UnitedHealth Group "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

UnitedHealth Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
1,043 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance skewed to favor UHG, under-appreciative leaders exist in various parts of the business(in 362 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance is abysmal for a(in 349 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Featured Divisions of UnitedHealth Group

See all divisions

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Management System Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Management Systems Analyst 

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, work life balance.

    Cons

    changing management structure to be more money making company then being employee concentric, which it used to be.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-10
  2. "Work Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Analyst 

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Great benefits. Healthy,safe,comfortable work environment . Room for advancement

    Cons

    New technologies should be implemented

    UnitedHealth Group2019-04-01
  3. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Onsite exposure work life balance Commuting facility

    Cons

    Legacy technology stack Monotonous work

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2018-05-12
  4. "Assistant to CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Advisor in Alaska, PE
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    friendly atmosphere Good benefit and promotion opportunities. Large networking and travel to know different companies. Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Long distance driving required. Poor child care facilities. Not enough resources fro techinical support . not enough management supervision

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2016-04-11
  5. Helpful (700)

    "Very heads-down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group for less than a year

    Pros

    I will preface this review with a statement you need to heed when reading this review as well as any reviews for this company -- "It depends on your area." This is a GIGANTIC company and YMMV depending on your group. Keep that in mind when reading. Anyway, I've been here only 6 months, but I think I have enough of a feel for Optum to write a review. The positives: Great work/life balance: I never have to stay late, work on weekends, etc. I get 23 vacation days and my manager encourages me to use them AND completely unplug while away. Beautiful office: I work at the new Optum office in Eden Prairie. Building is modern and comfortable. Full size gym and locker room, and workout classes. Great parking ramp with a skyway so you never need to go outside in the rain or snow! Work from home: VERY progressive with WFH! I can work from wherever I want. if I want to WFH one day, I can. If I want to WFH the whole week, I can do that, too. No one questions you. Total autonomy No drama: This is a very heads down place! I can't stress that enough. No one socializes with each other -- most of the time, you never even talk to your cube neighbors (because they're probably working from home). This is a positive for me though -- after working in some high drama offices, this is a refreshing change. All meetings are over webex: Great news if you hate in-person meetings like I do -- because there are very few! In the 6 months I've been here, I've had 4 in person meetings. This is also a con because you never meet your coworkers - read the con list for more info. 30 minute "best practice" meeting times: You will not get invited to 2+ hour meetings, ever. Nearly all meetings are only 30 minutes. You might have the one-off meeting that's an hour, but it's rare. Good, standardized PM practices. But some of the documentation requirements are too rigid and can slow progress down. Our group is trying to move to 100% agile. Slowly.... All of my projects so far have been waterfall SDLC. Although as a new person, it would help to have a PM to shadow on some of these documentation/audit practices. I've had to learn as I go. - Great cafeteria with cheap prices. I can get a lunch here cheaper than I can bring it from home. -Very engaging training classes!!! All training classes are over LearnSource (i.e. your computer) but the videos are well done and entertaining.

    Cons

    -Building seems empty because so many people WFH. It's almost kind of...sad. Such a nice building but no one is there. -Internet explorer is the browser of choice. Yuck. You have to have special permissions to download Google Chrome or Firefox on your computer. -If you like socializing with your coworkers, this is NOT a place for you! I can't stress that enough!! You will NOT meet your new BFF here. Everyone is very heads-down and focused on work -- no one chit chats about football or True Detective! You will not have coworkers stopping by your desk (to chat about a TV show OR to even chat about work). Most of my days, I don't talk to anyone in person. It's kind of depressing -- and I'm an introvert! There are no happy hours, social events outside of work, etc (this is a positive for me because I hate that stuff). -Lots of contractors. Not that it's a bad thing - I've had great experiences with the PM contractors. They obviously don't last as long as the employees, and there's more contractor PMs than employee PMs. -Difficult, as a new person, to know "who's who." There is no face-to-face meetings, so as a PM, it's tough to know who does what, since there's no face to put with the name. I struggle with this a lot, as I'm not used to this extreme of a "remote" workforce! -No wifi for your phone. Wifi is only available for visitors and you must have a user name and password. -Nearly all social media websites are blocked. Not really a con, but something you might want to know. You won't be browsing facebook at work! -LOTS of meetings. Sure, the meetings aren't in person, they're over Webex, but you will have a LOT of them. -Some "know-it-all" ego-driven coworkers, especially on the tech side. But this is typical of IT in general. I've witnessed this at every org in which I've worked.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2015-08-13

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    September 12, 2016Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your thorough review! Yes, UnitedHealth Group is a hard-working company, but we also strive for work-life flexibility by having telecommute positions and work from home options. I'm happy to hear you enjoy working at the company. Judy Cater, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
  6. "claim adjudication and team handling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Claims Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    i like the company policy and benefits to work with

    Cons

    security and future and career opportunities and work life balance

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-29
  7. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "United Health Group Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    work life balance work from home technology

    Cons

    No cons No cons till now No

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-29
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Do not plan to start a career here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -WFH is a great benefit. -Offices are modern with nice cafeterias and gyms. -Work/ life balance can be flexible as many of us went months without having much work, but would become extremely busy during summer.

    Cons

    I spent four years trying to work my way up at UHG/Optum. I had 6 different managers, and they kept changing my title and work depending upon what was needed by team. I cooperated, but this hindered my personal development since I continually had to start over and learn new projects and roles. I continued to get positive reviews from my managers, but I reached the ceiling of my pay scale and was unable to get a raise for the last two years. I took a lateral move to work at Optum, but I experienced the same uncertainty and changes that plagued UHC. I spent nearly two years at the top of my pay grade trying to network and apply for jobs the next level up. I had no support or guidance from managers on how to develop my career even though my yearly reviews were always positive. Finally, they made major reorganizations last summer, and moved me again to another team. These moves were so poorly thought out that they released the manager in charge but still continued with his dramatic changes. This whole winter had been frustrating for my division, and finally we received word in February that they were doing another reorganization to fix the mistakes made in the summer. They gave my team two weeks notice and released all of us. When I spoke with the Senior Director, he placed all blame on the previously fired manager, and told me he would work with us to find new positions. I applied for multiple positions, yet I never received the assistance he promised to give. I did hear that they rehired the manager who made the poor choices last August, while the rest of us on the team are struggling to find work as the economy heads into a recession, and UHG stock continues to do well.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-20

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    March 23, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry to hear this was your experience and you feel you were not given an adequate response. We recommend that you contact our HR Department at 1-800-561-0861 and give them feedback about your experience. We wish you the best. -PaKou

    Continue reading
  9. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "Best company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Noida
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best company, Work-life balance, Good pay structure

    Cons

    Nothing, Best company to work in

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-09

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    March 16, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Best of luck on your continued career. - Tori

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Professional Growth if you are in the right project Good access to training resources

    Cons

    Leadership - Employee connect zero Career Development plans are only for the sake of it

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-17
Found 1220 reviews