Ultimate Software Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ultimate Software Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ultimate Software CEO Adam Rogers
Adam Rogers
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "My "Ultimate" destination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture - treats everyone as a family -- & everyone in the family has a say in what we do. Trust - everyone in the family is a trusted member and this trust holds the family together Freedom - no one monitors/manages you, managers here are well-wishers invested in employees. Exposure - one can work in the cutting-edge technologies

    Cons

    Cons -- Haven't found anything yet...

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-03-12

    Ultimate Software Response

    March 18, 2019Talent Operations Specialist

    So happy to hear that you enjoy our company culture! Thanks so much for taking the time to write US a review.

    Continue reading
  2. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees really do come first, and are well treated regardless of job title. Pay is competitive. As a virtual employee I am trusted and provided great opportinities to learn and to contribute.

    Cons

    Haven't found any yet after 2 years.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2020-01-15
  3. "Perfect work life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Level III in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, great compensation, perfect work life balance, good culture

    Cons

    From developer perspective, this company lacks engineering gene. Performance review is not tailored to tech role and it is pretty frustrating when customer is one key criterion to judge a coder when BA takes responsibility to ensure customer satisfying. Developers are mostly new graduates who are painfully naive and inexperienced. Truely experienced and intelligent developers might face challenge to improve their skill further. Most of teams base their development on fancy CQRS+ES paradigm which means you need to spend one whoe month to finish some basic CRUD service and full of bugs.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2020-01-11

    Ultimate Software Response

    January 13, 2020Talent Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for giving us this thoughtful review. We value your feedback and look forward to continuously improving in the future.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    ""People First" ??"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning environment, 'almost' everyone is helpful when you ask questions.

    Cons

    Overall pace was a bit slower, people have unlimited PTO so they can take vacation whenever they want (of course, to an extend). This could slow the process of development. For someone who's eager to learn and work at a fast paced environment, "People First" might not be what you are looking for. A lot of intermediate and senior developers left the company because they think the learning curve is not as steep as before. Sprint goal changes so frequently and make the developers in the team question the purpose of the team and the product.

    Ultimate Software2019-11-10

    Ultimate Software Response

    December 5, 2019Talent Operations Specialist

    We're sorry to hear about your experience. Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and will use this to improve in the future.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer II in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great "people first" culture, they really mean it. Every employee is treated like they belong, and there's constant effort to make our workplace better. Great benefits and great people.

    Cons

    Sometimes teams feel siloed, would prefer a workspace where more voices and consensus can be heard.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-10-15
  6. "The best place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Human being is so valued at Ultimate Software . " People" first" is not just 2 words, it's more a solid culture where anyone and everyone is respected and has her/his right place and value.

    Cons

    Nothing really to say

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-10-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Pretty great company to work for, but has big company issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intermediate Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of great opportunities given to engineers straight out of university - Fun and very welcoming people - Great career learning opportunities - Straightforward career paths with lots of guidance on the way - Great benefits - Very fair compensation and stock options

    Cons

    - Can be very slow to adopt new technologies - Projects often get shifted around too frequently based on the wants/needs of upper management - Great developers frequently leave for other opportunities with more pay, less overhead and/or more expertise - Small changes often have far too much red tape - Culture can be kind of cult-like and bland at times

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-10-03
  8. "Good place to work if you love your work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Agent in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Multiple shifts available to apply for. Supervisor is supportive and help when in need

    Cons

    Everything seems fine so far no cons.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-05-29
  9. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    "If you take care of your people, your people will take care of the company, simple as that". This is the best workplace environment I've ever had the honour to work for. Amazing People, Best Product, and unbelievable leadership team.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Ultimate Software2019-04-30
  10. "My Ultimate and Final Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - People are very friendly and always willing to help - Management truly cares about their employees; 'people first' embedded in their thinking - Benefits are amazing! I have never been in a company that can top the benefits I am getting from Ultimate - Unlimited PTO; Free lunches/breakfast/snacks, etc; - PDIS trip to Disney/Universal - opportunity to learn cutting edge technology

    Cons

    Could not think of any

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-03-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1122 reviews