Under Armour Senior Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
14%
Recommend to a Friend
Under Armour President and CEO Patrik Frisk
Patrik Frisk
0 Rating
  1. "Fast Paced Environment"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at Under Armour full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Constant drive to grow and change. Great for go-getters and those who really want to take control and build.

    Cons

    Constant drive means we don't always take the time to see things from start to finish before we have to jump to the next. Too much fire fighting and limited global operations mindset/support.

    Under Armour2020-02-01
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Good Benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Under Armour full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Casual Dress, Employee Discount, Flexible

    Cons

    Boys Club Culture, No set Career paths, high turnover

    Under Armour2019-05-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great potential, but chaotic org and Senior Leadership does not have a clear strategy"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Senior Development Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Under Armour full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A fair amount of knowledgable, talented and highly motivated employees. Overall compensation very respectable within industry.

    Cons

    The lack of structure and clear strategy results in a very chaotic environment, high turnover and unfortunately the loss of some very knowledgeable and experienced employees.

    Continue reading
    Under Armour2019-04-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Assistant Store Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Under Armour full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee discount, scheduling flexibility, PTO

    Cons

    I have worked for the company for almost 5 years and decided to part ways because upper management does not value good workers. They treat staff as though everyone is replaceable, regardless of efforts or success in completing tasks. The Sr. ASM role is one level below store manager, so it is to be expected that there is a lot of responsibility, however, DM’s do not hold store managers accountable (at least in my district) so you end up doing more work than the store manager while getting paid much less. The pay bands are unreasonable, especially for sales associates. The freight position is typically an overnight position but they still get paid the same as floor sales associates. The DM acts like a robot, per se, and shows no sympathy or support for their other managers besides store manager. Lastly, since the DM consistently has their store manager’s back (which is fine), the store manager is also never held accountable - mostly sits in the office as though it were a desk job rather than retail, pawns off tasks on the rest of the management staff as they say they have more important things to do, and hasn’t had a single developmental conversation with me to help me improve upon my leadership skills. The HR department is very difficult to deal with and rarely allows the retail team to hold employees accountable for call outs or misconduct, without questioning the manager attempting to initiate the corrective action. This results in the team thinking it’s okay to call out without coverage, or not show up at all. Finally, the staff I have worked with both previously and presently are often very young (typically 18-20) meaning there is constantly drama and rumors which makes the environment very toxic and difficult to work in. I have worked at 4 different stores, all of which were the same situation. UA is a very operationally focused company that puts more value in processing freight efficiently instead of stressing importance of the wellbeing of teammates. I have no bad blood with this company, and I did enjoy working at UA initially but unfortunately, things change, policies change, and I just don’t see the need to give 110% effort to a place that considers you easily replaceable.

    Under Armour2018-10-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Under Armour full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great brand with passionate workers, who get to work within sport.

    Cons

    To many "yes" people afraid to step up to mgmnt because they feel it will ruin their future path. Retail is unstable.

    Continue reading
    Under Armour2017-12-14
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Was once great, lost its way"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst/Project Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Under Armour full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, including PTO. Smart, motivated teammates, cool waterfront campus, invests in the community, new super - competitive maternity and paternity leave.

    Cons

    -Downward turn in business means limited promotions and raises, therefore they highlight what you aren't doing instead of celebrating what you did as to not give you a promotion... leaving a culture of Type A go-getters frustrated and a lot of middle management negative chatter. -Boys club, locker room mentality leads to a lot of boisterous talk without saying a lot, or showing action. -Culture is identified as important but the reality is that the culture is one of high turnover of execs that leads to someone new trying to prove themselves, leading to over-work and little confidence in leadership - Finger pointing culture with poor corporate communication. -Lacking processes due to fast growth, systematically disorganized in project management. -Male dominated culture proved after finding gaps in male vs female pay, where males made +25% more in a business unit, with lesser titles. This is a reflection after leaving and thoughts on what made me want to leave vs what other companies offer.

    Continue reading
    Under Armour2017-11-27
  7. "Creating A Great Team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Guangzhou, Guangdong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Under Armour full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company has a lot of potential due to its rapid growth; there's a lot more to look forward to in the future. It promotes its employees to strive for a more creative and innovative way of thinking.

    Cons

    As a company expanding rapidly, it may be challenging to adapt to the company's pace. However, this pushes us to think differently and results in a more innovative ideology.

    Continue reading
    Under Armour2017-06-27
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Under Armour full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company, great benefits, great story, inspirational founder, great product, exciting events, worked with some good people and I learned a lot.

    Cons

    Lousy HR, unethical senior leadership, dog eat dog environment, pay is not competitive for exempt leaders or hourly teammates. Great company being destroyed by personal agendas and ambitions.

    Continue reading
    Under Armour2017-03-08
  9. "Senior Assistant Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Under Armour full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off EVERYTHING including website.

    Cons

    Retail. Very unorganized with communication from corporate. Last minute deadlines for HUGE projects.

    Under Armour2017-02-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Sr. Product Line Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Line Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Under Armour full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented teammates, good benefits, and energetic + young company culture

    Cons

    Poor leadership team, every day is a fire drill, and consistency re-org (3x a year or more) due to growth in the company.

    Continue reading
    Under Armour2017-01-10
Found 21 reviews