Valero Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Valero Energy Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Valero Energy CEO Joe Gorder
Joe Gorder
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have a great benefits package and bonus scheme(in 29 reviews)

  • "Co-workers seem more like family, makes for a fun work environment(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "The Memphis refinery management lacks field experience & ability to make tough business decisions(in 22 reviews)

  • "Long hours and some holidays scheduled to work(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good training, good atmosphere and opportunities of advancment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My boss really makes our group understanding what we do and how our work is related to each others.

    Cons

    The industry is complex...but that's why we are there!

    Advice to Management

    Keep going!

    Valero Energy2014-04-18
  2. "supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Lévis, QC

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    team works , good company , product there to stay

    Cons

    big plan , lots of project

    Valero Energy2017-06-26
  3. "good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy

    Pros

    entrepreneurial spirit in the company

    Cons

    no confidence in their people

    Valero Energy2013-05-11
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive, teamwork, innovation, work/life balance

    Cons

    No clear path for career progression

    Valero Energy2019-11-08
  5. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Valero Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work culture, generous pay, and value employees

    Cons

    They spun off the retail sector of their company.

    Valero Energy2019-11-07
  6. "Donot join unless u r not bother about ur carrer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy

    Pros

    Good benefits when compared to other big companies.

    Cons

    Everything other than benefits. Managers are not encouraging , no wfh, old school thoughts

    Advice to Management

    Please encourage employee interest to learn new tech.

    Valero Energy2019-10-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Would recommend Accounting internship - would not recommend staying full time in operations accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy

    Pros

    The campus amenities are nice to have. There is a gym, onsite doctor, cafeteria, and some fun events held on main campus. Looks good on a resume in the San Antonio area because it’s one of the biggest companies in town. I’ve heard better things about other departments, but the operations accounting department is behind the curve.

    Cons

    Accounting department is set up in a discouraging way. You have to have 3 years of experience before you’re qualified for a promotion. There is absolutely no opportunity to learn or advance until your timeline matches their requirement. Unfortunately they would rather have you sit in your cube bored than teach you a new duty to take stress off your team. This is discouraging for people in their second year because... you feel like you can take on more, bit still have 1+ years before you’re “allowed.” This just makes us lose motivation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Base promotions on abilities and willingness, not a timeline. You are going to lose intelligent people that want to learn more and get ahead. You’re taking ambition and motivation away from employees and encouraging a stagnant and boring work environment. Also, it’s 2019... some tradition is good. However - innovation would go a long way. One more thing - please start encouraging or requiring recycling. The amount... of paper wasted is disheartening.

    Show More
    Valero Energy2019-10-09
  8. "Great company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Manager in Ciudad de México

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, company cares about employees

    Cons

    Expansion has not been the best

    Valero Energy2019-09-25
  9. "Great company with good culture, work environment, and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Valero Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very good compensation, flexible work hours, good working environment, and SME in the industry available for help

    Cons

    TA hours can be long but you signed up for it when joined the company.

    Valero Energy2019-09-06
  10. "Great Starting Postion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lab Technician 

    I have been working at Valero Energy part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice environment, Good management

    Cons

    Odd hours, Not paid enough for extra work

    Valero Energy2019-09-03
Found 341 reviews