UnitedHealth Group "health insurance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

UnitedHealth Group Employee Reviews about "health insurance"

Updated Mar 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
1,043 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance skewed to favor UHG, under-appreciative leaders exist in various parts of the business(in 362 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance is abysmal for a(in 349 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Featured Divisions of UnitedHealth Group

See all divisions

Reviews about "health insurance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits & PTO Really cares about employees

    Cons

    Dealing with the usual health insurance stuff

    UnitedHealth Group2019-03-26
  2. Optum | Division of UnitedHealth Group
    Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work, behind in technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Benefits - Work From Home Flexibility - Great Co Workers - Awesome Head quarters in Eden Prarie, MN - Flexible to personal life schedule - Supports Continuous learning

    Cons

    - Health Insurance is abysmal for a Health Insurance Company - Technology is behind, in terms of IT Stack - Goes through layoff cycles

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-04
  3. "Awesome company with one sided minded management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many benefits at UHG: 1. Work from Home 2. Work life balance (minimum work which you can complete in 3/4 days) 3. Flexible timings 4. Health Insurance covered 5. Quarterly outing/lunch 6. Many Learning opportunities (Tuition Reimbursement available upto 50K per year) 7. Transport facility

    Cons

    Company is too good but the newly hired management is from Infy/TCS/some Indian MNC and changing the working culture of UHG. 1. One sided management 2. Lot of politics/favoritism 3. Manager/leads doesn't encourage your passion, everytime they care about their safe side 4. Poor ratings & hikes/RRP (this effects because of favoritism) 5. When the company switched to OGS (Optum Global Solutions) many things changed compared to the benefits of having at UHG.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-03

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    March 4, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    I'm glad there were many benefits for you while you worked for UnitedHealth Group. Thank you for sharing. It can be difficult when there are transitions with the organization, but I've found it helpful to grow a network of people to surround myself with. We wish you the best!

    Continue reading
  4. "good place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consulting Analyst in Eden Prairie, MN

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    did well to revamp company culture

    Cons

    being so tied to health insurance

    UnitedHealth Group2020-03-03
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Pros & Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was a long-term employee of UHG and, overall, enjoyed working there. A major "pro" was the ability to telecommute, full-time. Most of the teams I was a part of, the team members were great to work with (included the boss's). The flexible work hours are also a big pro. I felt the salary was competitive with the market.

    Cons

    UHG says that they "pay for performance", but that is not 100% true. They have statistics for rating employees within departments (so sometimes people are 'up-rated', but most of the time management is required to 'down-rate' employees at review time) -- to me, this is the biggest 'con'. Senior leadership has been inconsistent, too; so, business direction is changed often, leading to lack of trust with upper management. One other 'con' is the cost of health insurance; you'd think that working for an insurance company that it would be less, but it actually was more than my spouse's work group insurance (for the same coverage). The company (Sr Leadership) used to "walk the talk" regarding Culture Values, but in the last 1-2 years, that has tremendously declined.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-17

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    January 18, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Hello! Thanks for your review and for your continued contributions to the success of the team. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your years of service and wish you the best in your continued career. - Jennifer

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "CEO doesn't care about staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, work from home

    Cons

    Recent lay offs, stingy raises, micro management, politics, poor advancement CEO doesn't care about employees Raking in millions in bonus staff get 1 % raises, doesn't cover cost of health insurance increases!!!

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2020-02-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ok company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Administrative Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, option to work from home. Good health can lead to premium reduction on their health insurance bio metrics program. Which means more take home pay.

    Cons

    No room for growth. Low wages.

    UnitedHealth Group2020-02-15
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Profit over employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provides full time work in health insurance.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive for the market/positions for front line staff. Company shows consistent willingness to send numerous positions overseas at the cost of laying off hundreds of domestic employees.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2020-02-03

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    February 3, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It may help to have an open and candid conversation with your manager at your next review concerning pay. We appreciate your years of service and wish you the best in your continued career. -Rhonda

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Decent Pay and Benefits, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Advocate in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health insurance HMO plans are very affordable, $25 a month biweekly for a family if you utilize their Rally for Health credits (up to $1200 per year), matching 401k standard, dental benefits are some of best on market (covers 80% of major services), short term disability, paid parental leave including adoptions

    Cons

    Poor management and high overturn, NO sick days only vacation days that just be approved well in advance.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-30

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    December 30, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    We also like our benefits, can be super affordable for a family! Our management does understand that life happens and are willing to work out an outcome that fits everyone needs.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent wages for the position

    Cons

    Health insurance options Culture of "it's not my fault," failure to take responsibility Rapid turnover plus the learning curve means that most people don't know how to properly do their jobs "Failing upwards" was extremely common

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-29

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    December 30, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and will be sure to share your feedback with Management. We do wish you the best with your endeavors. ~ Erin

    Continue reading
Found 457 reviews