Vena Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vena Solutions Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Don Mal
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Vena is a rare gem in the tech scene because it has the very special combination of ingredients for long term success(in 23 reviews)

  • "as far as jobs go, Vena is a great place to be(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical challenges of a young and fast growing company, but not very noticeable(in 8 reviews)

  • "Open office space is noisy sometimes making it difficult to work(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time

    Pros

    The culture is amazing. A great place to work as everyone is very close and operates as one team. Strong product in a fantastic market. An exciting high growth company!

    Cons

    Vena 's solution is best in class, yet it is not a widely recognized vendor in the space yet compared to other solutions. A stronger marketing presence is needed so that Vena becomes the CPM brand that every finance person recognizes and associates with.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to continue to invest in excellent people and to continue to build upon a great culture. To fully reach its potential, continued development into an already great product and into Marketing are key

    Vena Solutions2019-05-21

    Vena Solutions Response

    May 28, 2019Chief People Person

    Thanks so much for taking time out of your day to provide your feedback on Vena! Even with our growth we're still very focused on hiring amazing people (we couldn't do what we do without each one of you!) and building a a great culture. If you have anything additional to share ...

    Show More
  2. "Great place to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - amazing culture - great teams to work with - lots of resources in place - great training programs - collaborative work environment - work life balance ( rare in this day in age) !!! - don't know if this counts but there's literally always food

    Cons

    clearer career paths would help but other than that, love it here.

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing!

    Vena Solutions2019-05-15

    Vena Solutions Response

    June 7, 2019Chief People Person

    We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences & insights. George, Rishi & Don, our Founders, have done a great job of ensuring an amazing Vena culture from day 1 and we continue to make culture a focus. We know we're not perfect - there is always work ...

    Show More
  3. "BDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - BDM 

      I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Good Pay - Growing Company - Given Food three days a week - Good environment

      Cons

      - Hard position if given difficult territory

      Vena Solutions2019-05-16

      Vena Solutions Response

      May 28, 2019Chief People Person

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide your review. I'd agree there are lots of positives when it comes to working at Vena - great people, a positive culture & always lots of food!!! If you want to discuss territory feedback in any more detail don't hesitate to reach out ...

      Show More
    • "Great Company Culture!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - snacks are provided twice a day every week - provide a corporate GoodLife gym membership rate - convenient location - ability to have flexible hours

      Cons

      - the open concept working space can be extremely distracting

      Vena Solutions2019-03-18

      Vena Solutions Response

      June 7, 2019Chief People Person

      Thank you for sharing your feedback on Vena! We know the little things often go a long way in making for a positive employee experience and we're glad that you're enjoying some of the perks that come along with being a Venanite. - Tracey

    • Helpful (3)

      "Very special high growth tech company in Toronto"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Leader in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Vena is a rare gem in the tech scene because it has the very special combination of ingredients for long term success... 1. Fantastic people and strong culture 2. Raving customers with stories of measurable value 3. Strong Product 4. Gigantic market opportunity 5. Well funded by tier1 investors

      Cons

      With growth comes change and change is hard no matter how great the company is. There isn't always a perfect playbook to follow so sometimes you need to figure things out as you go. It's also just a lot of hard work because thats what it takes to build a great company.

      Advice to Management

      Keeping hiring a balance of people who have industry experience with people who have experience at companies going through our stage of growth.

      Vena Solutions2019-02-28

      Vena Solutions Response

      June 7, 2019Chief People Person

      We've had 8 years of amazing growth with no end in sight! We truly couldn't do what we do without our Vena team. Each Venanite brings different experiences, ideas and perspective that enables us to drive change and build our unique playbook along the way. Thanks so much for ...

      Show More
    • "BDR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Incredible work/life balance -Company culture is second to none -Opportunity for professional and personal growth - Extremely limited micro-management

      Cons

      - Honestly difficult to think of any

      Advice to Management

      -Keep doing what you're doing

      Vena Solutions2019-01-16

      Vena Solutions Response

      June 7, 2019Chief People Person

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're glad your Vena experience has been positive - that is important to us! Feel free to pass along any ideas you do have to any one of us on the leadership team. -Tracey

    • "Great company and people. The future is bright!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time

      Pros

      Vena is full of incredibly smart committed people. The company continues to grow rapidly and is putting in place people, systems and processes to scale. You can see it happening in every department. The leadership teams across the business are getting stronger at every level.

      Cons

      Normal growing pains for fast growing company. The speed and breadth of change can be hard to absorb and managing alignment within and across teams is a constant challenge with the rapid pace of growth.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what your doing. Focus on clear goals, listen to employee feedback and our customers, maintain open transparent communication about the great things and the challenges we still must overcome as we grow and scale.

      Vena Solutions2019-01-10
    • Helpful (3)

      "Open and Free Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Vena is a fast-growing company with an amazing product. People are nice, the executive leadership team is open and honest, and the in-office decorum is professional, but still casual enough to be enjoyable.

      Cons

      There has been a lack of stability/direction of role expectations since the beginning. Also, the career path and upward progression paths seem to be based on favouritism rather than performance. In some cases, no career path really exists and everything is done ad hoc in that regard. Lastly, the completely open office concept is incredibly stressful. The noise levels, and visual distractions are at an intolerable level...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Would be great to have clear career paths that are measurable based on performance and certain milestones/objectives that employees can strive towards. The open office concept should be re-examined and serious thought put into dividers, both for sound and visual distractions, with the aim of preserving the mental health/well-being of the employees.

      Vena Solutions2019-01-11
    • "Interesting work! Great People!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I've learned so much in my time with Vena. There is a lot of opportunity to take on new projects and learn from others on my team. I feel like management cares about me and supports my desire to continue to growth with Vena. I would strongly recommend Vena to others that are looking for a strong work environment and great co-workers.

      Cons

      There really isn't much in terms of areas for improvement. Keep doing what you're doing.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to provide opportunities for growth and learning. I really like that the leadership is so available to me.

      Vena Solutions2018-12-20
    • "Great company culture, lots of upside potential"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Toronto, ON
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      What I enjoy about working at Vena: - Great people. Everyone collaborates, everyone is motivated to succeed at an individual, team and company level - Great product. I've heard first-hand stories from our clients about how much their lives have been improved through using Vena. One client told us she used to work nights and weekends for two weeks every quarter to close off the books for the preceding quarter, and with...

      Show More

      Cons

      With rapid growth there are always challenges around keeping teams balanced and having the right leader/employee ratios. Right now there aren't enough managers/team leads for the dev team, but the company is doing everything it can to address that.

      Advice to Management

      Keep focusing on our customers and keep the communication coming to employees.

      Vena Solutions2018-12-20
    Found 77 reviews