Veterans United Home Loans Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Veterans United Home Loans Reviews

Updated 15 September, 2018
226 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Veterans United Home Loans CEO Nate Long
Nate Long
182 Ratings

226 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "From pay to work life balance, to equal consideration in the workplace- I couldn't say enough" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Work life balance, casual dress code, awesome co workers" (in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most of the negative comments I've seen are because the company is going through some growing pains" (in 8 reviews)

  • "The family health insurance packages are honestly not that great, and could be a bit more competitive" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Your experience will vary based on your department and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LOA in Columbia, MO (US)
    Current Employee - LOA in Columbia, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Most employees/team leads/manager are great as is the company culture. That is not true across the board. HR will work with you to move teams or positions if that is needed but results are not guaranteed.

    Cons

    Your team leader will determine your experience here more than any other company I have ever worked with. Most are good, some are bad and run through teammates quickly. Management does little to coach bad team leaders.

    Advice to Management

    Coach/censure bad LO's and team leaders. Running through assistants and having nothing happen is not acceptable.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    18 Sep, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. As our values state, we are constantly looking for ways to improve and manager training will continue to be an area we focus on cultivating. Your... More


  2. "Senior Home Loan Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, pay, and perks

    Cons

    Health insurance plan is about the only weakness. But not bad.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    29 Aug, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for the kind words! We are thrilled that you're here and happy to have you as part of the VU family!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Leaves you feeling hollow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Columbia, MO (US)
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Columbia, MO (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Understanding that you only work for yourself, and you are only loyal to yourself at the company.

    Oh, the massages are the best and only thing I got out of it.

    Cons

    - Lack of transparency
    - No diversity (White men only)
    - Either you are part of the clique or you're not.
    - Hire when times are good, fire if it suits the manager

    Advice to Management

    Please have a long term approach. Every employee wants better software and quality software but when it doesnt suit the manager dont make people out to be scapegoats.

    And the mission statements make it sound good. I wish it were actually followed.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    31 Aug, 2018 – HR Representative

    We take all feedback very seriously and appreciate you sharing. We strive to have open and honest communication with all employees no matter their department or position. Our values were created by... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great for some. Not me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Progressive and fun (kinda) atmosphere

    Cons

    Very cut-throat internally. Trainees are in competition with each other, as if 6 are being trained, and the 3 best will be granted continuing employment.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    28 Jun, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for the feedback. We do take pride in the fact that Veterans United is always looking for ways to improve which includes our training programs. Every day and every position is a little... More


  5. Helpful (5)

    "Stay Clear."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They have a fun work environment. You will be given tee shirts almost weekly and they are good about giving you gift cards here at home office and anything else to keep you not focused on the circus you’re joining.

    Cons

    As a fellow veteran, I couldn’t stand to see the lack of effort given as a whole. All execs up to the top claim they are open to feedback but it’s better to give it once you’re asked to leave.

    Advice to Management

    When you have it in your Mission Statement, “we embrace open and honest communication” try to truly mean that. Not everyone is at Veterans United for just a check, they want what’s best for the consumer, and when people can go to any other competition and save thousands of dollars, you need to be open to change and adapting. After all, don’t our Military deserve it?

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    9 Jul, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thank you for your feedback. VU is always looking to improve and we will take your comments to heart. We’re sorry to hear that your time with us wasn’t what most employees at VU experience.


  6. "Best place to help you advance in your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Columbia, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Columbia, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Training is valued and there is some freedom in what work we would like to accomplish.

    Cons

    Depending on which department you are in the career paths can be somewhat pigeonholed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work of bring out the best in your employees!

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    7 Jun, 2018 – Culture Rep

    We do value our training and trainers. We constantly look to see if there are better ways to train and new ways to implement ideas. Our employees bring out the best in us, thank you for your time at... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility and ability to work remotely

    Cons

    Management promotes friends rather than those who are qualified

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    12 Jun, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for being part of the VU family!

  8. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Great place to start working from out of town or as a first job.

    Cons

    Easy to get lost in the crowd. Work Hard Play Harder... a little too hard.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    31 May, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for being part of the VU family! We are constantly thinking of new ways for people to feel valued as individuals and stand out if they choose to.


  9. "One Happy Loan Officer :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer
    Current Employee - Loan Officer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The VU Team, benefits, and training and support for new Loan Officers

    Cons

    Loan Officers are commissioned but clock in/out like hourly. Not a bad thing at all but takes some getting adjusted to.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Great Work!! The work-life balance and culture of this company is phenomenal. It is evident that your hiring practices have been tried and proven as I have met some of the BEST people here.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    5 Apr, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thank you so much! We try to do our best to make sure people have a great work-life balance. We try to find the best people we can and they are the ones who make our culture better each day.


  10. "Good job, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    I am no longer employed at VU but I have nothing bad to say about the job other than it's an indoor, office job and that's not me. They truly invest in their employees and I would recommend working there to anyone.

    Cons

    Cubicle job, too intense for some

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    5 Apr, 2018 – Culture Rep

    Thank you for your time with us! We hope you found a position that fits you and makes you smile. Good luck with everything in the future!


Showing 226 of 248 reviews
Reset Filters