Vancouver Coastal Health Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Vancouver Coastal Health Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 222 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "good team, nice hours, good benefits(in 17 reviews)

  • "I feel so welcomed at VCH and super excited to begin my career here(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "I am happy with my experience with VCH so far(in 13 reviews)

  • "No cons thus far as I have yet to begin my new position(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "VCH's Recruitment Staff = Excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse (Surgery) in North Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancouver Coastal Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just received full-time employment with VCH, and I have nothing but positive things to say about VCH's recruitment system and staff. My experience with the recruitment employees could not have been any better. - Had clear & effective communication - Offered fast & efficient updates - Had a positive attitude - They followed through with their statements / promises

    Cons

    - Nothing that I can think of

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-09-18
  2. "Recruitment and onboarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physiotherapist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancouver Coastal Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make sure you have all the information you need before starting prompt responses to emails and any questions you can sense the effective communication between the recruitment team and the VCH team/ clinical managers, dept heads, etc

    Cons

    I did have a slight issue with setting up the LHUB profile, however, this is being dealt with - easy ticketing service

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. The checklists and informative emails are very useful and ensure nothing is missed before you get started.

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-09-18
  3. "Professional and very Welcoming!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Coquitlam, BC

    I have been working at Vancouver Coastal Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am a former and current employee. Nursing is almost the same everywhere. The management team, though does make a big difference in getting excited to go to work, I think. I loved being in touch with everyone involved in the hiring process, starting with the manager at EGH, Melanie who was very understanding with my relocation process(moving back to BC after 1 year spent in Ontario), then Niki who is so friendly... and accommodates whatever needs or requests I threw at her:); Kam, my portofolio clerk is so ready to assist me into getting shifts and not wasting my time just after one conversation; Evelyn ..I could go on and on. Everything and every name mentioned are described by professionalism, friendliness and warmth.

    Show More

    Cons

    no comments on any issues

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-09-11
  4. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Secretary in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends

    I worked at Vancouver Coastal Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Structured busy lots of variety very enjoyable

    Cons

    Busy no coverage but workable

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-09-10
  5. "Uncaring Senior Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vancouver Coastal Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Frontline employees are overall very dedicated

    Cons

    Senior leadership give lip service to caring about middle managers and front-line employees

    Advice to Management

    Time to actually listen to staff

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-09-18
  6. "Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sous Chef in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Vancouver Coastal Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company and great work to do

    Cons

    Lots of problems And is a pain in my life

    Advice to Management

    Good luck

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-08-29
  7. "Good opportunities- organization evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vancouver Coastal Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Broad coverage between rural and urban- diverse job opportunities

    Cons

    Can be somewhat slow moving when making decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Vision and values must be aligned.

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-09-11
  8. "Lack of career growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vancouver Coastal Health part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Commitment to quality patient care.

    Cons

    Lack of career growth and mentorship opportunities for nurses.

    Advice to Management

    More career growth and leadership opportunities for those who want it

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "More Support Needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant/Clerk in Vancouver, BC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vancouver Coastal Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension, Co-workers, Experience, Union, Hospital atmosphere

    Cons

    Not enough support, No room for real growth, Management bullies and promotes friends instead of hard work, Doesn't seem to be room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Give your team more support. Respect for all no matter what position they work (clerk, RN etc).

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-09-04
  10. "Great and helpful work place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Clerk in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vancouver Coastal Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a new Unit Clerk, the staff has been so helpful in creating a great learning environment for me.

    Cons

    Only thing would be wait time on the employee package, which has currently been over a month.

    Vancouver Coastal Health2019-08-09
Found 222 reviews