Vice Media Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vice Media Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Vice Media CEO Shane Smith (no image)
Shane Smith
94 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours at times and low pay(in 32 reviews)

  • "VERY Long hours and feel under valued(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "vice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Vice Media full-time

    Pros

    it was a really good time and learning experience

    Cons

    long hours at times and low pay

    Vice Media2019-08-27
  2. "Progressive Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vice Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with a lot of likeminded individuals, young professionals

    Cons

    archaic "boys club" mentality. Has changed slightly since my departure.

    Vice Media2020-03-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer/Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vice Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'd say that some creative ideas can be fun to execute and there are many talented and dedicated staff in many departments still left there I hope.

    Cons

    Accounting is seriously a joke especially since joining forces with the new york team. Good luck to freelancers and crew trying to get paid within 60-90 days. Big flag is that so many managers became senior because they were there longer, not based on ability to manage or even do their job well. Also don't expect salary bump-ups based on increased job duties (or fair salaries really at all) - offensive starting salaries way below asking. There's terrible communication and transparency from the top down, weak partnerships - often with undesirable outcomes aka joint ventures pulling out early. So many rounds of layoffs and it doesn't seem like they were able to get morale back at all. Huge lack of vision and direction for the Toronto office/Canadian sector. Loss of brand identity for sure - really showed in the focus groups they ran in the Toronto office plus the 1-on-1s with the ex-Toronto leader. It seems that many possible partners/companies don't want to work with Vice anymore - they tried it once and won't come back. There's a lack of information provided before or after scandals/bad press about the company or bad press about ex-staff. Lack of proper on-boarding for new staff. Honestly, this place was disappointing - I expected to want to be here longer than 2 years.

    Continue reading
    Vice Media2020-01-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Mismanaged Collapsing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Video Editor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vice Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A wide variety of content to work on. Fun creative employees.

    Cons

    The company is financially destitute and as such refuses to give employees raises or address the wide pay disparity between it's employees. Large 20-30 employee layoffs happen every six months. (Called 'restructuring' so CFO doesn't have to admit he's let people go) Best employees have already left for better opportunities elsewhere.

    Vice Media2019-09-04
  5. "Start up vibe but with no direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ad Operations Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vice Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture was great and enjoyed a lot of the events we did. I enjoyed representing all the AdVICE publishers. Great experience.

    Cons

    There is a real lack of direction between TV and Online digital. Never understood our long term objectives from an operational level.

    Vice Media2019-07-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Shrinking Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Producer in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vice Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of freedom, not a ton of micromanagement

    Cons

    Continual layoffs, no transparency or trust in leadership.

    Continue reading
    Vice Media2019-07-04
  7. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vice Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun couple of drunk years, good culture

    Cons

    Bad salary, little opportunity for raises

    Vice Media2019-06-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "OK Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publisher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Vice Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - cool coworkers - fun projects to work on

    Cons

    - no empowerment - poor pay - no diversity - poor management

    Vice Media2019-06-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunities to create, but tough to get your true value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Vice Media full-time

    Pros

    It's an intensely creative place and you can find yourself working on several dream projects a year.

    Cons

    They don't pay well and there is a huge exodus of talented people following the regime change there.

    Vice Media2019-05-08
  10. Helpful (9)

    "How are they still a thing?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vice Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sometimes other people think you're cool. Looks good on a resume unless they have ever talked to anyone who worked at Vice.

    Cons

    The following are large and ongoing issues: Wages Management/Executives Workplace Culture Job Security Sexual harassment Misogyny Racial Discrimination Budgets Attitude Work/life balance They have no respect for workers, laws, facts, protocol, efficiency or culture. No one should get paid in cool, especially when they are not good enough at their jobs to be cool.

    Continue reading
    Vice Media2018-11-15
Found 265 reviews