Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 202 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Atlantic Airways CEO Shai Weiss
Shai Weiss
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "unconscious bias alive and kicking in the airline(in 15 reviews)

  • "I decided to leave Virgin Atlantic for many reasons, but mostly because I felt undervalued and ignored by cabin crew management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best spa job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPA Therapist in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits of flights, Virgin Group and some passengers tip you,

    Cons

    Short treatments so alot of massage and most people want deep tissue

    Advice to Management

    Over the shirt massage should be a maximum of 15 mins. Aromatherapy massage should be the 30-60 min option

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-08-01
  2. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Good employee benefits and flexibility

    Cons

    Somewhat unstructured at times IT systems a bit old

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-07-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew and Ground Staff in London, England

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Culture, people and passion. As well as the perks of being able to obtain staff discount on flights to travel the world and engage with the diverse culture of the world.

    Cons

    Always need to be top of customer services

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-07-22
  4. "Advertise as the best, far from the truth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The chance to travel much of the World. Discount on flights, holidays & other retailer's goods. If you want to travel, meet people & experience different cultures & have the opportunity to try experiences away from the normal 9-5 then this may be for you.

    Cons

    Poor wage for Cabin crew. Little chance of promotion. Bullying culture which is fed from management down & getting worse. Not allowed to voice opinions, those that do often face disciplinary action.

    Advice to Management

    Address the bullying culture both onboard & office based. Allow your staff to make sensible business suggestions without fear of reprisals. Look at your pay structure. Value your customer facing staff & reward them appropriately.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-08-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "An absolute pleasure so far..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since joining I have had a fantastic experience, 3 months in and Virgin Atlantic is absolutely living up to my expectations. I returned straight from maternity leave and my manager has allowed me the space and flexibility as I transitioned into the new world of balancing being a working mummy. The benefits are fantastic, with the recent new introduction of Eve Benefits, employees have even greater flexibility showing...

    Show More

    Cons

    There definitely aren't many- 6 months probation seems like a very long time. Whilst food and coffee on site is good- I feel it should be more subsidised.

    Advice to Management

    Our HR People Leadership are very informative, informal and welcoming- keep doing what you are doing!

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-07-03
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Pilot in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome people and culture. I've been here almost 7 years and love every moment.

    Cons

    Jetlag is hard, but the company make it worthwhile.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-07-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great brand values held together by wonderful staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations Team Manager in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great perks, a feeling of being part of an iconic brand,

    Cons

    Low pay, challenging rosters across 24/7, poor communication both central and local and slowly improving IT

    Advice to Management

    HR to do all recruitment, exit interviews, drill down on engagement surveys, you'll be surprised at what goes on locally.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-07-18
  8. "Fab job, great lifestyle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew 

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, Travel destinations, Flight consessions

    Cons

    Pay, Constant changes, no delay pay

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-07-05
  9. "Nowhere can be perfect, but VA is a great place to work in comparison."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Great culture that is promoted and genuinely felt cared for. I was working on new technology (in comparison with other places I've worked), quite exciting. Seriously promoting Agile/Scrum working alongside DevOps... exciting stuff. In house training and culture without the feeling of being inadequate. Good working culture with flexibility and good managers who understood work life balance and family. Overall, lovely...

    Show More

    Cons

    Location isn't well served for taking a train and buses aren't cheap. Pay isn't as good as other places but the benefits and work culture kind of make up for it. Can be a little bit too rigid in working within their own process and methodology. Could potentially be stuck on one project for a while so lack of variety. But the culture encourages you to speak up and request some variety. Sometimes there are long hours...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall felt my management were really quite cool.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-06-24
  10. "Great job, not so great pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great perks (staff travel, private medical insurance and range of other benefits you can choose from) - Travel - Roster flexibility - Fun, friendly and approachable colleagues

    Cons

    - Pay - Allowances to spend while away have reduced - Slow progression, not much movement between ranks

    Advice to Management

    Invest more into cabin crew pay

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-07-03
Found 202 reviews