VinSolutions Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

VinSolutions Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 174 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
VinSolutions CEO Lori Wittman
Lori Wittman
113 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Vin needs to be better about managing bad hires out of the organization(in 9 reviews)

  • "For starters you have to talk to car dealers every day and if you're not ready for that it can be jarring(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Support Representative in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VinSolutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing to dislike. Amazing company with great work life balance ethics.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-07-17
  2. "Quality engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at VinSolutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment for working and awareness

    Cons

    Salary and groth not good

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-07-23
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Fun and innovative engineering organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VinSolutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The engineering org is constantly pushing to adopt current technologies (AWS, React, .NET Core) instead of sticking with the legacy tech decisions. I've learned SO much about cloud development, dev ops, and service resiliency since I joined. - Leadership is open to new ideas, and everyone has a voice. Talking with senior management and executives is not intimidating. - Great track record of hiring and retaining talented people. I work with smart and passionate people daily, and it's inspiring. - The company is making LOTS of money and investing that into smart product initiatives. It feels like there is always something important and exciting to work on. - Open and friendly culture. I know almost everyone in the building because it's so easy to meet people. The engineering department has team rooms instead of cubicles, so teams build close relationships and collaborate easily. - The work/life balance is fantastic. No one will judge you if you have a doctor appointment or need to work from home to wait for the cable guy. The work hard/play hard culture removes the stress and judgement I've felt elsewhere for taking PTO. - Lots of growth opportunities. VinSolutions rewards hard work and talent. - Competitive pay and benefits. I'm very satisfied with my salary and yearly bonus, and my family is fully covered by Cox Auto's benefits package.

    Cons

    Everyone in the engineering org is salaried, but we still have to submit timesheets every week. This is something that could be automated by integrating with our work tracking tools. Annnnnnd that's it. It's hard to complain when I love coming to work and get paid a competitive salary to do so.

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-05-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, great benefits and room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Generator in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VinSolutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room to grow Great benefits Good people Willingness to work with your schedule

    Cons

    Some weekends Inconsistent employee feedback Communication could be improved in the BDC Department.

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-04-15

    VinSolutions Response

    June 27, 2019SVP and GM

    Thank you for your review. Regular 1:1’s are an important part of our culture. I’ll make sure I pass this message on to my leadership team. If you continue to experience this issue, please feel free to reach out to those in your leadership chain…or me. Communication is very important to our success!

    Continue reading
  5. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VinSolutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management & Opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Lots of travel (but they tell you this ahead of time)

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-04-15

    VinSolutions Response

    June 27, 2019SVP and GM

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Vin. I appreciate the dedication of our Product Trainers who are on the road every week meeting with our clients. It is such an important job –helping our dealers get started right on our product. Thank you for your contribution to our team. I wish you much success in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  6. "Best Company Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VinSolutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This interview process alone, was worth every minute. Our leadership is amazing, open, fun, interesting, intelligent , I can go on and on. Our team members the best of the best!!!

    Cons

    Absolutely NONE! This company is by far, the best out there.

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-03-25

    VinSolutions Response

    June 27, 2019SVP and GM

    Thank you for your review. I could agree more! I am happy to hear that you are enjoying your time here. I wish you continued success and thanks for taking the time to give feedback!

    Continue reading
  7. "Not a terrible company, but improvements in management and culture must be made. LACK OF DIVERSITY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VinSolutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small depts, Bonuses, Some WFH ability

    Cons

    No DIVERSITY Racist culture Disrespectful and unprofessional Directors Low pay No room for professional growth

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-03-06

    VinSolutions Response

    March 14, 2019SVP and GM

    It’s disappointing to hear you did not feel the diversity and inclusion of our culture during your time with us. Diversity and inclusion are major initiatives for Cox Automotive and at VinSolutions it is my mission and the mission of the entire Vin Leadership Team to make sure we create an environment with diversity of every kind. I know that the strongest organizations are where diversity of thought is a high priority and creating a culture of inclusion drives our success. We have invested heavily in the growth and development of our Employee Resource Groups over the last few years across all of Cox Auto. Bringing together people with different disciplines, different experiences, different cultures and from different generations makes us a stronger, better rounded organization. We encourage team members to join an employee focus group, take a pulse survey or serve on a project team. We can only improve team member experience with support and involvement from our current team members. I’m sorry we missed out on your ideas on this topic. Best of luck to you in your next endeavor.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company! Too many bosses!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VinSolutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Benefits Great team!

    Cons

    So many bosses, they don’t even agree on chain of command. A lot of finger pointing when stuff hits the fan.

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-02-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VinSolutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in.

    Cons

    Wish we had more remote capabilities

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-01-17

    VinSolutions Response

    February 6, 2019SVP and GM

    Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you are enjoying your time here. I wish you continued success.

    Continue reading
  10. "The reviews are legit - this is a GREAT place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VinSolutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and tons of PTO. Relaxed environment. Lots of opportunity for professional growth within the company. Monthly snack allowance or free gym membership - you pick. Nice raises and good yearly bonus. Lots of training resources. This last one may sound silly, but this has not been the case with most places I've worked - unlimited supply to kleenex and office supplies! No more having to buy your own tissues and pens! In my department, we have an exceptional manager.

    Cons

    You do need to be mindful of your work/life balance. I've caught myself working when I shouldn't frequently. Also, a few of the roles are underpaid from what I've seen - but overall the pay is really good for most departments. The plus on that is that HR recruiters wont waste your time - they'll tell you straight up what the pay for the role is before you get too deep into the interview process.

    Continue reading
    VinSolutions2019-01-03

    VinSolutions Response

    February 6, 2019SVP and GM

    I love the positive feedback. Work life balance is very important, I think we all need to be reminded to unplug and focus on being in the moment. I am happy to hear you are experiencing firsthand the emphasis we place on the quality of our management team. I look forward to you growing your career with us!

    Continue reading
Found 174 reviews