our pay is another bugbear, new starters currently start on 24k where current staff are on 23k although most new starters find this job so stressful they leave within 6 months but that’s not the point, there’s no loyalty from the company for length of service they do usually increase our pay in line with new starters but you would have thought that a tech with 5 years experience or even 10 years would earn more then new starters. There are options to move departs but for example the last internal job that came up to get out of here had 96 applicants.... so options are limited at best. The best example of the toxic culture is customer satisfaction survey NPS in our world, If the customer visited responds to a emailed survey and rates the overall experience as a 9 or a 10 I get £10 great huh? If only the call centre hadn’t upset them if only they hadn’t had to call in 3 times to get help if only we hadn’t put the price up mid contact 3 times in 18 months, you get the picture, the next great idea from the senior management is to get us to tell the customer that that question about overall experience relates directly to the technician visit so please give me the tech a 10 for my visit, it’s for me we have to say before we leave not anything else please give me a 10 have I said it enough yet it’s for me please please please give me a 10. Those NPS surveys turn out to have a impact on the share price no wonder we have to tell customers that, faking the customer experience too huh, I’m sure if BBC watchdog got wind of what we are doing they would be all over it. If I wasn’t trapped in a job by my House I would of left years ago but as all the training I’ve done within the company isn’t transferable to any other job I’ll be starting again as a trainee elsewhere. My advise to anyone who is switched on enough to check reviews before starting here is not to, get a real trade, gas electrical etc it’s defo harder to train but you never see a poor sparky or a unhappy gas man. Don’t join virgin service department become a professional elsewhere and definitely don’t become a apprentice in this department. FYI These are just some examples I could go on. I’m sure virgin will respond with how we are developing etc, don’t buy the bull.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2019-12-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible company, lack of diversity, don’t take care of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people to work with but a lot of them have left. Work life balance

    Cons

    Senior management don’t have a clue what to do, lack of vision and being too short sighted is their key issue. Lack of diversity, especially if you’re Black, Asian, Minority Ethnic (BAME), you’re not going to move up the ladder. There is a clear prejudice on who they promote in the business too. Grievance and harassment policy is flimsy too, if you raise a case on harassment, you might as well not bother because HR don’t really care. Company is not growing due to lack of innovation, there are plenty of other good places to work at.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2019-10-01
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Virgin Media Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Team Member in Hook, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only plus points were the benefits, good pension contribution and BUPA, also some co-workers, usually from the Sheffield or Peterborough offices.

    Cons

    Note that my comments relate to Virgin Mdeia Business. It is a different company to Virgin Media who do the TV services. VMB's culture is totally different and it did not feel like a "Virgin" company, and certainly did not live the Virgin Values. I was based in Hook, it seemed that other offices might be better, but Hook is a hell-hole. Another review mentions "toxic" and I agree absolutely. I also agree that the senior management attitude is bad, and constant reorganisations to mask past failures is a big negative factor. The product set is weak, as is the team behind the products. Development and progression is glacially slow due to extensive outsourcing and a failed reorganisation of the development team. Career progression is reserved for the favoured few, annual reviews are a tick box exercise. HR contribute nothing.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2019-08-09
  6. "Senior Program manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, remote work and pay package

    Cons

    Uncertainty in senior management vision

    Virgin Media2019-02-19
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Desperate to leave Virgin Media Business!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A Grade E in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The salary and benefits are good. I found this out because I am desperate to leave and am finding it difficult to find similar roles locally with the same rewards.

    Cons

    Having said the above pay rises and bonuses since I joined have been rubbish. I am desperate to leave because of what the place has become in the past 2 years. It is an awful environment with constant pressure and institutionalised incompetence. Senior Management is to blame. They are out of touch with their workforce. While they are trying to improve "engagement" they are doing the wrong things and staff apathy shows in "all hands" calls.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2018-10-26

    Virgin Media Response

    December 10, 2018Virgin Media Team

    Hi there, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear you are not having the best experience at present. Have you raised this with your manager? We would like to understand more from you, if you could email life@virginmedia.co.uk

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Racist Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Virgin Media full-time

    Pros

    Dress code very very causal

    Cons

    Racist back stabbing liars from co workers to senior management two face bunch of people I have witness the racism in that work place and the sexism they do not care how well and employee does they are all about politics and if the face dont fit thats it mate

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2018-08-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Virgin Media Business is a toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Another review summed it up perfectly, getting paid while you try to escape the misery of what this place has become. It used to be bearable but that has long passed. I suppose a "pro" is that the Senior Leadership Team have finally woken up to the fact, but only after a significant number of the middle management grade 5s left in a short time.

    Cons

    Waking up to the disengagement of their middle managers has resulted in an increase in the patronising and misjudged "engagement" calls etc. Senior management talk the talk about "agility", "being nimble", and "empowerment" but they have no clue what those things mean. They have no interest in people doing a job satisfactorily, only a very dated macho "JFDI" attitude, followed by finger pointing and blame. Rubbish salary increases, equally rubbish bonus scheme.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2018-06-01
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Virgin Media is a very broken organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lower Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am still getting paid while I look for another role. I know I am not alone, I get to talk to my boss because she is looking too, and you see plenty of huddles of discontented people around the offices.

    Cons

    Total chaos, Virgin Media is a very broken organisation kept afloat by hard working people doing heroic things at the coal face. Misogynistic senior management with out of date attitudes, focused on their "personal stock price". Patronising internal communications masquerading as "engagement". Employment of people who respond to posts like this and add no real value to the organisation.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Media2018-05-03

    Virgin Media Response

    July 6, 2018Employee Experience Manager

    Hello. We really would like to find out more about the reasons behind some of your views here. Of course we take on board what you have said about "people who respond to posts like this" - but then what would be worse, not replying at all and ignoring the problem? If you can give us some of your time and would like to contact us in confidence we would like to understand more so we can pick up on your points. You can email us: life@virginmedia.co.uk

    Continue reading
Found 30 reviews