UnitedHealth Group "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

UnitedHealth Group Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
1,043 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance skewed to favor UHG, under-appreciative leaders exist in various parts of the business(in 362 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance is abysmal for a(in 349 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Featured Divisions of UnitedHealth Group

See all divisions

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Application development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible culture and time schedule, freedom to work from home and

    Cons

    Salaries not competant with market

    UnitedHealth Group2017-08-23
  2. "research analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    quite flexible about work from home

    Cons

    communication cost is really high since most of the team members don't see each other on a daily basis

    UnitedHealth Group2017-01-31
  3. Helpful (700)

    "Very heads-down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Project Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group for less than a year

    Pros

    I will preface this review with a statement you need to heed when reading this review as well as any reviews for this company -- "It depends on your area." This is a GIGANTIC company and YMMV depending on your group. Keep that in mind when reading. Anyway, I've been here only 6 months, but I think I have enough of a feel for Optum to write a review. The positives: Great work/life balance: I never have to stay late, work on weekends, etc. I get 23 vacation days and my manager encourages me to use them AND completely unplug while away. Beautiful office: I work at the new Optum office in Eden Prairie. Building is modern and comfortable. Full size gym and locker room, and workout classes. Great parking ramp with a skyway so you never need to go outside in the rain or snow! Work from home: VERY progressive with WFH! I can work from wherever I want. if I want to WFH one day, I can. If I want to WFH the whole week, I can do that, too. No one questions you. Total autonomy No drama: This is a very heads down place! I can't stress that enough. No one socializes with each other -- most of the time, you never even talk to your cube neighbors (because they're probably working from home). This is a positive for me though -- after working in some high drama offices, this is a refreshing change. All meetings are over webex: Great news if you hate in-person meetings like I do -- because there are very few! In the 6 months I've been here, I've had 4 in person meetings. This is also a con because you never meet your coworkers - read the con list for more info. 30 minute "best practice" meeting times: You will not get invited to 2+ hour meetings, ever. Nearly all meetings are only 30 minutes. You might have the one-off meeting that's an hour, but it's rare. Good, standardized PM practices. But some of the documentation requirements are too rigid and can slow progress down. Our group is trying to move to 100% agile. Slowly.... All of my projects so far have been waterfall SDLC. Although as a new person, it would help to have a PM to shadow on some of these documentation/audit practices. I've had to learn as I go. - Great cafeteria with cheap prices. I can get a lunch here cheaper than I can bring it from home. -Very engaging training classes!!! All training classes are over LearnSource (i.e. your computer) but the videos are well done and entertaining.

    Cons

    -Building seems empty because so many people WFH. It's almost kind of...sad. Such a nice building but no one is there. -Internet explorer is the browser of choice. Yuck. You have to have special permissions to download Google Chrome or Firefox on your computer. -If you like socializing with your coworkers, this is NOT a place for you! I can't stress that enough!! You will NOT meet your new BFF here. Everyone is very heads-down and focused on work -- no one chit chats about football or True Detective! You will not have coworkers stopping by your desk (to chat about a TV show OR to even chat about work). Most of my days, I don't talk to anyone in person. It's kind of depressing -- and I'm an introvert! There are no happy hours, social events outside of work, etc (this is a positive for me because I hate that stuff). -Lots of contractors. Not that it's a bad thing - I've had great experiences with the PM contractors. They obviously don't last as long as the employees, and there's more contractor PMs than employee PMs. -Difficult, as a new person, to know "who's who." There is no face-to-face meetings, so as a PM, it's tough to know who does what, since there's no face to put with the name. I struggle with this a lot, as I'm not used to this extreme of a "remote" workforce! -No wifi for your phone. Wifi is only available for visitors and you must have a user name and password. -Nearly all social media websites are blocked. Not really a con, but something you might want to know. You won't be browsing facebook at work! -LOTS of meetings. Sure, the meetings aren't in person, they're over Webex, but you will have a LOT of them. -Some "know-it-all" ego-driven coworkers, especially on the tech side. But this is typical of IT in general. I've witnessed this at every org in which I've worked.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2015-08-13

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    September 12, 2016Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your thorough review! Yes, UnitedHealth Group is a hard-working company, but we also strive for work-life flexibility by having telecommute positions and work from home options. I'm happy to hear you enjoy working at the company. Judy Cater, Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
  4. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "United Health Group Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    work life balance work from home technology

    Cons

    No cons No cons till now No

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The pay is good but management isnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote work from home

    Cons

    Management is a little lacking in concern

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-17

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    March 25, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback. I recommend having an open discussion with your manager on what is and isn't working. We wish you the best in your future career. Toni

    Continue reading
  6. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work, behind in technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Benefits - Work From Home Flexibility - Great Co Workers - Awesome Head quarters in Eden Prarie, MN - Flexible to personal life schedule - Supports Continuous learning

    Cons

    - Health Insurance is abysmal for a Health Insurance Company - Technology is behind, in terms of IT Stack - Goes through layoff cycles

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-04
  7. "I enjoyed my time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Benefit Implementation Analyst in Richardson, TX

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work from home, engaged leaders

    Cons

    hard to move up, changing metrics

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-06

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    March 7, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing and our fast-paced environment is not for everyone. I encourage you to reach out to HR by dialing 800-561-086 for more details on why you felt this way. Making impactful change is a two-way conversation so it's important to talk to your HR contact. - Tori

    Continue reading
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Hyderābād

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Good work balance and Work from home option

    Cons

    No onsite and Facilities like Desk space, Parking, Canteen are not good

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-18

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    March 29, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience! I encourage you to reach out to your HR contact for assistance with your thoughts on how to improve your site. Thanks! - Tori

    Continue reading
  9. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group

    "Great place to work, Good Environment, Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Developer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    "Flexibility to work from home is a huge plus" "Work life balance is tremendous"

    Cons

    Appreciation for work depends on kind of leader. Not everyone gets appreciated for their work

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-03

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    March 4, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. I also really appreciate the work/life balance I have here. We wish you the best. -Rhonda

    Continue reading
  10. "Awesome company with one sided minded management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many benefits at UHG: 1. Work from Home 2. Work life balance (minimum work which you can complete in 3/4 days) 3. Flexible timings 4. Health Insurance covered 5. Quarterly outing/lunch 6. Many Learning opportunities (Tuition Reimbursement available upto 50K per year) 7. Transport facility

    Cons

    Company is too good but the newly hired management is from Infy/TCS/some Indian MNC and changing the working culture of UHG. 1. One sided management 2. Lot of politics/favoritism 3. Manager/leads doesn't encourage your passion, everytime they care about their safe side 4. Poor ratings & hikes/RRP (this effects because of favoritism) 5. When the company switched to OGS (Optum Global Solutions) many things changed compared to the benefits of having at UHG.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-03

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    March 4, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    I'm glad there were many benefits for you while you worked for UnitedHealth Group. Thank you for sharing. It can be difficult when there are transitions with the organization, but I've found it helpful to grow a network of people to surround myself with. We wish you the best!

    Continue reading
Found 1251 reviews