Veterans United Home Loans Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Veterans United Home Loans Reviews

Updated 9 November, 2017
203 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Veterans United Home Loans CEO Nate Long
Nate Long
165 Ratings

203 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Strong culture and belief in good work/life balance (in 16 reviews)

  • Casual dress, fast pace, friendly atmosphere and fun employee events (in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • com is that they are hiring people so fast it is very hard to keep up with every and there new positions (in 5 reviews)

  • Most of the negative comments I've seen are because the company is going through some growing pains (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Columbia, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Columbia, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans (Less than a year)

    Pros

    VUHL truly cares about you, your family and your goals (with the company and without). They work with you to put you and your family first. And they is always seems to be room for growth within the company

    Cons

    At this point there isn’t anything that I can think of that would be a con... maybe one thing would be to offer more training and follow up training after employees have been hired for awhile. I think this would help clear some miscommunications that happen.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    6 Nov, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Welcome to VU and thanks for the review. Family is very important around here and we hope your family, and work family, continue to flourish. We always evaluate the way we do things and work on new... More


  2. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Great training and wonderful working environment

    Cons

    Work load is feast or famine at times. Bonus structure has changed numerous times.

    Advice to Management

    Pick a bonus structure and stick with it so income can be counted on.


  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Very employee oriented, room to move up, flexible schedules, great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Insurance is expensive and lackluster, tension between departments can be stressful.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    6 Nov, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Hi, thanks for the feedback. We try hard to make work-life balance a reality for each employee and not just an afterthought. Our insurance is something that is constantly being looked at and... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Benefits
    Friendly People
    Family atmosphere
    Great work life balance

    Cons

    Have not found one yet

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    19 Oct, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for the feedback, appreciate it!


  6. "Transaction Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, values, and people. Rewarding work

    Cons

    Lack of training and oversight, long hours

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    6 Nov, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for putting in feedback. We are proud of the employees that do a superb job of promoting our great culture. Also, those employees work hard for our Veterans everyday.


  7. "Great Mission, Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Specialist in Columbia, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Loan Specialist in Columbia, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The leadership values each individual. Every individual contributes the positive culture. The mission and product are honorable.

    Cons

    The compensation during the first few months here has been low, but much of that time has been spent studying, testing for licensing, and training. I know that there is plenty of opportunity to increase my income after the first few months, so this is certainly a minor and understandable con. The pros far outweigh this.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    12 Oct, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Hi! Thanks for reaching out and saying such nice things. We are very proud of the culture here at VU and it is due to the amazing employees like yourself!


  8. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Columbia, MO (US)
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Columbia, MO (US)
    Recommends

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and work-life balance!

    Cons

    Not as easy to expand expertise of department functions.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    5 Oct, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Thank you for the feedback! Glad you're part of this amazing team.


  9. "Account Manager 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager I in Lenexa, KS (US)
    Former Employee - Account Manager I in Lenexa, KS (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company truly cares for the employees. You are well-trained, rewarded, and valued in your position. The company definitely spoils you with a massage therapist on site, fully stocked kitchen, great benefits, rewards, benefits, the culture, and the people. The people and company culture are what makes this company so special. They hire the people who are motivated and want to do well. Those who are not willing to work hard will not last. This company should be a model of what other companies should strive to be. When I left the company my supervisors, HR department, and co-workers offered to be references. LOVE the company. If it weren't for my circumstances I would definitely still be working there. They pay well and are extremely competitive based on prior work experience and other employers.

    Cons

    There were a few times I saw people who appeared to receive promotion because of favoritism. This is far and few between so do not let that discourage you! It takes some time to get into supervisor/management type roles. (not a bad thing really).

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving processes, keep valuing your employees, rehire an in person training staff for Lenexa location, and keep hiring awesome people! (You're doing an amazing job so far)!

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    21 Sep, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Wow! Those are some great things you said about us. Thank you. We may spoil employees a bit but we think that offering perks to caring and hardworking employees is part of what makes us stand out... More


  10. "Awesome Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Columbia, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Columbia, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great working for this company! They truly care about their employees!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    8 Sep, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Thanks for the feedback and thanks for being a part of our VU family!


  11. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Veterans United Home Loans full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've only been with VU for a relatively short time, but the culture and leadership is legitimately caring of the teams, and steward the culture in ways that I have seen many other companies struggle with. The people here are genuine, fun, caring, and open minded.

    Cons

    So far, none. Politics are minimal, and leadership listens.

    Veterans United Home Loans Response

    17 Aug, 2017 – Culture Rep

    Appreciate the kind words. We put a lot of thought into the culture at VU and we're glad it sticks out in a positive way! I'll also agree that the people here are pretty amazing.


Showing 203 of 222 reviews
Reset Filters