Valero Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Valero Energy Reviews

Updated Mar 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Valero Energy Chairman, President and CEO Joe Gorder
Joe Gorder
120 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The Memphis refinery management lacks field experience & ability to make tough business decisions(in 22 reviews)

  • "Long hours and some holidays scheduled to work(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good training, good atmosphere and opportunities of advancment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My boss really makes our group understanding what we do and how our work is related to each others.

    Cons

    The industry is complex...but that's why we are there!

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2014-04-18
  2. "supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Lévis, QC

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    team works , good company , product there to stay

    Cons

    big plan , lots of project

    Valero Energy2017-06-26
  3. "good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy

    Pros

    entrepreneurial spirit in the company

    Cons

    no confidence in their people

    Valero Energy2013-05-11
  4. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Beaumont, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay. good work life balance.

    Cons

    not many opportunities for growth.

    Valero Energy2020-03-10
  5. "Great Company; Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in San Antonio, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company at its core is good; great benefits & perks.

    Cons

    Management does a poor job of providing leadership. Depending on department morale is low, there is inadequate staffing needed to perform job functions, and management has unrealistic expectations. Poor work-life balance.

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2020-03-23
  6. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pipeline Technician in Beaumont, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, work/life balance, experience, company

    Cons

    On call, compliance, audits, advancement opportunities

    Valero Energy2020-02-20
  7. "Great company and great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits.

    Cons

    Local management is terrible at their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2020-01-31
  8. "Office Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Administrator in Galway
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hours, flexibility, good teamwork.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to progress. No bonus or sick pay

    Valero Energy2020-01-31
  9. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, friendly atmosphere, room for growth

    Cons

    Some of the customers can be very difficult to deal with at times

    Valero Energy2020-01-10
  10. "Asphalt Facility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Operator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The facility that I currently work at has been good to me. It is a great way to get a start in the chemical industry on the non-contact side.

    Cons

    Management seems to believe that the level of turn around in the plant is due to "bad employees". But I believe it is due to low pay for the area and low standards for management and maintenance.

    Continue reading
    Valero Energy2019-12-23
Found 354 reviews