Vena Solutions Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 145 of over 153 reviews

4.5
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Vena Solutions CEO Hunter Madeley
Hunter Madeley
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Vena truly is a great place to work(in 29 reviews)

  • "Rapid growth - lots of opportunity for your own growth(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "normal growing pains for such a fast growing company (eg(in 13 reviews)

  • "The office space, while beautiful, can be a bit noisy at times(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      High growth VC funded

      Jul 20, 2021 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - well funded high growth company - tons of transparency on how things are going through town-halls - feels like the projects are big and important

      Cons

      - feels like the team is constantly hiring - scrum teams have changed a few times

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We really appreciate you taking time out of your day to provide your feedback to us. We're on a really exciting journey here at Vena and I'm glad to hear that you're feeling good about being part of it! As we focus on our growth plans, we're going to continue to be looking for amazing talent across all parts of the organizations and we encourage all Venanites to take advantage of our paid Employee Referral Program to refer great people they know. Feel free to pass along any referrals or suggestions you have to our People Team. - Tracey, Chief People Person

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company with a bright future

      Jul 6, 2021 - Professional Services in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great talent driven by top recruiting/hiring practices in PS. Solid management and execs in PS and across the rest of the company. Everyone is 100% committed. Overall, a very collaborative, team-oriented culture. Everyone supports everyone generally. Growing industry segment with plenty of market share left to conquer. Company growth will continue at a strong pace. Fantastic employee programs that are constantly improving. Summer Friday hours, ESOP for everyone, volunteer days, company-wide diversity & inclusion initiatives, swag boxes sent to your home in Covid, monthly stipend during Covid....the list goes on.

      Cons

      People often say constant change is a con but TBH, this is a pro for those who want to learn new things fast (this keeps the job super interesting), be challenged in their day to day work and feel good about overcoming tough challenges with the support of their teammates.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We appreciate you highlighting the many pieces of our business, company culture, and programs that you appreciate - from the talented co-workers you get to work with day-in and day-out, to the strong market opportunity for our business, to the benefits/perks we continue to evolve and tweak for our people. I agree with you that learning & development opportunies are high when you work in a high-growth environment like ours! It definitely keeps things interesting & exciting. Thanks so much for sharing! - Tracey, Chief People Person

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best culture

      Jul 20, 2021 - Director in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -great exec who listens to their ppl via CultureAmp surveys -fun middle management team; very smart, very professional, but keep it light -tons of opportunity for career growth with the high growth plans -sufficient budget to get things done that are needed -really strong HR support to build your team -product has tons of potential to outperform competition

      Cons

      -sometimes slower to make decisions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks for sharing your insights on your experience here at Vena. We truly value the feedback we receive through our quarterly Vena Life Surveys and we work hard to ensure action gets taken to drive continuous improvement. Everything from new learning programs, to changes in our educational reimbursement program, to enhanced benefits, to updates in how we communicate, to how we're thinking about our "workplace of the future" have been made as a direct result of feedback we've gotten from Venanites. Feel free to share any additional ideas you have to your leader directly, to anyone on the People Team or through our upcoming survey. - Tracey, Chief People Person

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good work-life balance, lots of problems with cohesion

      Apr 7, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good work-life balance for developers - Lots of really nice people - Put a lot of thought into minimizing burnout for developers - A good place if you are just happy with status quo - Company is growing fast

      Cons

      - Big problem with lack of developer empowerment and team autonomy. Leads to frustrated and unhappy team members. - Leaders are out of touch and disconnected from teams, and then proceed to micromanage. - Lack of product and technology road map - Tech stack and architecture is not great - Lack of support for remote work, if you want to work abroad temporarily they make it extremely difficult (only allow from a few provinces and states) - Lack of appetite for innovation and change. I think this is due to the company mostly focusing on medium-sized businesses so there is no need to change what works even though it can be improved a lot. - Most of the focus is on developing features on a very shaky foundation, rather than building a scalable system. - Lack of senior engineering talent to look up to and learn from.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide your valuable insights and feedback. As you know, continuous improvement is important to us here at Vena. Some things we’re currently focused on or are on our roadmap to address relating to your feedback include: - Autonomy/Empowerment: Developers and all team members are encouraged to share ideas, raise concerns and ask questions at every stage of our development lifecycle whether that be during a Sprint Planning meeting, in a Slack discussion, feedback on code reviews or an innovation pitch. We hire smart people, with diverse perspectives and believe it’s how to develop the best product. While our overall goals and mission are driven at a company level, HOW we build, develop and test is up to our developers. We’re sad to hear that this does not align with your experience, but we are committed to improving this for you and anyone else who may feel this way. We encourage you to speak to your leader or our senior leadership team if you’re open to having a dialogue on this topic. - Innovation/Change: Most of our teams are investing heavily in modernizing our current tech stacks, improving the stability, performance, and completeness of our current platform, and building our next-generation platform. In part, to more efficiently address modernization and scalability we’ve recently re-organized team portfolios and platform areas to allow teams to focus on specific areas of the platform which we believe will allow for increased expertise, development empowerment and innovation. While this does reduce our appetite for experimenting with entirely new tech stacks (for example), we are very focused on experimenting and developing expertise within our current tech stacks. - Technology Roadmap: While we’ve been focusing on the shorter-term investments mentioned above, we haven’t done a good job communicating the longer-term product and technology direction to the team. This is an area we’re actively working on improving. Senior Engineering Talent: Our Development team is growing quickly and we are actively hiring Senior Developers, Technical Leads and Architects. We are constantly reviewing and reiterating our hiring process and culture to ensure we can attract and retain talent of all levels. We acknowledge the ratio is not an ideal which is, in part, why our Development Leadership team recently launched our Product & Technology mentorship program. Based on each person’s professional development goals we’ve matched people with a fellow Venanite they can learn from to achieve these goals. We’re proud of the program, framework and mentors (which range from Sr. Developers through our VP of Technology). If there is anything additional that you’d like to share directly with us please don’t hesitate to reach out. -George Papayiannis, Chief Technology Officer

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      This is a GREAT place to work with some issues

      Jun 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - people and leaders are really amazing - the company tries its best to be a culture first company - culture is very inclusive - very understanding managers - work life balance is great

      Cons

      - product has many issues relating to scalability (too customizable and needs consistent maintenance) - company is growing mostly through sales and marketing. This isn't sustainable business model for SaaS companies. (i.e. even if you have 70% GM, sales and marketing is eating into any operating income) - leadership values togetherness over being the best or having the best product - it can be very political and about who likes who to progress upward - Leadership has track record of over promising and under delivering in terms of product roadmap and overall execution - with new investment, even more pressure to just sell however our customer satisfaction is taking a hit since we are overpromising and under delivering

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks for taking time to share your Vena feedback. We appreciate your insights and it is great to hear your positive sentiment around our culture, people and work-life balance. As you may know, over the past year we’ve really started to lean into and build out our Product Led Growth vision, strategy and roadmap. Our growth journey will have us continue to focus on driving scalability and making the user experience world-class. We recognize we’re not perfect and we’re excited about the progress to a better place. Building customer trust (one of our CORE values) by helping our customers grow and succeed is of utmost importance to us. We continue to have customer satisfaction scores in the 90s and receive external industry accolades for our focus on our customer. We're constantly focused on elevating customer experience and we couldn’t do this without the support, dedication and passion of all of our teams here at Vena. I’m happy to connect, as are any other members of the ELT, at any time if you’d like to provide any further insights or advice. Tracey, Chief People Person

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company culture

      Jul 13, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      company culture, good pay, realistic quota expectations

      Cons

      Work politics around getting promotions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! Providing a great Vena experience for our people is important to us so we're glad you're feeling positive. If there is any specific feedback you would like to provide please feel free to connect with your People Business Partner or me directly. - Tracey

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company that Could be a Great One

      Jun 26, 2021 - RSM in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Commission once you overachieve is very good - Don't see much politics can focus on closing all geared to you being successful in core role - Sales Leadership happy to step in and help on deals, will help you in anyway they can - sales very much at the core of Vena - Brought in new system to divide leads equally so success is not based on patch - Have Improved Benefit package since I've been here the past 3 years - Work with some very lovely people who would be happy to help you, no ego's everyone is so pleasant and happy to help, have made some great friends and that makes work better every day. Don't have Sunday Scaries! - Can't emphasize really pro sales culture you do well here you get treated great.

      Cons

      - They have improved the benefits but it's still not up to par with tech companies in terms of health insurance (allowance for massage), poor parental leave compared to tech companies with a deduction in your salary and you've to give it back if you leave - Product has not changed in a long time, competitors are catching up regarding the excel interface, Product team is underfunded or out of ideas - Sales support staff such as Solutions Engineers and consultants are understaffed, can take weeks to get a demo or scoping call in diary no fault of them just a serious staff shortage which affect deals - Deal Cycle's can be over a year, very rare a quick win, - Base salary is 40% of overall comp which in the first year is tough as deals can take a while to materialize, longer your there easier it gets. - Leadership at C Level not very sure of what's next for Vena i.e IPO vs Acquisition, has no clear vision, came from companies like Hubspot and Apple so they have already made their money. Don't see any Drive. - If you're looking for a startup with IPO potential and shares this would be one to stay away. - Company specializes in MM and SMB for seasoned sales people who work or want to enterprise there is no career growth or worse be a rep there and someone in SMB will make more money than you do.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Glassdoor. It is nice to hear your views on the many pros of working at Vena - our positive and supportive Sales culture, minimal politics/low egos, continued enhancements to our benefits and the great folks you get to work with day-in and day-out. As you know continuous improvement is part of our DNA here at Vena and I’ve shared your feedback with our ELT. We did want to provide some additional clarity on a few of your thoughts: - We regularly review our total rewards offering (compensation, benefits, perks, development opportunities, wellness, recognition offering) here at Vena to make sure our offering is competitive to the industry/markets in which we operate. As part of our total rewards package we do offer a competitive Parental Leave Top Up program and professional services benefits offering. Additionally, we’ve made a number of recent enhancements to paid time off, retirement savings, and employee equity offerings, as well as having recently launched our FY22 Summer Fridays program - and we’ll continue to look for ways to provide a well-rounded plan to Venanites. - Our average deal cycle here at Vena is less than 3 months. There are times where deals may take longer to close but on the flip side we have customers that make their decision to purchase Vena very quickly. We continue to look for ways to streamline our process - making it effective and efficient is valuable for both our Sales team and our prospects/customers. - Our Product & Technology teams, in collaboration with the rest of the business, continue to evolve our Product vision, strategy and roadmap. We’re really focused on driving scalability, innovation and making the user experience world-class and we continue to invest here to drive growth. - Finally, our goal as an executive team is to focus on building a GREAT company - one that provides an outstanding experience to our customers and our employees, while continuing to evolve and innovate from a product perspective. Through this focus and drive we believe the right exit strategy, at the right time, will happen. If there is anything additional that you’d like to share directly with us please don’t hesitate to reach out. - Tracey, Chief People Person

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Friendly, transparent, exciting place to work!

      Feb 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Though I’ve only been with Vena for a short time, so far every employee I’ve worked with or talked to has been open, friendly, transparent and overall refreshing to work with! Leaders have cool ideas - they don’t just talk the talk (they actually walk the walk), and they are open for chatting about improvements. There’s tons of learning/training happening at all times. You immediately feel like you are part of a family where everyone has your back, there’s no placing blame happening around here. Every employee feels responsible and accountable for growing Vena. Mental health awareness is important and so is DE&I, and those are important topics for me overall so I value that the company takes initiatives to show employees they are working on and constantly improving in these sensitive topics areas. I love that Vena celebrates milestones and company wins with every employee, you really feel that you’re a part of something awesome! Starting in a new company while working remotely can be tough and so far it’s felt more comfortable than I could have imagined. I really feel excited about making a positive impact!

      Cons

      I can’t really call this a “con” but Vena is scaling so quickly! If you’re into a high growth, fast paced company...you’ll love it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      It's great to read the thoughtful review you've shared on your experiene here at Vena. While the pace we're moving at isn't for everyone, I agree it definitely is an environment where you're going to have lots of opportunity to work on interesting & challenging projects, and work collaboratively with co-workers who also want to learn, and are passionate about delivering great work. Our Network4Women & Mental Health Vena Resource Groups (VRGs) recently held a week long lunch series of sessions that were really impactful on topics including Parenting, Personal Routine, Imposter Syndrom and Starting a New Job. I hope you had the opportunity to pop into some or all of these sessions. We'll continue to offer resources to support the health, wellness and development of Venanites around mental health & DEI. If you do have further advice feel free to pass it along. I'm so glad you're happy to be part of the Vena family! - Tracey

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Professional Services needs a serious overhaul

      Jun 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Focus on diversity Leadership willing to listen Good team spirit Generally nice people They go out of their way to recruit people that are very nice, helpful, and friendly The overall company is great, just Professional Services needs a full overhaul (see below)

      Cons

      Professional Services has major issues. There is a review below from 2018 about how you are seen as a bucket of billable hours, and that hasn't really changed. Upper management focus on billable hours and time to value **will** burn you out. They are more interested in closing the project at all costs than ensuring it was closed properly so the client won't churn out next year. The product is frustrating to work with. Developer focus on Vena 365 leave PS on the wire building workaround after workaround on features that should be native to the product. It is just not very scalable and easy to work with. This will seriously hamper growing on the product alone. Inadequate internal training. Expect to be spending your personal time learning on your own about pretty much everything.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have experienced a positive team spirit here at Vena. Diversity, equity, and inclusion are ingrained in our culture, and we agree that our company is made up of incredibly approachable leaders who are willing to listen. Our Professional Services team at Vena is a talented group of experts that continuously looks for ways to deliver value for our customers with a focus on quality. While billable hours are important for Services teams across our industry, this is not our most important metric. Having happy customers that trust us and the value they are getting from Vena is a key focus. In order to excel at this through the level of growth we’re experiencing, a major priority for us currently is to work cross-functionally with our Talent and Enablement teams to invest in hiring, and develop our tailored onboarding and training programs to ensure the team is equipped with the right resources and knowledge to set themselves and our customers up for long term success. Supporting the wellbeing and development of our team, while doing really great work in a scalable way is the best path to keeping our customers happy and our business thriving. We appreciate your feedback and we will continue to look for ways to improve. - Linda Neff - VP, Professional Services

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent scale-up, but a lot of room for improvement

      Mar 31, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - CEO is very transparent - Good benefits - Depending on your manager, a good work/life balance - A lot of very smart people with really interesting ideas - Tries very hard to be an inclusive environment (shout out to the culture committee, #dei and #va11y)

      Cons

      - *There is no official anti-racism policy leading to some problematic behaviour* - Way too much micromanagement from Technology leadership - Consensus-based decisions often get steam-rolled by certain people within leadership - Very little accountability for leaders - Unclear direction from leadership - Very much a "feature-factory" - Very siloed teams - Promotions are pretty arbitrary

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Vena Solutions Response

      Chief People Person

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your experience here at Vena. We agree with you that we’ve got a smart team that brings forward a ton of great ideas and we’re thankful for this. We’re also glad to hear your positive experience around transparency, our benefits, flexibility/balance and our focus on inclusivity. We know there is always room to improve and feedback from Venanites drives us to continuously do better: -- Policies - Our Business Code of Conduct and Workplace Harassment & Violence Policies outline our expectations around, and commitment to, a culture where people treat each other with professionalism, dignity and respect. Any conduct which is not in alignment, including racism, brought forward to us will be addressed. We are currently working to formalize our DEI policy, which will further build on our expectations to uphold our culture and reinforce avenues available to raise concerns. -- Leadership - While we hire and promote people into leadership whom we believe will be successful in their role, we do know that leading people isn’t always easy. Whether they are new or seasoned, leaders need to constantly learn, evolve and develop their leadership skills and we’re working on continuing to level up our leaders through additional training, coaching, mentoring, 360 reviews and more. -- Promotions - Through the use of our Technology career matrix, peer reviews, regular feedback during 1:1s, and formal career conversations that happen on a quarterly basis at minimum, leaders proactively work with their employees to build the skills and knowledge required to progress in their career. In addition, all promotions are announced at our Product & Technology Town Halls to celebrate the employee's achievements and provide transparency around the decision. We would appreciate hearing more from you on this topic so we can further improve our promotion process. -- Features & Direction - While some teams spend the majority of their time building new features, most teams spend it improving existing features or improving how we develop and operate software. The Architecture, Infrastructure, and Platform Engineering teams spend almost all of their time on the areas you identified (architecture, infrastructure, QA, CI/CD, etc), and the Scrum teams have been investing heavily in improving the stability, performance, and completeness of our current platform, and in building our next-generation platform. Again, we thank you for taking the time to provide your insight on what we’re doing well and where you feel we need further focus. We know there is always room to improve. Please reach out to me, your HR Business Partner or any leader that you’re comfortable if you’d be willing to share further.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 145 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vena Solutions Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vena Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    Vena Solutions logo
    or