University of Waterloo Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
University of Waterloo President Feridun Hamdullahpur
Feridun Hamdullahpur
276 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "At this time there are no cons for this role(in 26 reviews)

  • "low salary, because there are so many students would conpeting the positions considering the convenience from classroom to job(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at University of Waterloo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent insight and lots to learn from the professors.

    Cons

    No cons! Great place to get important research experience post graduation. Great steping stone to starting career in academia or research.

    Continue reading
    University of Waterloo2020-05-23
  2. "Good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Graduate Student 

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    Good staff, Coop opportunity available

    Cons

    None that I can find yet

    University of Waterloo2020-05-19
  3. "Great place and people"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at University of Waterloo part-time

    Pros

    Nice people, very supportive environment

    Cons

    Honestly nothing I can think of, pay could be a bit better though (but I'm an undergrad so either way I'm happy)

    University of Waterloo2020-05-16
  4. "Great university but low payroll"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at University of Waterloo part-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and frendily collegues

    Cons

    high pressure and low pay

    University of Waterloo2020-05-23
  5. "Student Experience"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Masters Student in Greater Sudbury, ON

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    The environment is very professional.

    Cons

    The social aspect of student life is lacking.

    University of Waterloo2020-05-22
  6. "Great place for graduate studies"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent research facilities and technical staff Teaching experience while pursuing graduate studies

    Cons

    Admin processes tend to be slower Graduate level pay scale is not competitive with the local market situation

    University of Waterloo2020-05-21
  7. "University of Waterloo"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture diversity is good for internationals.

    Cons

    Adminitrative efficiency of the school is low.

    University of Waterloo2020-05-20
  8. "UW research assistant"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Waterloo, ON

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    Intellectually enriching; freedom to self-direct

    Cons

    Low salary is sometimes a problem

    University of Waterloo2020-04-30
  9. "Good Experience for Graduate Students"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at University of Waterloo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Good chance to work more closely with professors * Good opportunity to get experience teaching, if that is your goal

    Cons

    * Workload, type of work, and management depends on the professor or teaching team * Can be a lot of monotonous work

    University of Waterloo2020-04-28
  10. "Very good institute overall!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate In Systems Design Engineering in Waterloo, ON

    I have been working at University of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    Cutting-edge research is done in this institute.

    Cons

    Maybe a little bit of lack of wellness facilities

    University of Waterloo2020-04-28
Found 810 reviews