Ultimate Software Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ultimate Software Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ultimate Software Co-CEO Scott Scherr and Adam Rogers
Scott Scherr and Adam Rogers
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "My "Ultimate" destination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture - treats everyone as a family -- & everyone in the family has a say in what we do. Trust - everyone in the family is a trusted member and this trust holds the family together Freedom - no one monitors/manages you, managers here are well-wishers invested in employees. Exposure - one can work in the cutting-edge technologies

    Cons

    Cons -- Haven't found anything yet...

    Advice to Management

    You are so much invested in your employees like family and be assured, the family will take care of you and the company !!

    Ultimate Software2019-03-12
  2. "The best place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Human being is so valued at Ultimate Software . " People" first" is not just 2 words, it's more a solid culture where anyone and everyone is respected and has her/his right place and value.

    Cons

    Nothing really to say

    Advice to Management

    keep up the amazing work and culture

    Ultimate Software2019-10-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    ""People First" ??"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning environment, 'almost' everyone is helpful when you ask questions.

    Cons

    Overall pace was a bit slower, people have unlimited PTO so they can take vacation whenever they want (of course, to an extend). This could slow the process of development. For someone who's eager to learn and work at a fast paced environment, "People First" might not be what you are looking for. A lot of intermediate and senior developers left the company because they think the learning curve is not as steep as... before. Sprint goal changes so frequently and make the developers in the team question the purpose of the team and the product.

    Show More
    Ultimate Software2019-11-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer II in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great "people first" culture, they really mean it. Every employee is treated like they belong, and there's constant effort to make our workplace better. Great benefits and great people.

    Cons

    Sometimes teams feel siloed, would prefer a workspace where more voices and consensus can be heard.

    Advice to Management

    Try to avoid renaming our upcoming solution so many times. The name ultimately doesn't matter in the end, but the nomenclature from a technical standpoint can be burdensome when you still use libraries from the last naming iteration in the current one while moving to the new one.

    Ultimate Software2019-10-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Pretty great company to work for, but has big company issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intermediate Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of great opportunities given to engineers straight out of university - Fun and very welcoming people - Great career learning opportunities - Straightforward career paths with lots of guidance on the way - Great benefits - Very fair compensation and stock options

    Cons

    - Can be very slow to adopt new technologies - Projects often get shifted around too frequently based on the wants/needs of upper management - Great developers frequently leave for other opportunities with more pay, less overhead and/or more expertise - Small changes often have far too much red tape - Culture can be kind of cult-like and bland at times

    Advice to Management

    Overall pretty great company and I very much appreciate all the opportunities i'm given here. However my biggest concern is that the company seems to embrace this philosophy that it'll be the last company anyone will ever have to work for. For numerous of people i've worked with, this leads to an environment where there are not very many consequences to failure. Missing deadlines, stagnant growth, not... challenging themselves. Maybe if i was later into my career, i'd be okay with just settling down and getting comfortable here. However as someone in their mid 20s, I feel like I'm not surrounded by enough challenge with my peers and therefore do not feel as accomplished for reaching goals.

    Show More
    Ultimate Software2019-10-03
  6. "Good place to work if you love your work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Agent in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Multiple shifts available to apply for. Supervisor is supportive and help when in need

    Cons

    Everything seems fine so far no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Good job keep going.

    Ultimate Software2019-05-29
  7. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    "If you take care of your people, your people will take care of the company, simple as that". This is the best workplace environment I've ever had the honour to work for. Amazing People, Best Product, and unbelievable leadership team.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Ultimate Software2019-04-30
  8. "My Ultimate and Final Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - People are very friendly and always willing to help - Management truly cares about their employees; 'people first' embedded in their thinking - Benefits are amazing! I have never been in a company that can top the benefits I am getting from Ultimate - Unlimited PTO; Free lunches/breakfast/snacks, etc; - PDIS trip to Disney/Universal - opportunity to learn cutting edge technology

    Cons

    Could not think of any

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to do what you are all doing! :)

    Ultimate Software2019-03-25
  9. "Best employer, I've ever worked for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee In Canada in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The leadership team has created such an amazing culture, that employees work together like a family to accomplish great result: - Best employee retention in the market - Amazing customer retention and satisfaction - Leading HCM software in the market

    Cons

    Can't think of any right now... Really hoping everything will remain the same as we transition from public to private

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work...I feel truly blessed to be part of this organization!

    Ultimate Software2019-03-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Truly a Blessing to Work for this Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, people, benefits, work/life balance, resources and technology is on point.

    Cons

    Please remember Canadian employment law is different than the US. Bit of a disconnect there at times.

    Advice to Management

    Amazing company and values but need to focus on Canada a bit more and ensure compensation and employee recognition is fair with Canadian employees as well.

    Ultimate Software2019-03-07
Found 1087 reviews