Uptake "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Uptake Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Oct 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Uptake CEO Brad Keywell  (no image)
Brad Keywell
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "I was on the data science team during the majority of my time at Uptake, so my review will largely be focused around my experiences as a data scientist(in 19 reviews)

  • "Surrounded by very smart people(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think the main issue with uptake is upper management(in 10 reviews)

  • "Yes, it is very fast paced and not everything is black and white(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uptake full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Surrounded by very smart people -Constant learning -Office perks (beer, food...)

    Cons

    -Fast paced environment -Sometimes there is a lack of communications between teams

    Uptake2018-10-29
  2. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uptake

    Pros

    Very interesting work, growing insanely fast, awesome people and relaxed culture. They let me directly join a team as an intern which was a great learning experience

    Cons

    Internship could be a little hectic with the fast paced growing. Need more resources to manage the internship

    Continue reading
    Uptake2017-12-06

    Uptake Response

    December 21, 2017Uptake

    Thanks so much for this feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your internship experience and felt you were an immersed part of the team. That's a primary goal for our internship program -- to really embed people in the business in order to provide a true hands-on experience. We can be somewhat scrappy at times given our growth and all of the activity here. We aim to ensure we have enough structure in place to be organized and productive without diminishing the flexible, entrepreneurial environment we love so much about Uptake.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best Startup, Best Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake for less than a year

    Pros

    I truly love everything about Uptake. The OnBoarding process was smooth and really professional. I've worked at Fortune 500 firms and have never seen a more thoughtful OnBoarding process. Come ready to WORK, and don't expect handholding. This is a wonderful place that will rely on your initiative. The job perks are awesome, and the events are always fun.

    Cons

    No cons. When compared to the places I've worked, this is 100% the best company I've worked for. Yes, it is very fast paced and not everything is black and white... if you are flexible and a team player, this should not be a concern.

    Continue reading
    Uptake2017-02-06
  4. Helpful (20)

    "Doing things to simply get them done."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hard-working, smart people Unlimited PTO (as or if approved) Free drinks and snacks Lunch stipend Lots of learning opportunities

    Cons

    So much politics. While the company preaches one thing, upper management works behind closed doors to figure out ways around certain benefits to appease middle-management. Cliquish and favoritism abound. If you are in, you are in. If you are not, for whatever reason, you are not. The executive team is a scramble and a few major positions have recently departed the company. Tasks are done to simply get them done. There is no thought into making processes better as the company scales and implementation of new tools is cumbersome, confusing and everything seems short-term oriented. Fast-paced doesn't mean a pace that has to be redundant. The office is cramped and probably over capacity. The company uses "culture" as their reasoning for why some people are or aren't a good fit without any real specific. There are very vague examples of the culture in action and their in-house definitions of clarity, flexibility, curiosity, etc., seem to benefit reasoning for why situations don't work instead of why they do. Even the CEO mentions that some employees simply don't "get it". Get what?

    Continue reading
    Uptake2016-12-27
  5. "Fast, Fun and Smart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Recently joined the company. Full of incredibly smart and talented people. As expected in a company with such a growth-rate, its a place where things move and change FAST, so guaranteed that you won't get bored! Great benefits and perks across the board. The interview process is fast, but thorough and very professional. The orientation/onboarding process takes 2-3 days and not only is a blast, but also extremely efficient and purposeful: it makes you feel special and part of something bigger from minute 1.

    Cons

    The normal issues in such a young, rapid-growing and fast-paced company: things can change and evolve constantly, in order to become more efficient and productive. Not necessarily a bad thing if you can adapt to new roles easily.

    Uptake2017-01-13
  6. "Honest, no drama, no BS environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time

    Pros

    We work long hours and the work is intense, but what I value most is that i have a 100% honest rapport with my boss. No politics, no drama. We are able to accomplish a lot this way.

    Cons

    Things are insanely fast paced

    Continue reading
    Uptake2017-01-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake

    Pros

    Fast-paced environment. Good product. Fun engineering challenges. Fair amount of autonomy. Still has the feel of a startup while becoming more of an established company.

    Cons

    Fast-paced environment. High growth leads to high amount of change. Overall a good place to work but not without its growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Uptake2016-07-06
Found 7 reviews