United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,301 of over 1,352 reviews

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) President & CEO Mat Ishbia
Mat Ishbia
848 Ratings
Pros
  • "It’s very easy to get to know fellow team members and make lasting connection(in 88 reviews)

  • "United shore is a great place to work/gain experience in the mortgage industry(in 82 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "With the recent uptick in COVID-19 cases United Shore has failed to address this recent news and/or provide an alternative(in 54 reviews)

  • "Underwriters and AE's are extremely arrogant and think they can do whatever they want(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    808

    83 Comments

    Finance

    7.4K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)~699293
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Great Place

      Aug 9, 2021 - Internal Auditor/Compliance in Pontiac, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family atmosphere....leadership absolutely cares about you. Opportunities galore to move up the ladder and/or change jobs. The resources are outstanding to improve your skill-sets and leadership qualities.

      Cons

      Benefits have improved as well as vacation so there is little to complain about.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Response

      Thank you for the kind review! We're so glad you're enjoying your nice long time here at UWM! We have so much appreciation for team members like you who've been with us through periods of tremendous change and growth. It's been an exciting ride, yes? Thank you for your loyalty and being such an integral part of our success. Here's to another 8-10 years!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Team Member - IT

      Nov 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Looking for a great place to kickstart your career? This is it! Opportunities and growth along with a focus on work life balance make United Shore one of the places to work anywhere.

      Cons

      Our fast paced environment may not be for everyone, but for those of you who are looking for innovatiion and growth this is the place!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Response

      Team Member Services

      Thank you for your positive feedback! You’re right, our opportunities for growth are endless for our hard working team members, and we understand the importance of having a healthy work/life balance to allow for optimal family time.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Underwriter

      Sep 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - People - Potential for bonuses - Good perk

      Cons

      - Poor 401k matching - Bad work hours 10-7pm

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Response

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. Our work hours vary by role and team, in an effort to provide the best service we can to our clients. We are glad to hear you enjoy the people here, who we think truly make up the great culture that we experience every day.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to start

      Aug 26, 2021 - Senior Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly environment. I've met some very cool people here and the majority of the staff is extremely supportive of each other. I was able to get experience when very few employers present the option, but require experience to enter the field.

      Cons

      Executives are completely disconnected from the reality of those working production. They continue to expect more out of every employee while simultaneously cutting pay and removing bonus opportunities at every corner. I can't tell if they don't care or if they are just blindingly unaware. Either way, everyone who isn't in upper management is getting the short end of the stick. But I suppose that's most corporations. Just thought this one was different at first... Because they claim to be.

      Continue reading
      34 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Misery

      Sep 23, 2021 - Underwriter II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free coffee You will be miserable with your coworkers together which improves your relationship with them. If you have a good leader they will have your back.

      Cons

      Cut the bonus structure while taking away opportunities to hit commitment. Raising commitment after “listening to our feedback” while the queues are low. Does not care about COVID and has said “COVID does not exist in the wall of UWM”. Brokers screaming at you and speaking to you like you are a child who knows nothing. Cannot go to the restroom without notifying a coworker and forwarding your phone to them. Brokers spam client requests that are timer begins instantly and you must complete within a timeframe.

      Continue reading
      30 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible company with some good people

      Sep 16, 2021 - Senior Underwriter in Pontiac, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of my teammates were good people. Training program was decent. PTO was fairly competitive (3 weeks after the start of 2nd year.) Good place to start a career. They will hire with minimal experience and you can take that experience elsewhere after a year or two.

      Cons

      This company got so caught up in their own dreams of becoming the largest lender that they made some costly mistakes. They build a massive complex in Pontiac, including the largest land-bridge in the state to connect their enormous buildings. And they wildly overestimated how many underwriters they would need. Because they spent so much money on their facility, they felt it necessary to bring ALL employees back into the office, regardless of circumstance. Not only as a way of justifying that expense, but also because this position is not competitive across the industry. Their facilities are pushed as a huge benefit to working for the company, so if employees are working remotely, they will eventually realize they can make more elsewhere. Personally, I hit all of my commitments (usually exceeded them) and was promoted quickly while working remotely. I also had family circumstances that made it impossible to come back into the office. I was forced to quit when the ultimatum was set for returning to the office. It took me less than a month to find a permanent remote position that pays 30% more with a competitor. Ironically, the company loves to tout that its employees are extremely valuable, and that we're all a giant family. But it does nothing to protect them (COVID is basically a dirty word. Minimal precautions taken. I knew several people who were forced to come into the office WHILE THEY HAD COVID.) And retention is not a goal of the company at all. This position was heavily production driven, and by the time I left, there was simply not enough to go around. It was mathematically impossible for everyone to hit their production goals, yet management continuously stressed the important of production, and reprimanded employees who did not hit them. I was fortunate to never be impacted by this, but I know a lot of people who were. Even when there was enough work to go around, this job never felt stable. I had 7 managers (team leads) in as many months, at one point. Some of them quit, some stepped down, some were 'politely asked' to step down. My rotating cast of coworkers was impossible to keep up with. I will say most of my managers were pleasant to work with, and generally knowledgeable. Hours were 10-7, not very good, and downright awful if you had a commute. Mandatory lunch made it worse. There's not enough time to really go anywhere or do anything, you just sit in the office for an hour. Most people work. Overtime is 'not mandatory' according to every manager, however every other Tuesday it is literally mandatory to work for 12 hours. And most employees are forced to work overtime to hit commitment in normal weeks since the workflow is in such a bad spot. The kicker? Senior underwriters are fully salaried. No additional pay for OT. Bonus program was peeled back so heavily that bonus pay is now pennies. High producers and employees who know what they're doing have no incentive to stay with the company once they've put in some time as a senior underwriter. And team leads have it even worse. They work a ton of OT, are not paid well, are not treated well by their managers or their clients, and have almost no upward mobility from there. Just trapped in a position that demands every ounce of your soul and rewards you with the pay that starting underwriters make at competitors.

      Continue reading
      35 people found this review helpful

      United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Response

      Thank you for posting your review and sharing your thoughts. Sounds like you had some very good takeaways, with a couple of concerns surrounding working remotely and staffing overall. We've always been an on-campus company; we absolutely feel we are better together and our campus culture is truly second to none. Being able to work side-by-side with fellow team members, to interact, collaborate, and engage make for a much more fulfilling work experience. We are also over-staffed by design. This allows for two things: to provide the best possible service to our clients, and to ensure a strong work-life balance for our team members. We are glad though that you've landed somewhere that's aligned with your and your family's needs. Best of luck to you!

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Oct 16, 2021 - Closer in Pontiac, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -benefits and amenities are really amazing -promotions -opportunity -training

      Cons

      -pay -shift times -mandatory late night shifts

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great perks but high stress

      Oct 12, 2021 - Underwriter II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people here are great and they have amazing perks/benefits

      Cons

      It’s stressful trying to hit high commitments ever single day

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Response

      We're sorry you're no longer at UWM to keep enjoying our perks, benefits, people, and MORE! Underwriting is a rigorous role, for sure, but we work hard to train and continually support all our team members. Good luck to you!

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to gain experience, but not to stay

      Oct 7, 2021 - Mortgage Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      UWM is great for training and development. They offered multiple UWX courses for incoming underwriters throughout the year teaching us the most effective way to underwrite loans and learn about the mortgage industry. My immediate pod were also amazing people. There are a lot of people there that know what they're doing and will support you in any way that they can.

      Cons

      Firm 40 was a common saying, but it was extremely unrealistic. I had to stay long hours to get my commitment of 16 done everyday. Meanwhile, brokers unfairly use the CR (Client Request) system to try and jump ahead of turn time and bully you when you don't give in to their requests.

      4 people found this review helpful

      United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Response

      Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We're sorry to see you're no longer here - Underwriting is a team of so much opportunity for growth and advancement. We always strive to ensure our staffing levels exceed volume demand so all our team members can enjoy a strong work-life balance. We always appreciate when team members can provide more, but our primary focus is achieving that balance. Our teams do a great job educating our brokers on the best way to use our CR system, and the process has been phenomenal in terms of creating more transparent communication and loan-level resolutions. Best of luck to you in your new role!

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Sets you up to succeed

      Oct 14, 2021 - Commercial Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      UWM gives you all the materials you need to be successful

      Cons

      changed bonus structure making it harder to reach meaningful bonuses

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,301 Reviews

    Popular Careers with United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM) Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at United Wholesale Mortgage (UWM)? Share Your Experiences

    or