University of Waterloo Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

University of Waterloo Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
University of Waterloo President Feridun Hamdullahpur
Feridun Hamdullahpur
267 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very flexible hours, understanding managers, cooperative staff(in 48 reviews)

  • "Very nice work environment and nice work-life balance(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "At this time there are no cons for this role(in 26 reviews)

  • "Low salary for cutting edge work(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work (Arts Department)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Waterloo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I know a University is really big but in my particular department in the environment was great. I was given independence to complete tasks, my supervisor was understanding of my class schedule (I worked part time), and they are very flexible.

    Cons

    Can be a little bit disorganized at times. Even though I was independent in completing my tasks and projects I was not empowered to pursue new work I always had to wait for instructions (but I only worked part time so its not bad)

    University of Waterloo2020-02-20
  2. "Good pay for not much work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I have been working at University of Waterloo part-time

    Pros

    The job is very flexible

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    University of Waterloo2020-02-19
  3. "friendly stuff and good environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Waterloo part-time

    Pros

    friendly staff and a good environment.

    Cons

    No promotion room. Repetition all the time.

    University of Waterloo2020-02-12
  4. "Food Support Person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at University of Waterloo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work in Campus, convenient transportation, may change from diferrent brand of Food Service easily, no worry of job loss because University is one the most stable insititution, including all-can-eat meal

    Cons

    low salary, because there are so many students would conpeting the positions considering the convenience from classroom to job. Training class include AccessAblity Course, which is for the students and scholarships, talking about syllabus, time management etc. , something overly difficult and unnecessary to this positions

    Continue reading
    University of Waterloo2020-02-13
  5. "My opinion on University of Waterloo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate and Research Assistant in Waterloo, ON

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    UW is Canada's most innovative university

    Cons

    The city is boring

    University of Waterloo2020-02-06
  6. "Currently in the Mathematical Physics program at Waterloo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Student in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning Environment Good place to meet new people

    Cons

    Some courses are not planned well.

    University of Waterloo2020-02-16
  7. "Diversity and growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research in Kitchener, ON

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    A university that has a lot of impact on industry

    Cons

    It's hard to get a permanent position

    University of Waterloo2020-02-14
  8. "Can be disorganized but also supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University of Waterloo part-time

    Pros

    - good TA pay - supportive atmosphere - consider your preferences when assigning courses

    Cons

    - often the instructors are disorganized - experience varies a lot depending on the instructors - hours can be unpredictable

    University of Waterloo2020-02-13
  9. "Professional Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very collaborative, chances to meet many professionals, a very good co-op program

    Cons

    sometimes it is hard to have access to all facilities

    University of Waterloo2020-01-28
  10. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at University of Waterloo part-time

    Pros

    You literally get paid to learn

    Cons

    You probably gonna be here for life

    University of Waterloo2020-02-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 776 reviews