Vantage Deluxe World Travel Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vantage Deluxe World Travel Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 172 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Vantage Deluxe World Travel CEO Henry Lewis (no image)
Henry Lewis
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Conveniently located outside North Station, giving you the ability to work here if you are near any train system(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great location - gym on site great benefits good training(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Tough work environment can get stressful at times(in 10 reviews)

  • "High turnover and everyone is scared everyday of being fired(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Walk away ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time

    Pros

    Near the train station. That's it.

    Cons

    The worst, most toxic environment I have ever worked in. You're better off unemployed. The owner is about the worst boss imaginable, who changes his mind on a constant basis and then will blame you for doing it wrong (aka the way he wanted it the first time). People get fired without cause at a moment's notice, most employees last well under a year - there's a reason they don't put permanent name badges on the... office doors!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not much can be done given most of the problems stem from the very top. Get rid of the owner in a day-to-day capacity and put someone in charge who knows what they're doing.

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2018-08-29
  2. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stress free, great location, casual environment!

    Cons

    Communication throughout the company could be a little better.

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-09-04
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Don't Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice coworkers, fun products, decent benefits

    Cons

    Company is stuck in old ways of doing things like they did 35 years ago when it comes to reviewing staff (oh, no reviews at all) and developing them

    Advice to Management

    Just because it works for 35 years, doesn't mean doing it a different way won't be better.

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-07-21

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

    July 22, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you! Here at Vantage we try to stay current and make improvements if we fall short. One of our prime initiatives is increasing our efforts to grow and develop current employees. We appreciate your feedback.

  4. Helpful (20)

    "The Truth Hurts... Here It Is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tickets to sporting events for the selected few employees on the owner's list of people he can leverage by giving free stuff, the occasional office lunch (but always from the same few places so this gets old real fast) and if you're truly one of the chosen you get to go on free trips with the other chosen few.

    Cons

    Would you like to know the brutally honest truth about working at Vantage Deluxe World Travel? Despite very few, clearly company-driven reviews attempting to mislead you (or shall we say, written by a few hand-selected people that are so detached from reality it is ridiculous) here is a story that will paint a picture of what life at this company truly looks and feels like. Imagine you worked a long, successful... career in retail fruit sales, then accept an exciting highly paid job working at a retail fruit store. Day one, the owner storms in (with his pets) and tells you everything is wrong, and while yelling at everyone else he looks at you and tells you that he is going to 'teach' you how to do the business 'the right way'. He then directs you and the team to ONLY sell RED apples. Never anything else... because in his words, 'only idiots would sell anything else'. The owner proceeds to then sit everyone down for no less than four long painful hours explaining why red is the magical color, after all, he’s been ‘doing this for decades and no one knows the business better than him’. At the end of this four hour lecture, the owner gets quite angry and yells 'Why aren't you done restocking the entire store with red apples yet!??!? What is taking you soooo long?!???' This is no exaggeration. One of his pets blurts out 'Yep I sure told them they should use the red apples, it's totally their fault. I emailed three other people, not these folks sitting here right now, but other people, and they should have gone and asked those other three people which color apples they should be selling so it's clearly their fault.' You dutifully follow the direction as the owner leaves while his pets stay behind making lots of noise and messes that you have to work for hours to clean up, then you get to work restocking with the magical red apples. Day two, the owner returns (again with his pets) and sees a store stocked with nothing but shiny red apples... precisely as he directed. He looks shocked!! 'What are you doing?!? Are you some kind of moron? After I left you walked around and bumped into someone else in the hallway and listened to them!?? These should all be GREEN apples!!! You're hiring the wrong people!! Where is your competitive data??? Look across the street at Elite Fruits... they only have green apples! Even though Elite Fruits is a true luxury fruit cafe that is 10 times bigger than our bargain basement model, we should compare ourselves to them and do exactly what they do!' Then, the owner says to you 'So now that I have taught you how to do this, again, and you only have to restock the entire store with just green apples, I am making this easy for you right? I am helping you, see!!!?? Did I say it right?!?!?' Then the owner has you pick up every green apple and inspect every single one... meticulously. Nine painful hours later the owner leaves, his pets break things all over the store, bark loudly telling you everything was your dumb fault and they too leave rushing out the door to catch up with the owner in a panicked rush. Day three, you find out that immediately after the pets left the store, they spent the rest of the night telling your team they talked to the owner and all the green apples should be replaced with YELLOW apples, and there should be some BANANAS too... your team asked if they could update you and the pet told them to keep you out of it. As you walk into the store early that morning, you find bananas on the shelves with the pets supervising the team. When you ask why the change yet again, the pets bark at you 'Well everyone knows if we give away the yellow apples every customer will buy bananas. Unless you didn't learn anything in school and can't tell the difference between an apple and a banana!' The owner pops in and confirms he told the pets to change everything to yellow apples and bananas, behind your back. You point out that you followed the owner's directions from the day prior to the letter, that apples have a higher margin than bananas which you actually barely break even on, so even if you actually sell the bananas you still lose money by giving away the apples. The pets howl and scream at you and make messes all over the store again... and leave you to clean up the mess... again. You stare bewildered. Day four... the owner shows up and witnesses the disaster. He screams 'I NEVER told you to sell yellow apples or bananas, I have never done that and I don't know WHO you are bumping into!! Time time time... let’s take a time here. I know you're a young lady.... I mean I know I am the smartest person in the room, and I don't mean to offend anyone... except all morons that do nothing but eat sandwiches all day... Slow slow slow down you're confusing me. Don't you EVER listen to my pets... you ONLY LISTEN TO ME. My pets are idiots and if you listen to them you will put me out of business!!! They have cost me MILLIONS!! Don't you EVER listen to my pets!!!' You stare bewildered. At this point the store is actually on fire, and the owner tells you 'hey I just spent $70 million on two new stores and we are gonna stock them with really awful fruit... then we are gonna give it all away for free! Plus, we are going to give away those fruit bags we used to charge $0.20 a piece. Now I know that's our biggest money maker because the bags cost us literally $0.01 a piece, but I know better than anyone else how to do this because I have been doing this for 40 years!' You stare bewildered again... Then, the next day the pets tell you the plan to start advertising for the new stores. The pets claims new direction from the owner is to raise the prices for apples from $0.35 each, to $0.95 each... but now advertise when people buy an apple they will also get a 'free' banana. So you check with the owner, remembering what he said about his pets, and the owner screams at you over the phone for 3 hours jamming you through the new approach... which really only should've taken 3 minutes but the owner tells you he is again doing you a favor and 'teaching you' while he screams and insults you repeatedly. Again you dutifully follow that direction, which requires you to stay very late and fix everything one more time to support the new direction... every time someone comes in to buy an apple the pets jump in and tell the customer 'well, we know the new price is $0.95 BUT we're gonna go ahead and sell it to you for $0.25 because we really don't like telling customers they have to pay the new price and after all we know this customer saw the old price and we should just sell it to them at the old price WITH AN INVALID COUPON and blame you for raising the price anyway.' You stare bewildered. Again. Despite telling you and everyone else that his pets are complete idiots and blaming them for the drop in sales, you quickly learn the owner has been meeting with his pets and together they have completely changed the entire business plan.... once again. The pets proudly runs around pulling the entire company into the barn where they can be the center of attention, and proudly blab on for hours telling everyone the newest approach. You shake your head quietly because the newest plan makes absolutely zero sense and is in fact even worse for the business. When you attempt to discuss this newest change with the pets you are told to ‘shut up and just do it.’ You also wonder if this is really happening and based on everything the owner has rammed into your head you seriously question what the correct move is... After this pets end the meeting, the owner calls you and keeps you on the phone for 2 hours screaming at you because you haven't already rolled out the newest plan (the one you found out about literally 2 hours ago). Never mind the store has caught fire again, the pets are actually pouring gas on the fire, and there are now no bananas because the harvesters lost the shipment while negotiating prices with the farms. The owner screams at you for hiring the wrong people and tells you to go hire someone that knows how to genetically engineer better apples. You blink bewildered and bang your head on your desk. You find out there has been a new website in development for, well, years... but every time the team starts to make progress, the owner jumps in and pulls the team back into another room and has them make a bunch of unnecessary changes to the current website. Which means the new website timeline gets pushed back, and immediately after the meeting the owner runs around and screams at everyone demanding to know when the new website will be done. You notice the newest apple supply is bruised, and mention to the owner that you are concerned about sales. The owner screams at you 'well you should have known the pets were buying bad apples and it’s now YOUR fault because you should have fixed it.' You remind the owner that while the pets were buying the apples from the local farm, you were literally putting the fire out, changing the advertising materials to market the 'free' banana with higher priced apples and cleaning the store... to which the owner (and the pets because they walked in) screams at you calling you incompetent, blames you for costing the store 3 million dollars in revenue and if you would have listened to him and hired someone that knows how to make apple juice and apple jelly all your problems would be solved. You stare bewildered and begin to wonder if this is a bad dream or reality. You email the marketing team and you ask 'Hey marketing team can we schedule a meeting to discuss the new crop and how best to start advertising them?' The pets send an email in response: 'We need to sell more fruit, and if you actually knew how to market and sell fruit we could fix our cash flow problems and save the day. I really wonder if any of you know how to read, or if you even know how to do your jobs!? Next time, before you email anyone with bad info maybe you should check with me to see if you know what you're talking about!! And, I don't like the tone in your email! If you don't apologize to me I am gonna run and tell the owner while we go out drinking tonight!' This is only scratching the surface... if you doubt any of this, go ahead and take a job at Vantage. Within weeks you will sit down, shake your head and say 'EVERY single word in that review was spot-on, terrifyingly true.' You will. Nothing, literally not a single thing anyone can post here can possibly debate anything in this post because it is the truth... and we all know the truth can be hard to accept. The company has a spinning door... employees and contractors get fired, new ones hired, a few months later those get fired or quit, new ones are cycled in. When you see this at a company, it is a glaring HUGE red flag. The only thing that stays constant is the pets. Now, if your company posted losses year after year and the only constant thing was the pets, wouldn't you be smart enough to realize if you want anything to change you need to get new pets? Well now you know... if you choose to deny the truth, I can and will only be able to say, 'Told ya!!'.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The only way this company will ever become truly successful is if the owner does one of two things... 1. Sell the company and walk away (unsure that's actually a possible scenario as the company surely would be tough to sell... the owner has tried to sell before and couldn't). 2. Replace the pets with competent leaders and actually allow them to run the company. Otherwise, your company will continue to... operate in the red, you will not be able to take delivery of your new ships, and you will go bankrupt. Unless that is actually your plan, which based on your recent behavior actually might make sense.

    Show More
    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-08-07

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

    August 26, 2019HR Manager

    At Vantage we have many talented and driven associates who are integral to our success. We are proud to have a team of truly dedicated people who are not afraid to roll up their sleeves and get things accomplished. While Vantage provides a truly dynamic environment, you will never ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Change or Collapse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A majority of the non-executive associates. It is a shame that the company turns a blind eye to the talent they have lured in. You will develop a resiliency to stressful situations and challenges because of the state of environment within the office and company globally.

    Cons

    Where to begin, in essence, almost everything aside from the associates who treat one another with respect and understanding while coping with the environment that they are in. 1. Culture - It is in my experience, the saddest culture I have ever witnessed. Associates openly laugh at the turnover rate and discuss with you the downfall of your predecessor within the first 48 hours of starting the job. You will... quickly realize that trust is non-existent and that yes, most people will throw you under the bus to either a) protect themselves or b) make themselves look better at your expense. There's so much more however; this is a professional review thus what will be discussed is limited. For more information, please visit all other reviews that are 2-stars and below for more. 2. Business Aptitude/Policies - As noted in other reviews, the policies/practices are severely outdated. Principles have not been updated overall in easily 30 years. Those with new ideas to help bring the company forward are soundly shut down or ignored the majority of the time. In the occasional event when they are heard (have to be fair here), they are mutilated and deployed incorrectly, thus inevitably failing. When concerns are raised, they are generally dismissed or swept under the rug. Caution should be exercised when discussing how to best help the business in interviews, if you accept employment, your ideas will be ignored. 3. Leadership - I will not bad mouth the leadership because it is unprofessional. I will say that serious reservations are held within the company at the direction and competency of the leadership direction passed down. 4. Turnover - Highest I have ever seen, heard of, or experienced. Good chance that if you ask how something was done a year prior within a department, they will not know because none of them were there and no records were kept. There are more but it is not worth the effort to list them all.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just stop, take a long, hard look in the mirror. Invest in an independent consultant to evaluate the state of the business and take the feedback to heart. If something does not change soon, the damage done may become irreversible, if it is not already. If these don't sound like viable options, sell the business for its assets and retire. As it stands, you will not survive in the dynamic market you are in. The... company is sorely understaffed, technologically outdated and non-competitive with others in the market, and strategies are ineffective and change on a near weekly basis company-wide.

    Show More
    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-08-13

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

    August 26, 2019HR Manager

    Your feedback is appreciated. At Vantage we want all of our associates to succeed and we are committed to providing a multitude of building blocks for success. Implementing change is a process that takes time. Especially when impacting the culture of an organization, change is incremental, ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Bad communication, mistakes in posting job salaries!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Specialist in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Boston location, work from home opportunity

    Cons

    The company needs to make sure the job postings (aka linkedin or other) have the correct salaries posted. You don't hire someone and they are assuming that the salary/commission under which they applied is now very different when you get your offer letter! The excuse was, "that was the customer service position" (which I have never seen posted) You start your training in the office...but never receive paperwork on... your commission structure, your other paperwork is all done online! You ask repeatedly of HR and the trainer about your commission structure, and no response except "you will get that information upon the 4th week of training" ! There is something wrong with that picture. what does the new employee think except "what is this company hiding"? Big red flags and because of this I left after the first week of training, still not knowing my compensation structure for my sales commissions. Everything should be disclosed on the first day of work privately and each employee should be meeting personally with HR. I also asked about all the "bad reviews " from former employees on glassdoor upon starting, I thought I would make my own decisions on the company for myself but...now I understand.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When a training class is being conducted with new employees and the CEO of the company who we have never met walks into the training room to say hello and make a comment to the instructor, what should normally happen? The CEO would want to meet everyone and the instructor would "introduce him" and the CEO would want to know who his new employees are yes? Instead what happened.... after he left... "Oh... that was... the CEO of the company,...... . (I guess we were supposed to know, or maybe its a secret??)

    Show More
    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-07-20

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

    July 22, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Our standard practice is to provide a folder containing your job description, training plan, commission plan and some other items in the first week of training. This packet was provided per standard operating procedure. We are always looking to make ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Responding to "Are you interested in growing your career?" review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is generous to the chosen ones – great travel (with a one year commitment to stay or you need to pay it back), great seats to sporting events and lunch during meetings.

    Cons

    Vantage is a toxic environment where how hard you work or how dedicated you are does not matter. You eventually will be berated and humiliated by the owner and his executive team (who are the stand ins when the owner is not around to do the abusing). Regrettably, the environment is not a good place for anyone. I feel badly for the person who wrote the review because you have been conditioned to believe it is ok to... demoralize people and that is truly sad for you. You deserve better and I hope someday you will realize that. The Vantage work environment is inhumane and unacceptable, owner owned does not mean it is ok to teardown people for hours and days at a time. Yes, there are likely many people who have left and not been constructive in their feedback but that does not make them wrong. I agree if you speak out of turn and you try to BS your way through things you will not survive at Vantage. However, because the established long-time people at the executive level truly have no idea how to operate a productive and healthy workplace in 2019, no one ever gets the opportunity to do a good job at what they were hired for. I would doubt if the long-term leadership at Vantage have the skills or the emotional intelligence to work in a normal workplace which is why they stay. I agree people should do research beyond Glassdoor but there are reasons well educated and experienced people leave on their own shortly after being hired. Please don’t be fooled when you meet people during an interview. The company has a wonderful high quality product and a few good people. Everything else is bad and plain old sad which is unfortunate for the smart good people who have given up so much of their life to work for Vantage. Years they will never get back.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice. I don't believe Vantage will ever change, the skills and the teamwork needed to manage the sizable level of change necessary does not existed on the leadership team.

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-07-24

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

    August 2, 2019HR Manager

    We appreciate your candor. At Vantage we are dedicated to always improving and affecting positive change in our corporate culture and will utilize your feedback to implement improvements. Change is a process that takes time, but we are moving the needle forward in our drive towards ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "DO believe the hype! I love this place.....THIS IS A REAL, GENUINE REVIEW!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Concierge Service in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great company, really fun gratifying job, fantastic pay.

    Cons

    Hmmmm.....can't think of any unless you have poor work ethic or are lazy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great leadership, and thanks for all the solid communication on the many exciting developments at Vantage.

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-06-06

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

    June 10, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! It is great to hear such positive feedback from our present employees! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to continue to improve the work environment!

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Are you interested in growing your career?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There seems to be the trend with Ex-Vantage employees, that the only way to get their point across is to post a nasty review when they FINALLY get out. I am under the impression that no one is forced to work here… so if you are having a negative experience at any company, I would urge you to get out. No job is worth your mental health. Is Vantage a difficult place to work? It can be, yes. In fact, it is the most... difficult environment that I have ever worked in. If you can stick it out, however, it can be extremely rewarding. You will never be awarded a gold star for just ‘showing up.’ You will need to work your butt off for everything. When you come out on top, however, you will feel like you have just run your first marathon: exhausted and accomplished as hell! There are a lot of meetings that can get very intense. This is a family business, and the owner is heavily involved. This would be the case in any family business. This type of environment is not for everyone, which is important to address. Are you willing to push yourself to try new things? Are you willing to speak up and let your voice and opinion be heard? GREAT. This environment lends itself to many great learning experiences. You can work in, or with, a department that you never thought you would have access to in a more traditional company. You can have the most amazing travel experiences that you might normally not be able to afford. You can walk out the door, and be in a beautiful part of Boston, for a quick bite to eat, afterwork happy hour, or a stroll through a park.

    Show More

    Cons

    Do you often speak out of turn and try to ‘BS’ your way through things? Uh oh. This is where you will fall into issues in this workplace. The people who are still here, have likely been here for years. They will see right through this type of behavior. Those people tend to fail and write negative reviews on their way out. Are there managers here who you will TOTALLY butt heads with and disagree with? YES. But I... would love to hear about a company where that doesn’t exist. Are the turnover rates high? Certainly. This can also be looked at as a good thing. People who don’t do well here, don’t stay. That is both good for the company, and for the person. No one should work in a company where they are unhappy. This company is far from perfect… but don’t let the Glassdoor reviews be the only research that you do. If you are a glass half empty type of person, maybe this isn’t the right job for you. If you are willing to be optimistic, try your best, and learn a vast amount of information - I urge you to apply. Come in and meet the team before taking a Glassdoor Review for face value.

    Show More
    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-06-06

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

    June 10, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for addressing the work environment at Vantage in such a well thought out and on-point manner. We appreciate your candor and realistic description of a day in the life of a Vantage employee.

  10. "Foundations of design & growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vantage Deluxe World Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working as a designer at Vantage is challenging, yet a good place to learn all about the building blocks of both print & digital design. Creating layouts, image manipulation, typographic layouts, gif & vector creation are all elements that are needed daily. The responsibilities of meeting hard deadlines as well as incorporating specific offer messaging require creativity, flexibility, and organization,... which all designers need in their creative tool belt. This role allows for opportunities of self-growth on basic practices as well, as many opportunities to expand knowledge across all forms of design. Photoshop, Illustrator, and Indesign are used daily.

    Show More

    Cons

    Vantage is an older company so the classic more templated design is used to fit the older customer demographic

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel2019-05-14

    Vantage Deluxe World Travel Response

    May 16, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience as an associate at Vantage. We are fortunate to have so many excellent, hard-working and talented team members! There are so many opportunities to dig in and participate in new, exciting projects as we launch our new ships. ...

    Show More
Found 172 reviews