University of Waterloo Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

University of Waterloo Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
University of Waterloo President Feridun Hamdullahpur
Feridun Hamdullahpur
273 Ratings
  1. "Great atmosphere, but the work can be slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    Comfortable working conditions, holidays off.

    Cons

    Work can be slow at times.

    University of Waterloo2020-03-26
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive and inclusive environment, super smart people, decent benefits, good opportunities for secondments

    Cons

    Not a strong HR department, pay not as competitive

    University of Waterloo2020-03-01
  3. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Is a nice experience

    Cons

    Flexible and opening new opportunities

    University of Waterloo2020-02-28
  4. "Great job for graduate students - pays well too!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at University of Waterloo part-time

    Pros

    Flexible. Professors are very supportive in what you want to do.

    Cons

    Work/Hours are not spread out evenly. You will need to put in extra hours for a week and then have couple of week pretty easy.

    University of Waterloo2020-02-27
  5. "Great place for research on STEM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University of Waterloo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible time schedule and lots of opportunities to grow as a professional on campus

    Cons

    Going through the filters and bureaucracy to access labs is time-consuming

    University of Waterloo2020-02-26
  6. "TA for Vision Science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Waterloo part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Nice work environment 2. Helpful lab instructors 3. Nice fellow teaching assistant

    Cons

    1. If you are coming from a different background it will be tough for you to learn all these experiments

    University of Waterloo2020-02-25
  7. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    it's a great place for students

    Cons

    lesser entertainment opportunities in the city

    University of Waterloo2020-02-24
  8. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Entrepreneurship in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    Great Job amazing employer wonderful opportunities

    Cons

    none ! Everything was great at this placement.

    University of Waterloo2020-02-21
  9. "MME graduate student working of fire safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - MAsc Student 
    Recommends

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    good for flourishing your ideas

    Cons

    too soon to say i guess

    University of Waterloo2020-02-20
  10. "Great Place to Work (Arts Department)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Waterloo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I know a University is really big but in my particular department in the environment was great. I was given independence to complete tasks, my supervisor was understanding of my class schedule (I worked part time), and they are very flexible.

    Cons

    Can be a little bit disorganized at times. Even though I was independent in completing my tasks and projects I was not empowered to pursue new work I always had to wait for instructions (but I only worked part time so its not bad)

    University of Waterloo2020-02-20
Found 791 reviews