Ungerboeck Software International Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ungerboeck Software International Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Ungerboeck Software International President & CEO Manish Chandak
Manish Chandak
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in O'Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For me, the most notable pro about working at Ungerboeck has been the professional and personal development/growth I have experienced since I joined the company nearly 4 years ago. We have certainly had our challenges over the past year and half. Leadership has changed and the business model has evolved to better reflect current software industry trends (both business model wise and software technology wise), and because of those changes our comfort zones get challenged a bit. However, it has been through those challenges that I have grown as a person, and what more could someone ask for from an employer besides opportunities to grow and develop both personally and professionally? The flexibility of schedules, the focus on health and wellness and an overall desire to work hard and produce really cool stuff that offers solutions to customer problems is...quite fun, albeit challenging at times. But it's a challenge to overcome and that's what makes it rewarding at the of the day. In summary, there is no perfect business out there, no company that does not have opportunities to evolve their message, their product and their customer service. We exist in a space (software) that you must always be evolving and getting better. I totally believe that is what we've done over the past year and half. Has it been uncomfortable at times? Yes. Has it been challenging at times? Yes. Has it been fun? Totally. I will say what I said earlier, I have grown tremendously by working through those challenging and fun times. And that is a benefit that won't ever show up on a website.

    Cons

    I have read a lot on here about the building look/fee and I would agree that it's time for an update, a bit more of a modern feel would be nice, I mean the 90's were great, but that was while ago and the decor from that era should be updated to better reflect the drive for innovation that exists within the product and offerings. At times there can be a feeling that messaging is too positive and that we don't seek enough critical feedback on product or processes, so I think we need to be OK talking about the stuff that goes wrong and what we can do to learn from it.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-05-09
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Good Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ungerboeck Software International full-time

    Pros

    I've been with the company for more than a year. The best part has been the people I work with - very talented and dedicated. If you've worked at organizations where you didn't have talented co-workers, you understand why this is so important. The company itself has more of a family atmosphere than corporate. It is a smaller company which I like and does have a global presence which can be very challenging (in a good way). The culture is very impressive. There are plenty of social events and company celebrations. It's not all play, of course, but the company does seem to actively try to maintain a balance. The CEO, Manish Chandak, has a very strong technical background and seems to understand the need to invest in newer technologies. He has definitely taken steps to move the company in a more innovative and "cutting edge" direction which is great to be a part of. Having a personal trainer on staff with a workout area is very popular.

    Cons

    I think the biggest con would be the legacy environment currently being supported. This is definitely decreasing and hopefully will be retired soon but for now it is still there. The company is definitely growing and so common problems like parking, office space, etc. do exist. I'm sure that management is aware of these and addressing them.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-04-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I thoroughly enjoy coming to work each day. The flexibility and family-friendly work environment is perfect for my busy life. There is a genuine focus on client satisfaction with support from the executive management team. The open door policy and speed of change is refreshing.

    Cons

    Benefits - The short-term disability policy mandates that the employee uses all PTO first, which can be problematic.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-05-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in O'Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    USI has created a fantastic work-life balance standard which is hard to find these days. The company really takes the growth and development of its employees to heart. The salary and benefits are great, the coworkers are incredibly motivated people, and the company is growing at a great pace across the globe, which provides great opportunities to work on international projects. The CEO is very positive and that sets a good culture, HR is extremely friendly and engaging, and I love working on different challenging projects with my supervisor. I am very excited about my professional growth at USI and about the company’s future!

    Cons

    Outdated building and limited parking spaces as the company is growing.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-05-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's all about delighting the customer - every division, group, and job discipline. You work with smart people, you work on exciting projects within an exciting industry, you are pushed to your limits...which can be rewarding when you accomplish great things. The diversity of the potential work and innovation can be very alluring. A lot of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    The company is changing rapidly to focus on customer satisfaction, changes are painful sometimes. You need to be willing to work hard :).

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-05-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Silicon valley is old news - USI defines modern tech in the midwest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in O Fallon, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, low stress, challenging work, talented coworkers, leaders who truly understand their product and industry. Self hosted hack-a-thons, tons of yearly events, full time gym and personal fitness trainer. Company recently had a massive culture shift and the department is in much, much better shape. Communication is improving, teams are building things ahead of schedule and overall it feels like all cylinders are firing.

    Cons

    Behind on technology. Company seriously needs to figure out a plan to escape from certain legacy services and invest even more in new R&D. Niche market - the Event industry is great, but with how many talented engineers they have, they could be building and earning way more. Should consider diversifying their offerings. Buildings are outdated, but they appear to be working on that? Not enough bathrooms for the growing number of employees. Parking will likely be an issue in the near future.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-03-10
  7. "Changing for the better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being newer in the workforce, this place has been a great place to begin my career. I get global experience that I wouldn't get at a larger organization. I have a small, but supportive team that is really good about working together when we're tackling a project. My favorite part about Ungerboeck is the people. They aren't just co-workers; they are friends, confidants, big brothers/sisters, and more. I know they have my back no matter what. Another great. and sometimes overlooked, part of Ungerboeck is the wellness program. I had the opportunity to workout with a trainer for 6 months, twice a week- for free!

    Cons

    About 6 months ago, there was some turnover: some of it was necessary and some of it was due to change. I feel like the dust has settled, so now there is significant effort on the product and retaining talent.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-03-09
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Going downhill with no end in sight -- stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in O'Fallon, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid in traditional core market which gives some stability. Some good people still care about client service.

    Cons

    New leadership is clueless and disconnected from the staff. Culture and growth started to deteriorate ever since sr. staff started to leave a few years ago ( VP Marketing, COO). That was the start of a downhill slide that saw most of sr. management turn over, including the CEO. The new management team is truly awful and have destroyed the culture that made it worth it to work at Ungerboeck despite consistent quality issues with the software.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-03-06
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Removing "negative" reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in O'Fallon, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I guess they're good at having negative reviews removed... as they did mine from 3 years ago. Ping Pong - if the sales guys will let you play. Free soda.

    Cons

    Antiquated system--USI spent way too long changing the software with no direct leadership. This has caused them to slip behind and let "true" SaaS companies drive ahead. USI spends way too much on overhead--hate to say it, but they need to cut staff majorly if they want to pull ahead. USI will be sold--They've refused to buy out smaller competitors with better platforms, which was a huge mistake. Change in CEO-- Krister Ungerboeck stepped down (or was forced to do so) because the company has been in trouble. I don't know much of the new CEO, but it seems (from what I hear from friends there) that he has lost more people under his leadership than the entire history of the company, this says something. Turnover--people are starting to realize the future of the company, low salaries, etc... and are leaving every week (I was one to start the leave.) Culture-- fake culture displayed to attract talent. Commissions -- I believe they changed the commission structure to where sales staff actually make less than they did before. Promotions-- there's not much room in USI to advance. Industry-- the industry is very limited. USI didn't look towards the future for the software and didn't realize the industry itself is rather small, and with so many competitors there's not much opportunity.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2018-02-16

    Ungerboeck Software International Response

    March 9, 2018CEO

    From what I can read here, it looks like you worked with us 3 or more years ago. We can appreciate any kind of criticism whether it is about our company, culture, or products. However, the assessment is 3 years old and we do not believe it reflects the reality of today. We have faith in a solid, customer focused product road-map and feel that we have a team surrounding the product that are committed to making that road-map become a reality. Our team is passionate, strong, skilled and striving to improve on a solid foundational product. I for one am very excited about where we are and where we are headed. Yes, we do still have free soda and Ping-Pong and you will at times see me giving the sales team a run for their money at the Ping-Pong table. 😊 A lot of changes have been made over the last 3 years and we are happy to say that our market and product position have never been stronger. We are not perfect, but we have the drive and commitment to be the innovator and leader in this space. Also, just a note: Per Glassdoor’s community guidelines, we, as the employer, cannot manipulate or delete reviews. Glassdoor does and will remove reviews that do not meet their guidelines.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (8)

    "A year and half ago this would have been a 5 star rating...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ungerboeck Software International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, great people, exciting industry

    Cons

    Leadership changes over the last year and half has resulted in a large number of employee turnover and a loss of the "family" company culture Ungerboeck once had.

    Continue reading
    Ungerboeck Software International2017-12-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 45 reviews