Vena Solutions Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Vena Solutions CEO Hunter Madeley
Hunter Madeley
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "It shows Vena is dedicated to mature growth while maintaining a people-first culture(in 25 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is some of the best I've experienced over the past few years(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical challenges of a young and fast growing company, but not very noticeable(in 12 reviews)

  • "The office space, while beautiful, can be a bit noisy at times(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Great culture, great people, fun environment, challenging tech"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Dev Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are very friendly, collaborative and motivated. Not just within each development team, but across all the teams, and across different parts of the business. The company is good at figuring out what it could do better, and putting in place the right processes, and where needed, hiring the right people, to drive change. The product is very powerful and hearing how customers have benefited from it or things they like about it is always motivating. Lots of great perks (education opportunities, employee recognition events, amazing holiday party every December, great snacks).

    Cons

    The office space, while beautiful, can be a bit noisy at times. Noise dampening should be a priority - acoustic panels, more carpets. Meeting space is hard to come by, but the company is addressing that with some future office space expansions.

    Continue reading
    Vena Solutions2019-11-12

    Vena Solutions Response

    November 21, 2019Chief People Person

    We appreciate your feedback especially your advice to Management on keeping our focus on culture. As I'm sure you have noticed our new CEO, Hunter, truly believes in the importance of culture in building a great company. Additionally, your suggestions around noise and meeting rooms are noted - we continue to work on making the office space more effective and efficient for Venanites. Keep your suggestions coming! - Tracey

  2. "Canada's next great tech company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vena, in my experience so far there, is the best company I've worked for and I believe is on it's way to becoming Canada's best technology company. The culture and people are amazing, and the leadership team are all-stars! The original founders and all C-levels are totally accessible and a pleasure to conversate with. Love seeing the growth and working to help achieve an amazing vision.

    Cons

    Used to be lack of meeting rooms - but office expansion this is less of an issue.

    Continue reading
    Vena Solutions2020-02-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job and love the company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - So much free food - Some travel - ELT is super engaged - Pay is good!

    Cons

    - Workspace is open concept and can be loud

    Vena Solutions2020-02-07
  4. "Amazing company and very bright future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions

    Pros

    - Super fast growth company - Incredible opportunities to learn and develop - Smart, supportive and committed people - Strong Exec leadership team - Great organizational culture. Company values of one team, customer trust, respect and authenticity and excellence are core to the culture. - Huge opportunity in the market for our product - Well funded by top tier VCs - Strong experienced leadership at the top of the office.

    Cons

    If you don't like change, working really hard and all the challenges that comes with rapid growth this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Vena Solutions2020-02-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Best in-class product - Management genuinely cares about you - Endless free & healthy food (enough to off-set my grocery bill substantially) - Ample time off and flexibility - Educational budget for employees

    Cons

    - Lots of changes as company grows - Can be challenging to get promotions - If you get a bad patch, your job will be more challenging - Honestly not much, this is the best workplace I've ever been a part of

    Continue reading
    Vena Solutions2020-01-30
  6. "Scale Up Growth with a people and culture first approach"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Even with rapid growth, leadership at all levels is keeping culture and people top. of mind Recent additions to C-Suite have been great and welcomed! It shows Vena is dedicated to mature growth while maintaining a people-first culture Recognition of what we do and don't do well and a dedication to making things better. Strong product, solving a real-world problem that clients need and want. Rapid growth - lots of opportunity for your own growth

    Cons

    Siloed groups and in an effort to make improvements people end up working against each other ....there have been recent key hires to improve this. The culture and employee experience can vary greatly by department. Development is a REALLY great department to be in. Office space is beautiful but not particularly functional but again Vena has hired to resolve this so I think it will change over time. Health benefits are quite low, comp is average, no RRSP matching, ESOP is irregularly issued so not everyone has it or much. It would be great if Vena made investments in these areas to appeal to a more experienced and mature workforce (free food, swag and ping pong tables are great for those new to the workforce but not perks I particularly care about at this point in my career)

    Continue reading
    Vena Solutions2020-01-28
  7. "Great place to work, and feel appreciated!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Excellent people -Down to Earth, capable leadership team -Product is very competitive in the FP&A space -Company vision/direction is motivating and keeps things exciting -Great compensation -Work life balance is some of the best I've experienced over the past few years -Have the tools/software to succeed -In hyper growth mode (this could be a pro or a con depending on how you feel about change)

    Cons

    -Company is growing very quickly, in the TO location we have a couple of different office locations to accommodate the growth (so you don't always get to interact with members of all the different teams if you are split between offices) -In hyper growth mode (this could be a pro or a con depending on how you feel about change) -Benefit plan coverage maximums/coverage amounts could be a little better -Would be nice if we could have more RRSP incentive benefits

    Continue reading
    Vena Solutions2020-01-21
  8. "Vibrant environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Operating Officer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great energy, people are very welcoming, warm, and supportive, very nice facility, free food on the regular, and the business is on a growth curve.

    Cons

    Some change at the C-level over the past 6 months rippling through the org, but it all appears to be positive.

    Continue reading
    Vena Solutions2020-01-19
  9. "Fast paced, fast growth!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a fast growing company there is a lot of opportunity to learn, grow and be challenged every day that you come in. Team is very collaborative and open to feedback and advice at all levels. Executive leadership team is approachable and genuinely cares about the team at Vena.

    Cons

    With the pros of growing so quickly come some challenges to build out new processes as we continue to grow.

    Continue reading
    Vena Solutions2019-12-07

    Vena Solutions Response

    December 9, 2019Chief People Person

    It is great to hear your feedback! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on what you enjoy about working at Vena and the areas we need to think about as we continue to scale. We communicated results from our Vena Life Survey at our recent December Town Hall and are looking forward to delivering on action items coming from this. We'll continue to survey but feel free to reach out to any member of the ELT your feedback at any time. - Tracey

  10. "Great place"

    4.0
    Current Employee - BDR 

    I have been working at Vena Solutions full-time

    Pros

    culture, career opportunity, ad fun place to work.

    Cons

    constantly changing so you need to be adaptable to change.

    Vena Solutions2019-12-15
Found 89 reviews