Vena Solutions Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 of over 166 reviews

4.3
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Vena Solutions CEO Hunter Madeley
Hunter Madeley
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Vena truly is a great place to work(in 29 reviews)

  • "Rapid growth - lots of opportunity for your own growth(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "normal growing pains for such a fast growing company (eg(in 13 reviews)

  • "The office space, while beautiful, can be a bit noisy at times(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    682

    227 Comments

    Tech

    82.6K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Vena Solutions~823096
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic Place to build a career

      Nov 19, 2021 - Regional Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing Culture Talented People A lot of potential for growth

      Cons

      No Cons, very happy with the organization

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      fun work environment

      Nov 9, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      place to grow and learn

      Cons

      none that i can think of right now

      1 person found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us. Our Sales Enablement team and Sales Leaders work hard to provide great onboarding and development opportunities for our Sales Development Reps - we're really happy to hear that you feel Vena is supporting you in your growth & development. If you do have any constructive feedback for us now or in the future don't hesitate to share with your leader or any member of our People team, or share through one of our quarterly Vena Life Surveys. - Tracey, Cheif People Person

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people, product could be better

      Nov 9, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, pay, benefits. Work life balance is also great, leadership understands everyone has a personal life/commitments. Pre covid the company runs lots of fun events and mixers.

      Cons

      Product has been struggling, turnover in certain product related teams seems to be slowing growth. Would be nice to see some improvements in the solution to help Vena keep its place as a competitor in the space.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your Glassdoor review. It is great to hear your feedback about the GREAT people we get to work with here at Vena (I completely agree!!), work-life balance and a competitive total rewards offering. We've been working hard over the past 18 months to ensure social connections continue to happen our now distributed work setting whether that be at a company, team or individual level. Our Product & Technology teams, in collaboration with the rest of the business, are working to continue to evolve our Product vision, strategy and roadmap by driving scalability and innovation, and always looking for ways to improve our user experience. We continue to invest here to drive growth. If you have more specific feedback please reach out. Thanks - Tracey, Chief People Person

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome people, awesome culture

      Oct 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Even working from home you get to know your colleagues. Free food and perks.

      Cons

      Product moves slowly, typical growing pains

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks for sharing your feedback on your experience here at Vena. We've been working hard over the past 18 months to continue to look for ways to keep Venanites connected & collaborating - we're glad to hear that your experience has been positive. If you would like to connect to chat in more detail about product direction and/or your ideas around growth feel free to reach out to me directly or any member of our leadership team. Thanks - Tracey, CPP

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Review

      Oct 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      friendly team to work with

      Cons

      sometimes may get stressful when understaffed

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review for us here on Glassdoor and we're really glad that you enjoy working with your team here at Vena. We are scaling quickly and as you know doing A LOT of hiring - if there is anything specific we can do to support you through busy times please let us know. - Tracey, Chief People Person

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Likely the shortest stint of your professional (services) career

      Nov 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Generally, the people are nice -Compensation is good, but can also be seen as a con because consultants are overworked and work cuts into personal time

      Cons

      Where do I even begin? The professional services department is very poorly run. Onboarding: this is practically non-existent. New consultants are taken through the most basic product training and then given an outdated case study to complete. Once those 3 weeks have passed, you’re put on your “shadow” project. Unfortunately, this is a trick. You will eventually be given the project and told a more senior consultant will support you. This is also a trick—because you’ll likely be paired with someone who’s too busy and does not have the time for you and/or they do not have the appropriate skills to mentor you and nurture your growth. The cherry on top is that you’ll be working with assets that you have never seen before and can break pretty easily. The unfortunate part of this, is that consultants are set up to fail. And then this trickles down to affecting the client. The solution is too complex and being told to read Confluence articles or go to SA Office Hours for your 5 min of fame to learn, is not an appropriate path to set up consultants for success. I’d love to challenge management to step into the shoes of a consultant for a week, to truly see just how much pressure they’re under to deliver while completely faking their knowledge. Unrealistic Timelines/Projects: nearly every project is misscoped. You’ll be told that you’re working on a foundation project, which is supposed to be an out-of-the-box solution. Unfortunately, it’ll quickly turn into a custom project once you start working with the client, but you’ll still be pushed to meet the original timeline. Be prepared to just be handed project after project with Project Managers that just schedule all sorts of client meetings and expect you to have your deliverables completed yesterday. Billables/Utilization: the two keywords that are shoved down your throat, and you’ll come to hate. Because you’ll be spending the majority of your time fiddling and trying to figure out how to tailor the solution to your respective client, you either need to lie about your hours or work into your personal time to meet that 75% target. If you don’t meet that target, you’ll hear about it at every 1:1 meeting. The unfortunate part to all of this, is that it creates an environment where it’s not in a more seasoned consultant’s interest to help newer consultants because their utilization will take a hit. Toxic Management: brace yourself for a toxic relationship. Management will tell you that they want you to reach out to them with any issues. Unfortunately, when you take them up on that offer, you will be gaslit—everything will be spun around and you’ll be made to feel like the issue is your fault and you just need to figure it out. Turnover: PS likely has the highest turnover in the whole company. They will tout that many people have moved internally. This is partially true, but many people have actually left due to poor onboarding and being overworked. There are consultants who have been with the company for less than a year who are second and third in seniority, that says something. If you’re thinking this role is like management consulting, it’s not—it’s more geared towards implementation. You’ll be cleaning up convoluted templates and trying to fit a square peg in a round hole in order to meet client requirements. I would not wish Vena PS on my worst enemy because of all of the above, and for the fact that you’ll basically be made to feel completely incompetent while not having the tools to succeed at your disposal. P.S. there’s a review from June 2021, and it also includes a very accurate account of PS. It’s unfortunate that the response to that post is all fluff, which is an added glimpse as to why PS is so poorly run.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We recognize that effectively enabling our people is an important part of both supporting our customers and setting our people up to be successful in their role. We’re sorry that your experience has been less than positive and we are committed to addressing feedback and continuously evolving our PS enablement program. Over the past several months we have identified some key areas for further focus with regard to our onboarding program, and have worked diligently to revise and launch a number of improvements which took effect in Q3. These improvements include a revised case study as well as additional training modules on advanced topics that are delivered through e-Learning and Virtual Instructor Led Training (VILT). To ensure our team members are set up for success, we will continue to measure the effectiveness of our onboarding program on a regular basis, including closely monitoring and addressing feedback trends coming from our new 60-day PS Onboarding Survey. From an organizational perspective, several Senior Consultants have been promoted to Team Leads and these individuals will provide one-on-one mentoring and coaching to their team members. Each Team Lead will also complete a formal learning path focused on building their skills as a new people leader with courses on coaching, overcoming leadership biases, development, recognition, and performance conversations. As we plan for the future we will continue to explore how to best continually invest in our PS onboarding and enablement as we scale the business. If there is anything we can do to further support you in feeling more comfortable in your role I would encourage you to connect with your leader, your HRBP or any leader within the organization you feel comfortable with. I would be more than happy to connect directly. - Linda Neff, VP Professional Services

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Vena

      Sep 26, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, management, pay, upward mobility, tech stack, office and culture.

      Cons

      Nothing that i can think of!

      1 person found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks for taking time out of your day to share your review here on Glassdoor! If there is any feedback you do have for us down the road don't hesitate to connect with me directly. - Tracey

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Nice Place

      Sep 27, 2021 - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team structure is well formed.

      Cons

      growth opportunities are less here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks for sharing your feedback via Glassdoor - we truly appreciate it. I agree with you wholeheartedly that Vena is a really nice place to work! Providing ongoing opportunities for growth & development is important to us here at Vena and we strongly encourage open/transparent communication with your leader on your career/growth aspirations. Additionally, the Career Development section on our company viki offers a variety of tools/resources to support in these discussions. If there is additional feedback you'd like to share please feel free to reach out to me directly. - Tracey, Chief People Person

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Great Place to Be!

      Sep 1, 2021 - Talent Partner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great Culture -Growth Opportunities -Learning and Development Opportunities -Competitive salaries & Benefits

      Cons

      -Growing organization, so naturally growth pains associated with a scale up

      1 person found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We really appreciate you sharing your feedback on your experience here at Vena! If you'd like to pass along anything additional don't hesitate to reach out to me directly. - Tracey, Chief People Person

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Not a place to grow

      Sep 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People on the bottom were great as there was a spirit of culture and collaboration. Great open office space, but noisy.

      Cons

      Management were only looking out for themselves. Didn't care about the team. It was a constant revolving door of people coming and leaving.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Venanite development is an important part of our commitment to providing a great employee experience. We are growing quickly and with this growth comes opportunity for promotion, new roles or new growth within one’s current role. We encourage all Venanites to have open and transparent conversations with their leaders around career growth/interests and to utilize the Career Development tools we offer through the Viki. We’re also committed to continuous enablement for our leadership teams through things like our multi-module leadership training programs, leadership resources and ongoing coaching support. We are glad to hear you feel a spirit of culture and collaboration here at Vena as both are definitely an important part of the CORE values we live by. In terms of noise in-office, there are updates to our space in progress with additional sound masking measures in mind. We value the feedback we receive from all Venanites. If there is anything additional you’d like to share please reach out to me, your leader or your HR Business Partner. - Tracey, Chief People Person

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 157 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vena Solutions Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vena Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    or