Vena Solutions Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Vena Solutions CEO Hunter Madeley
Hunter Madeley
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Vena truly is a great place to work(in 29 reviews)

  • "Rapid growth - lots of opportunity for your own growth(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "normal growing pains for such a fast growing company (eg(in 13 reviews)

  • "The office space, while beautiful, can be a bit noisy at times(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Agile, rapidly growing tech company with top talent and an awesome culture

      Jul 6, 2020 - Director of Brand & Creative Services in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am continually impressed by and proud to be part of such a dedicated, performance-driven company focused on execution excellence. Vena is an exciting, agile, rapidly growing company with a high calibre of talent across the board. Furthermore, the companies culture is amazing. Vena actively cultivates an inclusive corporate culture with internal groups dedicated to diversity, the environment, supporting women in technology, accessibility, and more.

      Cons

      Honestly none that come to mind

      1 person found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Thank you for the 5 stars! We're so happy to hear that your time at Vena is off to a great start. You mentioned that no cons come to mind, but we hope you'll share that feedback with us if anything changes. — Vena People Team

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Software

      May 9, 2021 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is high with good benefits

      Cons

      No cons so far vena

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review for us here on Glassdoor. Our Vena Life Survey launches this week (May 12th) - if there are any specific suggestions you have for us feel free to leave your feedback via the survey and/or connect directly with your leader/HRBP. Thanks again for sharing! Tracey - Chief People Person

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good work-life balance, lots of problems with cohesion

      Apr 7, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good work-life balance for developers - Lots of really nice people - Put a lot of thought into minimizing burnout for developers - A good place if you are just happy with status quo - Company is growing fast

      Cons

      - Big problem with lack of developer empowerment and team autonomy. Leads to frustrated and unhappy team members. - Leaders are out of touch and disconnected from teams, and then proceed to micromanage. - Lack of product and technology road map - Tech stack and architecture is not great - Lack of support for remote work, if you want to work abroad temporarily they make it extremely difficult (only allow from a few provinces and states) - Lack of appetite for innovation and change. I think this is due to the company mostly focusing on medium-sized businesses so there is no need to change what works even though it can be improved a lot. - Most of the focus is on developing features on a very shaky foundation, rather than building a scalable system. - Lack of senior engineering talent to look up to and learn from.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide your valuable insights and feedback. As you know, continuous improvement is important to us here at Vena. Some things we’re currently focused on or are on our roadmap to address relating to your feedback include: - Autonomy/Empowerment: Developers and all team members are encouraged to share ideas, raise concerns and ask questions at every stage of our development lifecycle whether that be during a Sprint Planning meeting, in a Slack discussion, feedback on code reviews or an innovation pitch. We hire smart people, with diverse perspectives and believe it’s how to develop the best product. While our overall goals and mission are driven at a company level, HOW we build, develop and test is up to our developers. We’re sad to hear that this does not align with your experience, but we are committed to improving this for you and anyone else who may feel this way. We encourage you to speak to your leader or our senior leadership team if you’re open to having a dialogue on this topic. - Innovation/Change: Most of our teams are investing heavily in modernizing our current tech stacks, improving the stability, performance, and completeness of our current platform, and building our next-generation platform. In part, to more efficiently address modernization and scalability we’ve recently re-organized team portfolios and platform areas to allow teams to focus on specific areas of the platform which we believe will allow for increased expertise, development empowerment and innovation. While this does reduce our appetite for experimenting with entirely new tech stacks (for example), we are very focused on experimenting and developing expertise within our current tech stacks. - Technology Roadmap: While we’ve been focusing on the shorter-term investments mentioned above, we haven’t done a good job communicating the longer-term product and technology direction to the team. This is an area we’re actively working on improving. Senior Engineering Talent: Our Development team is growing quickly and we are actively hiring Senior Developers, Technical Leads and Architects. We are constantly reviewing and reiterating our hiring process and culture to ensure we can attract and retain talent of all levels. We acknowledge the ratio is not an ideal which is, in part, why our Development Leadership team recently launched our Product & Technology mentorship program. Based on each person’s professional development goals we’ve matched people with a fellow Venanite they can learn from to achieve these goals. We’re proud of the program, framework and mentors (which range from Sr. Developers through our VP of Technology). If there is anything additional that you’d like to share directly with us please don’t hesitate to reach out. -George Papayiannis, Chief Technology Officer

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent scale-up, but a lot of room for improvement

      Mar 31, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - CEO is very transparent - Good benefits - Depending on your manager, a good work/life balance - A lot of very smart people with really interesting ideas - Tries very hard to be an inclusive environment (shout out to the culture committee, #dei and #va11y)

      Cons

      - *There is no official anti-racism policy leading to some problematic behaviour* - Way too much micromanagement from Technology leadership - Consensus-based decisions often get steam-rolled by certain people within leadership - Very little accountability for leaders - Unclear direction from leadership - Very much a "feature-factory" - Very siloed teams - Promotions are pretty arbitrary

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your experience here at Vena. We agree with you that we’ve got a smart team that brings forward a ton of great ideas and we’re thankful for this. We’re also glad to hear your positive experience around transparency, our benefits, flexibility/balance and our focus on inclusivity. We know there is always room to improve and feedback from Venanites drives us to continuously do better: -- Policies - Our Business Code of Conduct and Workplace Harassment & Violence Policies outline our expectations around, and commitment to, a culture where people treat each other with professionalism, dignity and respect. Any conduct which is not in alignment, including racism, brought forward to us will be addressed. We are currently working to formalize our DEI policy, which will further build on our expectations to uphold our culture and reinforce avenues available to raise concerns. -- Leadership - While we hire and promote people into leadership whom we believe will be successful in their role, we do know that leading people isn’t always easy. Whether they are new or seasoned, leaders need to constantly learn, evolve and develop their leadership skills and we’re working on continuing to level up our leaders through additional training, coaching, mentoring, 360 reviews and more. -- Promotions - Through the use of our Technology career matrix, peer reviews, regular feedback during 1:1s, and formal career conversations that happen on a quarterly basis at minimum, leaders proactively work with their employees to build the skills and knowledge required to progress in their career. In addition, all promotions are announced at our Product & Technology Town Halls to celebrate the employee's achievements and provide transparency around the decision. We would appreciate hearing more from you on this topic so we can further improve our promotion process. -- Features & Direction - While some teams spend the majority of their time building new features, most teams spend it improving existing features or improving how we develop and operate software. The Architecture, Infrastructure, and Platform Engineering teams spend almost all of their time on the areas you identified (architecture, infrastructure, QA, CI/CD, etc), and the Scrum teams have been investing heavily in improving the stability, performance, and completeness of our current platform, and in building our next-generation platform. Again, we thank you for taking the time to provide your insight on what we’re doing well and where you feel we need further focus. We know there is always room to improve. Please reach out to me, your HR Business Partner or any leader that you’re comfortable if you’d be willing to share further.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Friendly, transparent, exciting place to work!

      Feb 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Though I’ve only been with Vena for a short time, so far every employee I’ve worked with or talked to has been open, friendly, transparent and overall refreshing to work with! Leaders have cool ideas - they don’t just talk the talk (they actually walk the walk), and they are open for chatting about improvements. There’s tons of learning/training happening at all times. You immediately feel like you are part of a family where everyone has your back, there’s no placing blame happening around here. Every employee feels responsible and accountable for growing Vena. Mental health awareness is important and so is DE&I, and those are important topics for me overall so I value that the company takes initiatives to show employees they are working on and constantly improving in these sensitive topics areas. I love that Vena celebrates milestones and company wins with every employee, you really feel that you’re a part of something awesome! Starting in a new company while working remotely can be tough and so far it’s felt more comfortable than I could have imagined. I really feel excited about making a positive impact!

      Cons

      I can’t really call this a “con” but Vena is scaling so quickly! If you’re into a high growth, fast paced company...you’ll love it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      It's great to read the thoughtful review you've shared on your experiene here at Vena. While the pace we're moving at isn't for everyone, I agree it definitely is an environment where you're going to have lots of opportunity to work on interesting & challenging projects, and work collaboratively with co-workers who also want to learn, and are passionate about delivering great work. Our Network4Women & Mental Health Vena Resource Groups (VRGs) recently held a week long lunch series of sessions that were really impactful on topics including Parenting, Personal Routine, Imposter Syndrom and Starting a New Job. I hope you had the opportunity to pop into some or all of these sessions. We'll continue to offer resources to support the health, wellness and development of Venanites around mental health & DEI. If you do have further advice feel free to pass it along. I'm so glad you're happy to be part of the Vena family! - Tracey

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Colleagues at a Fast Growing Company!

      Apr 24, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are amazing Flexible work from home options Very transparent leadership

      Cons

      Product issues are slow to be resolved

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We appreciate you taking time out of your day to share your review here on Glassdoor. I agree whole-heartedly with you that we get to work with really great people (Venanites are definitely a special bunch) and you'll continue to see open & transparent communication and information sharing from us as we scale. The Product & Technology teams continue to work to evolve and iterate their processes to drive efficiency and effectiveness. If there is any specific suggestions you have for them please connect with George or any other member of our P&T or executive leadership teams. Thanks again - Tracey, Chief People Person @ Vena

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      One of the best jobs I have ever had

      Apr 3, 2021 - Senior Project Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management, career growth, challenging and rewarding work, wonderful culture, transparency from C suite executives, learning, amazing benefits.

      Cons

      Company is growing astronomically, there’s more work than you can imagine, you will work very hard.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks for taking time out of your day to leave a Glassdoor review for us - we really do appreciate it! It is great to hear you're finding the work you're doing to be rewarding and you see opportunities for continued learning & growth here at Vena. As a high-growth scale-up we recognize that things are moving quickly - if there are any specific suggestions you have on how we can more effectively support you or your fellow Venanites please reach out to me directly or any other member of ELT. - Tracey

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      N/a

      May 6, 2021 - Marketing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast growing and exciting environment

      Cons

      Lack of leadership support from exec team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing and Learning

      Mar 9, 2021 - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced scale-up with a great culture of learning, accountability, and support. Every function aligns around building value for our customers and our people. Expect to be challenged to grow and to contribute.

      Cons

      We continue to move fast and sometimes stumble, so you need to be able to quickly learn from mistakes and be excited to be part of the change and growth that seems to come every month.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks so much for leaving a Glassdoor review for us. We'll definitely continue to make culture and customer top priorities as we continue on our growth journey here at Vena! If there are any additional suggestions you have for us please don't hesitate to pass them along. - Tracey

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Vena is a Great Company To Work For

      Jan 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vena has a great company culture and amazing people. The company is always looking for ways to continuously improve, and regularly asks for and then acts upon feedback provided by employees. Vena provides a lot of flexibility to its employees and has done a really great job during the pandemic to provide support around employee wellness. There is a lot of opportunity personal development and growth given how quickly the company is scaling. Additionally, there is a great deal of transparency on what is going well/not so well at any given time. Highly recommended as a great place to work.

      Cons

      Fast paced, high growth organization. If you're uncomfortable with change or moving quickly it may not be the right place for you.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 136 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vena Solutions Job Seekers

    Software Developer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Applications Support Analyst
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Vena Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    Vena Solutions logo
    or