Verblio Writer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Verblio Writer Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
56%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Decent gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Content Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Verblio for less than a year

    Pros

    Always work available, interesting clients, supportive forum community, responsive administration, able to work as little or as much as you want

    Cons

    just some slight kinks to work out on the platform interface

    Continue reading
    Verblio2020-01-13
  2. "Good side paying gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Writer in Pembroke, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Verblio for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy setup, efficient pay, creative influence

    Cons

    Inconsistent availability of jobs, low pay

    Verblio2020-01-07
  3. "Perfect Work for Great Writers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Writer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Verblio

    Pros

    Flexible, room for growth, niche based writing

    Cons

    The company does not have medical benefits, to my knowledge.

    Verblio2019-11-15
  4. "Miserable business model. Exploitative at its core."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Writer in Athens, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Verblio for less than a year

    Pros

    You get paid, sometimes. 10.50 for 300 words, by default. Peanuts, given much of the asked content requires extensive research.

    Cons

    Enjoy doing hours of research and work, only for it to never pay off? Choose Verblio. It'll happen ~50% of the time. This isn't just writing on spec, it's writing on spec while attempting to get notices from a slushpile of other writers, all of whom are submitting for the same contract. The business model it built on wasting writer's time, all so they can pander to clients and take 75% of the cut.

    Continue reading
    Verblio2019-12-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "A lot of work with no reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Writer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Verblio for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, work when you want

    Cons

    You compete against other writers all the time and the client chooses a favorite piece. Research and write articles, putting in a lot of time and effort, only to have the work added to a pile of other writers' work and the client gets to choose their favorite. You are NOT paid if you are not selected.

    Continue reading
    Verblio2019-08-09
  6. "Good for part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Writer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Verblio part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So long as you're only using this as a way to supplement your income, it's a good way to pick up some extra cash.

    Cons

    It's sometimes difficult to find work. Would be extremely difficult to support oneself on work through this site alone.

    Continue reading
    Verblio2019-04-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great site, but spec work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Writer in Remote, OR
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Verblio for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive staff, great forum. Pays weekly.

    Cons

    No guarantee of money - businesses can pick and choose from the articles you write. This is spec. work.

    Verblio2019-02-27
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Wasted a lot of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Freelance Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Verblio for less than a year

    Pros

    Work when you want, as much as you want

    Cons

    You'll work a lot of hours for no pay. Several writers submit work and customer chooses which one they want. After going through their acceptance process and working for about a month I had submitted about 18 articles, had sold two and had 4-5 that were "in the money" for the coming week I received an email from Verblio with another request from the customer that had bought my second sold article. Verblio stated they had sent it to me and also over 130 other writers! while I was considering it I got another email informing me that I did not meet their standards for writers and they could not accept me as a verblio writer at this time! Seems very odd to me.

    Continue reading
    Verblio2019-03-06
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Company that rips off their Writers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Verblio for more than a year

    Pros

    You get heaps of availability to work but you get paid peanuts and they treat you like trash!

    Cons

    - they treat their writers like crap - They block your account for no reason at any time -

    Continue reading
    Verblio2019-01-25
  10. "Pretty decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Writer in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Verblio part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, work from home. Decent.

    Cons

    Hard to pin down pay

    Verblio2018-10-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews