Vendasta Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vendasta Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Vendasta Chief Executive Officer Brendan King (no image)
Brendan King
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food everyday, free beer every Friday(in 12 reviews)

  • "Fantastic social committee events, free catered lunches, weekly All Hands meetings, and a fun work environment(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be too fast paced for some people(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Learn and Grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Growth Specialist in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fun and exciting culture - Tons of opportunity for growth and new challenges - Regular communication and feedback with leadership - A social committee that hosts lots of fun events - Great food service perks

    Cons

    - Longer hours than some comparable companies - High Stress

    Vendasta2019-11-22
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best place to work in Saskatoon

    Cons

    Will be great if pension was provided

    Vendasta2019-11-04
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture. Food (Hot Breakfast/Lunch, snacks available all day) Personal/Professional growth is encouraged

    Cons

    The training is very good, but it can still take a while to get used to all the marketing jargon.

    Vendasta2019-10-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture and plenty of opportunities for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been working at Vendasta for almost two years and I feel really proud of how much the company is growing. I joined Vendasta as a writer in the Marketing Services division, and the people in my team were very friendly and thoughtful. They always gave me honest but constructive feedback that made me improve tremendously. In the beginning, I had a lot of issues with confidence because I’m an immigrant, gay,... and ESL speaker, so I didn’t know what to expect. Also, I had a good grasp of knowledge of digital marketing but I came from another industry, which contributed to my insecurity. Luckily for me, Vendasta values attitude and willingness to learn. New employees attend Vendasta U meetings, which are typically spread in two or three days designed to get you an overview of the company. There are plenty of opportunities to provide and receive feedback (1v1s, standups, weekly meetings, OfficeVibe, leadership assessment, etc). When I was part of the writing team, we were given permission to allocate ~30 minutes/day to personal development and incentivized to share knowledge with the team. Collaboration is a big aspect of Vendasta’s culture. If you use the appropriate channels, your ideas, concerns, and feedback will be welcomed. Resolution might take longer or even a different path than what you expect, but I think that’s just natural in a business context. While I can’t speak for every division, I’ve always felt heard in Marketing Services. Even more recently, after changing my role within the company, I got the support from a lot of people with training. They know that it takes time to transition to a new position, and I never detected any pressure to be ready from the get go. In my meetings, I often get caught in discussions where I have to disagree with people who have much more experience than me, and nobody took it personally. No company is perfect, but Vendasta has a great work culture, among many other benefits, that makes me wake up every day and feel motivated to work. I made a lot of friends here and worked with passionate leaders like Micheline, Rylan, and Troy.

    Show More

    Cons

    Vendasta can be a bit overwhelming, especially for new hires. Due to the complexity of the kind of business we do here, you need to dedicate a big chunk of time to understand the platform, our services, and how the company is structured. Make no mistake, this is a great place to work but you’ll feel challenged every day. Also, keep in mind that Vendasta has a fast-paced environment. Things can change pretty quickly... here, which is exciting but also makes the company not a good fit for anyone who have resistance to change.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep empowering employees to make them feel heard and comfortable to share their thoughts. Create more opportunities for personal development by expanding Vendasta U.

    Vendasta2019-08-09
  5. "Nice perks, questionable leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vendasta full-time

    Pros

    Fun culture with lots of work events, food, in-office kegs, and other amenities. Room to grow and move around. It’s fun for a bit, til you see the ugly inner politics.

    Cons

    Their Leadership lacks leadership skills. HR has no clue how to treat people (except Brooke, she’s cool/useful), and they have obsolete founders as dead weight they continue to carry.

    Vendasta2019-08-21
  6. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast moving company so there is a lot of opportunity and potential for growth

    Cons

    Lack of real benefits (RRSP’s) and stress.

    Vendasta2019-08-14
  7. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Growth Specialist in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Work perks • Growth Opportunity

    Cons

    The only con is the number of washrooms

    Vendasta2019-07-31
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Unstable Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Strategist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vendasta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, fun "perks" like company lunches and snacks available, massage chair in break room

    Cons

    Everything was changing all the time. Teams, structures, job titles, job descriptions. I finally quit when management changed my literal job without consent. I was going from being hired as a writer and writing full time to doing mostly customer service. Not cool. Very top down, but they like to talk like 'we're a family and we care'. Be wary. Be careful who you trust. People who cause too much of a ruckus are let... go. Also, pay was terrible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people who are doing the work. We have good ideas about team structures and how to be more effective in our jobs. Top down, widespread changes are a mess. Also, stop with the military metaphors in presentations. Could not be more toxic male in leadership.

    Vendasta2019-07-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "No better place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Its a Joy going to work everyday. I literally wake up and look forward to coming to work. The place is full of creative and happy people. I'm blessed to have been given a chance to work here.

    Cons

    Could use some more bathrooms

    Advice to Management

    You have created an amazing organization Happy to be a part of it.

    Vendasta2019-07-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant and Company Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vendasta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked in a place like Vendasta. I have been in high stress, negative-energy, and "I don't want to go to work today" companies before and this place is so refreshing. Some quick pros are: Culture - such an open, fun, hardworking and honest culture Atmosphere - company values, goals, events, leadership principles are all displayed around the office and communicated daily Teams - every employee is part... of a team and each team learns, grows and adapts together Friendly Competition - amongst teams which motivates each to get things done efficiently, effectively and in a fun/exciting way Openness - management is very open with the employees. They communicate as much detail as they can and give updates weekly to keep everyone in the loop ... I could go on for a while

    Show More

    Cons

    It is hard for me to think of anything "bad" enough to write about

    Vendasta2019-06-28
Found 94 reviews