Vertex Pharmaceuticals "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vertex Pharmaceuticals Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Reshma Kewalramani
Reshma Kewalramani
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and overall perks(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, very open to fresh ideas no matter how new you are(in 24 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Research Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Pros

    Good Salary Employees are well trained

    Cons

    There is no work life balance

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2015-02-27
  2. "Packaging, labelling and distribution QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, GDP Operational Quality in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team culture, exciting company with great challenges

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a challenge

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2020-02-18

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    February 28, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are really happy to see reviews where employees are happy at Vertex.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (19)

    "Great Science! No work/Life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent science and one of the best R&D scientists I’ve ever worked with. The Pharm Sci department seems really top notch. Pay is average in the industry and the benefits are good

    Cons

    Vertex has always been a hard place to work. Before joining 9 years ago I was ” warned” about the culture. It is not for the faint of heart. Don’t get fooled but the “ Best Place to Work” propaganda. This place works you to death. While there I know 7 people who separated from their spouses due to Never being around, mostly due to the unrealistic brutal drug development timelines they insist on everyone delivering on. Every drug, even drugs they have very little understanding if the biology or chemistry has to get into humans faster and faster... unrealistic demands. Remember, Vertex has worked in CF for 16 years so of course those programs moved faster and faster. But the new pipeline, good-luck. Also, The C suite pays themselves and gives themselves incredible raises and bonus while the employees who kill themselves and create great work get 2% raises. I do not recommend this company; hence I left to find a place that respects Work/Life balance and doesn’t have such a greedy C suite.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-12-03

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    December 11, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We will be sure to provide your feedback to the proper departments.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (16)

    "Going at 90mph is exhilarating but will break you down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Boston, MA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, resources, cafeteria. Seaport is tricky commute but they help with lots of options. Tries to be progressive and modern. Incredibly smart, talented and hard working scientists. Collaborative and friendly people. The science is fast and free flowing. Good culture and values EXCEPT work/life balance.

    Cons

    Speed and burnout culture. 50-60hrs every week is almost standard among scientists. Pay seems good but calculate the $/hr and it's actually not very competitive at all. Almost no technicians/associates so most people will be toiling in the lab while a select few (usually white men) will be plucked into leadership/visibility roles. Pace often results in the fast thing being done over the smart/long term/careful thing such as brute force experiments. They are super proud of diversity numbers but closer inspection it's all at the lower levels; project/senior leaders are almost exclusively white and mostly male. Overall, it often feels like a well paid postdoc, scientifically rewarding but a pyramid scheme based on burnout, privilege, networking and luck.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-11-09

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    November 22, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We will be sure to pass your feedback along to the proper departments.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (12)

    "The C-Suit is the Biggest Problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They hire interns and allow them to learn.

    Cons

    The C-Suite is the biggest problem of this company. They exploit employees at all levels, set crazy and unrealistic deadlines, never help an employee maintain proper work-life balance and still don't give a promotion or pay raise opportunities. All the raises are for themselves. Employees shouldn't even ask about this injustice as they will find an excuse to kick you after that.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-12-20

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    January 7, 2020Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a good experience while working at Vertex. We will make sure to pass on your comments to the proper departments. Good luck in your new role.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (27)

    "STOP!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Benefits -Pay -Location -Some people are smart and fun to be around

    Cons

    -Work/life balance STILL non-existent -Required to multitask to ineffiency and burn out -The churn of logistics disables the science -Constant chaos, constant sprint, very disorganized

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-12

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    September 16, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. We will make sure that we provide your review to the proper department and will try and improve on what you have pointed out.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (22)

    "All talk, no walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - GMDA in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits: -10%+ yearly bonuses with 20-50% stock awards that vest over 3 years. -4 weeks vacation to start and company shut down between Christmas and New year -$300/month commuter benefit, charitable donation matching, and $125/month student loan payment  -401k is just OK with 100% match for up to 3% and 50% match for an additional 1-3% I am lucky that I work on a team with a manager who is supportive, empathetic, and reasonable. The people I work closest with are smart, helpful, and generally easy to work with. Like most places, your experience will vary depending on the department and immediate team. Vertex as a whole is extremely successful, and I take pride in working for a company that focuses on rare genetic diseases and research.

    Cons

    All the comments about senior management in GMDA are spot-on. The comment about adding barriers instead of value is particularly accurate. Extra layers of process and review add inefficiencies and confusion. Decision makers are either unresponsive, unreasonable, or can't agree with each other. They also want their hands in every. little. thing.  Vertex talks a big talk about wanting to support its employees, help them grow, maintain work-life balance, "push decision making down and out" (please), but never follows through. There is a lot of unnecessary pressure and finger-pointing that leads to fear and burnout. They badger and bribe employees to complete an "optional" development plan so that they can say they got 100% participation and claim they did something to support employee development; whether the content of these plans is actually useful is another story. Vertex also talks big about innovation and excellence, but, in my department in particular, opportunities are decided by seniority instead of merit. I am told time and again that I'm ahead of my peers who have been here longer, and yet they get most of the choice projects and growth opportunities. People are ridiculously sensitive about fairness.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-24

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    September 3, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time in posting your review. We take feedback seriously and are working on the issues you wrote about. We will make sure your feedback is sent to the leadership team and HR.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (20)

    "Run far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Boston location is in the heart of the seaport and the building is beautiful.

    Cons

    Unfortunately this company has taking a turn for the worst. GMDA was once a group that worked collaboratively for the greater good. Now, it is a completely toxic culture, which is lead by fear. It is now the norm to see the senior management throw their team under the bus, back-up and do it again. There is no leadership at the VP level, no desire to listen or help employees (HR is a joke), and horrible discrimination based on gender/race/ethnicity. Be certain that if you try to talk to HR or a senior leadership there will be significant retaliation. Do not be fooled! The pay and benefits are not that good, you will never get anything above a 3% pay raise and promotions are extremely difficult. There is zero work-life balance, as senior management expects you to work round the clock to hit the ridiculous timelines they set in order to be able to brag about being the fastest drug company to bring new products to market.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-05-24

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    July 10, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Sorry to hear about your experience at Vertex. We take pride in Diversity and Inclusion and the benefits we offer. We will make sure to provide your feedback to GMDA and HR. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (30)

    "No chance of growth no matter how hard you work.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and compensation Good work life balance and beer hour

    Cons

    No chance of growth unless you are white. The place is full of politics and nepotism. I was surprised in my early days when people would just randomly leave. Soon I discovered that you can get all the awards and appreciation but your career will not advance. If you keep promoting only certain people without any talent while keeping people of color at the same position (no matter how hard and productive they are) than one day you will be left with no talent. I have seen really smart people leave Vertex just because they were tired of politics. This is the reason that Boston site could not produce any molecules in past few years. I really liked the science and the research, but I could not deal with politics and just wait for your shares to vest without any actual growth.

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-02-06

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    February 8, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We will pass your comments on to the appropriate people.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (36)

    "sad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vertex Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - great benefits - but they have changed the compensation package many times - on-site caf is fabulous

    Cons

    - don't care about employees. bottom line. HR is only for legal protection. - turnover high due to constant reorgs. new mgt. - bully mgt style and "do as I say but not as I do" - not nibble - big pharma players - no work life balance

    Continue reading
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-03-08

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

    March 18, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time working at Vertex. We will make sure that the proper departments receive your feedback. Good luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
Found 39 reviews