Vendasta "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vendasta Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Vendasta Chief Executive Officer Brendan King (no image)
Brendan King
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food everyday, free beer every Friday(in 12 reviews)

  • "Fantastic social committee events, free catered lunches, weekly All Hands meetings, and a fun work environment(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be too fast paced for some people(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture and plenty of opportunities for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been working at Vendasta for almost two years and I feel really proud of how much the company is growing. I joined Vendasta as a writer in the Marketing Services division, and the people in my team were very friendly and thoughtful. They always gave me honest but constructive feedback that made me improve tremendously. In the beginning, I had a lot of issues with confidence because I’m an immigrant, gay, and ESL speaker, so I didn’t know what to expect. Also, I had a good grasp of knowledge of digital marketing but I came from another industry, which contributed to my insecurity. Luckily for me, Vendasta values attitude and willingness to learn. New employees attend Vendasta U meetings, which are typically spread in two or three days designed to get you an overview of the company. There are plenty of opportunities to provide and receive feedback (1v1s, standups, weekly meetings, OfficeVibe, leadership assessment, etc). When I was part of the writing team, we were given permission to allocate ~30 minutes/day to personal development and incentivized to share knowledge with the team. Collaboration is a big aspect of Vendasta’s culture. If you use the appropriate channels, your ideas, concerns, and feedback will be welcomed. Resolution might take longer or even a different path than what you expect, but I think that’s just natural in a business context. While I can’t speak for every division, I’ve always felt heard in Marketing Services. Even more recently, after changing my role within the company, I got the support from a lot of people with training. They know that it takes time to transition to a new position, and I never detected any pressure to be ready from the get go. In my meetings, I often get caught in discussions where I have to disagree with people who have much more experience than me, and nobody took it personally. No company is perfect, but Vendasta has a great work culture, among many other benefits, that makes me wake up every day and feel motivated to work. I made a lot of friends here and worked with passionate leaders like Micheline, Rylan, and Troy.

    Show More

    Cons

    Vendasta can be a bit overwhelming, especially for new hires. Due to the complexity of the kind of business we do here, you need to dedicate a big chunk of time to understand the platform, our services, and how the company is structured. Make no mistake, this is a great place to work but you’ll feel challenged every day. Also, keep in mind that Vendasta has a fast-paced environment. Things can change pretty quickly here, which is exciting but also makes the company not a good fit for anyone who have resistance to change.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep empowering employees to make them feel heard and comfortable to share their thoughts. Create more opportunities for personal development by expanding Vendasta U.

    Vendasta2019-08-09
  2. "Great Place To Work and Develop Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vendasta full-time

    Pros

    -Strong corporate culture -Goals are clearly outlined -Information transparency -Open communication at all levels -Breakfast and lunch provided every day -Social committee and lots of fun events

    Cons

    -Can be too fast paced for some people -Pay is not as competitive as similar jobs in industry

    Advice to Management

    Doing a great job, but consider that the cost of living is going up and pay should move in line. Benefits are great, but paying bills is better.

    Vendasta2019-01-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vendasta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Fast paced, interesting - Food in office is convenient (note I didn't say free) - I believe in general they care about employees

    Cons

    -High turnover If you value job security AT ALL, do not work here. People are routinely fired and or laid off. Again, I believe that at some level they do care about employees, but because they don't make any money and are reliant on investment, they frequently have to dump salaries to show the suits look we're trying to turn a profit for you. They've recently come into more money so will be hiring again, but lookout once that runs dry. Toxic culture - Ironic for a company that prides itself so often on the awesome company culture. I've never worked anywhere with lower morale. Large portion of people are pessimistic about their future at the company, and the companies future as a whole.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No one wants to walk into work each day wondering if they'll make it through the day employed

    Vendasta2018-11-15
  4. Helpful (13)

    "There are better places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vendasta for more than a year

    Pros

    -While we are first and foremost there to work, there is a place of belonging for everyone. With 250+ employees, you’ll find a work family easily -Food in abundance – I never had to worry about breakfast or lunch (though I definitely pack my own lunch majority of the time) -There’s a very active social committee who work tirelessly to plan 1-2 events monthly. Things like Paint Nite, bowling, karaoke, ski tips, etc. A great way to forge friendships with people you work with. -people are generally friendly -It’s a good entry level job for dipping your toes in the workforce. I learned a ton of skills, from people skills, time management, problem solving, team work, and other skills I wouldn’t have otherwise had the opportunity to learn

    Show More

    Cons

    Salary – If you are a developer or software engineer, you’ll be paid a pretty penny. But if you’re in the Distribution department, the salaries are a joke. Definitely not competitive, nor do they adjust for inflation. My take home pay was under $30k a year (roughly $28k). If you’re single or married with no kids, you’ll survive. But I can’t imagine having a family on this income. But maybe they think free food makes up for the lack of decent wages? In addition, there are massive discrepancies between people working in the same position. I was offered a role that was certainly more responsibility than my current position, but offered no raise due to “monthly bonus/commission”. Firstly, you cannot depend on a bonus because depending on your month, you may not get one. Secondly, I knew for a fact that others, doing the SAME role as me, were making several thousand more than me as a salary. I addressed this with HR and was shut down -Benefits – Lackluster. Execs have a better benefit plan than normal employees, which is a pretty clear indication of how poor the plan is. Also – 5 sick days? This is Saskatchewan, where people will usually be sick more than 5 days out of the year because we live in a tundra 60% of the time. Also, given the high-stress, fast paced environment, you would think maybe a “progressive company” would consider the value of allotting a few mental health days a year. -Lack of transparency – Back in the new year there was a huge re-structuring of a department. Many people were not made aware of this and only found out via a slide from a slide show during a department-wide announcement. Job descriptions were changed without asking any input/opinion of those it directly affects. They claim it was to “benefit our partners”. That is fair – however, one would think that perhaps the people doing the work, who it directly affects, would have been treated with more consideration than a pawn in a chess game. It is extremely obvious that Vendasta does not truly care about their employees – only about the end dollar. -Disciplinary measures are bizarre – People can get written up for any reason, or put on a “Performance Improvement Plan” at the blink of an eye. No one is perfect, and as we are human, mistakes happen (in Marketing Services in particular, there is tremendous room for error, as processes were a disaster). Reasons can vary, but it ultimately depends on the relationship you have with your direct supervisor. If they like you, great. If not, be prepared to have zero support from upper management, despite receiving notably different treatment from other, more favoured employees. Numerous employees have been pushed out, as they are painted into a corner and essentially left with no choice but to leave. Is that fair? No, but it’s the norm. I think their intent is to shock you “scare” you, despite sugar coating a write up as an improvement plan. But ultimately, who wants to work in a space where you’re “motivated” by fear? You can do your job, but you never do it “good enough”. You never hear when you’ve done a good job; but if you make a mistake, it’s blown out of proportion and you can prepare to hear about it. It’s a company founded by old drinking buddies – an Old Boys Club – Great ideas can be born at the bar. But the bar mentally needs to be left behind when you start a company. Events are fueled by alcohol (which, don’t get me wrong, can be great). In addition, I knew of a number of employees who did hard drugs at work (high ups included). Many of the upper managers were hired in the early days of this company. Quote from the CRO – “I told my friends ___ and ___ to come work here!”. Nepotism runs rampant, and it becomes obvious when a friend of upper management (who also happens to be in a management position) can get away with making women feel uncomfortable at work events, despite multiple complaints. Is anything done? No – “it’s just what he does”. This is troubling, especially in 2017, when no longer is it ok for men to get away with inappropriate behavior in the workplace. The CEO recently made a joke at the company wide weekly meeting and back tracked, saying something along the lines of “oops, don’t want to end up in the #MeToo movement”. For a CEO to make jokes about a movement surrounding sexually harassment and assault in front of a supposedly progressive company is deeply concerning. HR will post some useless response claiming “the allegations you make are malicious, etc etc etc, I never heard of this,” BUT they did and a girl I worked with DID bring it up TO HR when someone made an extremely unprofessional and inappropriate remark to her. Nothing was done and this individual is STILL there and still making gross advances towards women. This company needs a mass overhaul of upper management, or they will continue to bleed talent like a sieve.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunately, the pros do not outweigh the cons. Vendasta starts great, but unless you’re friends with execs/management, work tireless overtime hours and relentlessly suck up to the high-ups, you won’t really get anywhere. If I could give Vendasta advice, it would be to humble yourself. This company has the mentality and attitude of the stock market on Wall Street or Apple Industries. While the company has definitely put Saskatchewan on the map for the tech industry, a feat which is really nothing to scoff at, let’s not forget it is a private company in an old office building in Saskatoon, SK. Unfortunately, unless you are bestowing endless praise, any advice that would suggest they are anything other than amazing will fall upon deaf ears. Quitting Vendasta was honestly the best decision I have ever made in my life.

    Show More
    Vendasta2018-08-17
  5. "A great company with tons of room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Tons of room for upward and lateral growth. - Stocked kitchens with unlimited coffee, catered lunch and early dismissal on Fridays, and prepared breakfast every weekday. - Fast paced, but not overwhelming. - Company is unafraid to take risks.

    Cons

    - You have to sing in front of 250+ people on your first Friday. - Communication issues between teams. - Easy to feel like a cog in a big machine.

    Advice to Management

    - Remove the singing initiation. - Take time to acknowledge the achievements of non-management personel.

    Vendasta2017-10-25
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great for some, but not for all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vendasta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced interesting work, weekly all-hands lunch and demonstrations (social/learning opportunities), employees are mostly good intentioned and highly intelligent.

    Cons

    Vendasta's culture and management is typical of what you would expect from a Saskatoon tech company with an all male executive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving.

    Vendasta2015-11-26
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Challenge, interesting, and innovative work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Cutting edge technology - Vendasta is constantly experimenting with and implementing new web technologies * Hack-a-thon - Once a month, everyone in the company (sales, marketing, developers, etc), are invited to participate in self organized projects that could benefit the company. * They hire smart people - It is a pleasure working with, and learning from, some of the best and brightest of Saskatoon. * Everyone is a friend - Vendasta does a great job of hiring great personalities. 100 employess = C(100, 2) friendships. * R&D Leadership Committee - Programmers at Vendasta are provided with an excellent environment to develop and learn from the more experienced programmers through code reviews, paired programming, and detailed peer feedback. Leadership committees are being expanded to other departments with hopefully similar success.

    Show More

    Cons

    Vendasta is working in a fast paced, competitive industry, and are rapidly growing (2x # employees in a year) to increase their position in the marketplace. With this rapid growth new employees are expected to hit the ground running and it can sometimes be difficult adjusting. To their credit, Vendasta has implemented new programs and mentorships that seem to have significantly decrease the friction. Vendasta is a very flat organization. Don't expect to be "promoted" but do expect to be able to move into different roles within the company that will increase you responsibilities and increase your pay. The company could do a better job conveying this to both potential and current employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up your strong focus on culture but don't be afraid to improve upon what has already been established. Make sure employees know that they are progressing in the company, even if it isn't with a "promotion".

    Vendasta2014-11-01
Found 7 reviews