Urban Outfitters Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Urban Outfitters Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Urban Outfitters Chairman, President, and CEO Richard A. Hayne
Richard A. Hayne
781 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours- if slow day can get boring but at my store we rotated every hour which helped(in 140 reviews)

  • "Was only making slightly above minimum wage(in 76 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Appreciative of hard work and will recognize and award that. Management is pretty easy to talk to, and the ceos also feel easy to reach. Training is good and thorough.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work is really really hard, and I think people that aren’t always customer facing can forget just how hard they work the staff.

    Urban Outfitters2020-01-19
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time

    Pros

    Good co workers and good management.

    Cons

    No place for moving up the ladder.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-27
  3. "Great place for retail!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Kingston, ON

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great manager and team. Fun employee contests, events, and nights.

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed, but otherwise not bad.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-12
  4. "Great People, Limited Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The people are amazing! I loved all of my coworkers

    Cons

    -They judge your cash register expertise by how many emails you can get from people - Minimum wage with little incentive to move up

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  5. "Good people, cute clothes, good vibes, cool clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers You can dress however you want Open-minded people Fast paced but not in a bad way Good energy Humane boss Discounts

    Cons

    Not enough hours sometimes The store would be mess at the end of the week Rude customers

    Advice to Management

    None, y'all are bomb.

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-11
  6. "Terrible company but great co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Associate in Quebec, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great creative people at my location and easy to get days off

    Cons

    Too much hierarchy terrible company that steals people designs, poor values Stupid yearly review about your "progression" in the company (I was a part time sale associate so....)

    Advice to Management

    Cut down on those useless hierarchy title (team leader)

    Urban Outfitters2019-11-17
  7. "Job overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount , exceptional employees, and clean organized environment

    Cons

    Pay , unprofessional manager.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better.

    Urban Outfitters2019-10-11
  8. "Great place for work during school year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Urban Outfitters part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, fun, young environment, good company

    Cons

    A lot of standing, occasional heavy lifting

    Urban Outfitters2019-10-11
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Department Manager 

    I have been working at Urban Outfitters full-time

    Pros

    Good restructure to keep the company from going under like other retail stores

    Cons

    Hard to make transition from sales associate to management

    Urban Outfitters2019-10-04
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Urban Outfitters

    Pros

    Good environment to work lol

    Cons

    Not so much bad things

    Urban Outfitters2019-09-26
Found 2639 reviews