UnitedHealth Group "health insurance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

UnitedHealth Group Employee Reviews about "health insurance"

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
UnitedHealth Group CEO Dave Wichmann (no image)
Dave Wichmann
955 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "health insurance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits & PTO Really cares about employees

    Cons

    Dealing with the usual health insurance stuff

    UnitedHealth Group2019-03-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Pros & Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was a long-term employee of UHG and, overall, enjoyed working there. A major "pro" was the ability to telecommute, full-time. Most of the teams I was a part of, the team members were great to work with (included the boss's). The flexible work hours are also a big pro. I felt the salary was competitive with the market.

    Cons

    UHG says that they "pay for performance", but that is not 100% true. They have statistics for rating employees within departments (so sometimes people are 'up-rated', but most of the time management is required to 'down-rate' employees at review time) -- to me, this is the biggest 'con'. Senior leadership has been inconsistent, too; so, business direction is changed often, leading to lack of trust with upper management. One other 'con' is the cost of health insurance; you'd think that working for an insurance company that it would be less, but it actually was more than my spouse's work group insurance (for the same coverage). The company (Sr Leadership) used to "walk the talk" regarding Culture Values, but in the last 1-2 years, that has tremendously declined.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2020-01-17

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    January 18, 2020Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Hello! Thanks for your review and for your continued contributions to the success of the team. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your years of service and wish you the best in your continued career. - Jennifer

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Decent Pay and Benefits, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Advocate in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health insurance HMO plans are very affordable, $25 a month biweekly for a family if you utilize their Rally for Health credits (up to $1200 per year), matching 401k standard, dental benefits are some of best on market (covers 80% of major services), short term disability, paid parental leave including adoptions

    Cons

    Poor management and high overturn, NO sick days only vacation days that just be approved well in advance.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-30

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    December 30, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    We also like our benefits, can be super affordable for a family! Our management does understand that life happens and are willing to work out an outcome that fits everyone needs.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent wages for the position

    Cons

    Health insurance options Culture of "it's not my fault," failure to take responsibility Rapid turnover plus the learning curve means that most people don't know how to properly do their jobs "Failing upwards" was extremely common

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2019-12-29

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    December 30, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and will be sure to share your feedback with Management. We do wish you the best with your endeavors. ~ Erin

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "MEH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    benefits except health insurance, flexibility

    Cons

    poor work life balance, 60-70hr work weeks, documentation requirements are strangling

    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Processor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health insurance, co-workers, values

    Cons

    Not competitive pay, false promises, management doesn't deliver on core values.

    Continue reading
    UnitedHealth Group2019-11-11
  7. "Director, Software Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fast paced, very technical, lot of opportunities to learn regarding healthcare, competitive pay, generous holidays, lots of health focused activities

    Cons

    frequent management changes, very high health insurance compared to others , bonuses are often not up-to the mark.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-29

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    October 29, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad you're enjoying your experience at UnitedHealth Group. I too enjoy the opportunities to learn and grow my career within the organization. Sincerely, Amber H. Candidate Engagement Strategist, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place for your first steps in the industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Claims Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provides a solid foundation for entering the Health Insurance Industry and has really strong upper leadership. Takes active feedback from employees of all levels. Lots of schedule flexibility.

    Cons

    Very little community culture within the company. No clear paths for advancement which there are opportunities, but advancement itself is really slow. Compensation for labor is lower on the tier compared to other companies in the industry.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-20

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    October 21, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your time at UnitedHealth Group. I've found that a number of the advancement tools and resources offered at UnitedHealth Group help to grow your career at your own pace. We wish you the best! Sincerely, Amber H. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good, flexible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Based Community Health Worker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The flexibility is the best thing about this role! It creates a great work-life balance. This role also provides mileage and gas reimbursement, amazing benefits, and great health insurance. Lots of travel involved.

    Cons

    The pay isn’t as competitive as I’d like. The role can become a bit tedious/monotonous at times.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-15

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    October 15, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing -- a lot of our employees enjoy the perks of the traveling and telecommuting roles. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the cons too: I highly suggest that you have an open and candid conversation with your manager at your next review concerning pay. And as for your role, I encourage you to think about the opportunities for innovation and how you can make a positive impact on your patients and peers! Annie W., Sr. Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
  10. "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UnitedHealth Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At UnitedHealth Group, they provide several types of pension and welfare benefits. Countless companies in the United States, like UnitedHealth Group, sponsor group health plans, through which a large percentage of each worker's health insurance premium is covered by their employer. These contributions are tax deductible for companies and tax-free for employees. UnitedHealth Group provides health, dental, and vision plans. UnitedHealth Group also provides short-term disability insurance for accidents or illness, long-term disability insurance, group life insurance, and death benefits, which cover certain causes of death. Employer-provided retirement plans help to secure a dependable stream of money later in life. UnitedHealth Group offers defined contribution pension plans. With a defined contribution pension plan, companies help employees save and invest for retirement.

    Cons

    They do everything they can to make sure you don't qualify for a raise and the company operates like high school, if your not a favorite you can not get promotions or interviews.

    UnitedHealth Group2019-10-12

    UnitedHealth Group Response

    October 14, 2019Enterprise Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing. Since you are a current employee, I recommend that you look into our internal resources on career development and programs that can help with your internal mobility. Also, remember to look at available roles on the internal careers search page. Cheers, Lily S., Talent Community Manager, UnitedHealth Group

    Continue reading
Found 451 reviews