Urban Barn Employee Reviews about "great discount"

Updated Dec 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 152 reviews

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Urban Barn President Linda Letts (no image)
Linda Letts
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "40% Discount on Urban Barn Items(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great Discount, Great learning/school, Accountability, Creativity(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor management sometimes I don’t even blame the manager in charge because the head office never helps(in 16 reviews)

  • "Poor raises only alight with minimum wage increases(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "great discount"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Management/Store staff

      Sep 4, 2016 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for a Canadian company that continues to grow and is constantly looking for ways to be better makes me extremely proud! This company is not perfect, as no company is however we are always looking for improvement in every area. Hard work is expected, yes! But you get to have fun while doing it! The teams we get to work with are passionate and hard working individuals which makes each day so rewarding! There is opportunity to grow as long as you are willing to work for it! Strong, flexible and passionate team players are always successful with UB! Everyday you are able to surround yourself with beautiful product and expand your creative horizons with every customer that walks through our doors! So if you like doing the same thing day in and day out, this might not be the right fit for you. The buyers do an amazing job picking the product lines that get better with each season and our visual team works long and hard to make the stores look unreal! There are also other typical perks such as competitive pay, benefits for full time employees and a great discount. Do I love the company, teams and management I work for? Yes I do!

      Cons

      We are growing, so you need to be patient as we figure out the kinks! But we have tenacious management teams who work hard every day to improve!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Fun and nurturing experience

      Dec 3, 2020 - Store Manager in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Discount, Great learning/school, Accountability, Creativity

      Cons

      Hard to find good talent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      You make your own fun. Your attitude sets the tone.

      Nov 28, 2017 - Retail Sales Associate in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good commission if you work at it. Great discount.

      Cons

      You have to have a flexible schedule, Head Office makes changes last minute. But if you need the hours its good.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Assistant Manager

      Jun 19, 2015 - Assistant Store Manager in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount. Great commission. Awesome contests ran through out the year to recognize top performing stores and individual staff. Amazing people - customers, co-workers and corporate staff. Canadian owned and operated always keep staff of all levels in mind. Fantastic regional manager who is a breath of fresh air every time she visits. Promote from with in. Room for advancement.

      Cons

      Retail hours-same as any other retail position. Have to wait 6 months for benefits. Not a steady pay check due to commission, how ever pay is good,

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Urban barn

      Jul 10, 2014 - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great discount, fun product, ok hours,

      Cons

      shifts, hours, low pay .

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun but competitive

      Mar 29, 2014 - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount, tight knit staff and good management keeps me happy at work

      Cons

      some employees can be very competetive because of the commission aspect

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      You get to be creative with design for customers, but not worth the drama from the managers.

      Mar 20, 2012 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great discount great furniture design very creative customers are great to work with commission

      Cons

      management head office trying to become corporate no room for growth raises are once a year and are ridiculous for the amount of work and time you put in ( under 30 cents across the board!) low commission ( 2.6%), extremely low starting pay ( below min. wage, they get away with it because its "commission" as well)

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Urban Barn Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Urban Barn? Share Your Experiences

    Urban Barn logo
    or