Ultimate Software Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ultimate Software CEO Aron Ain
Aron Ain
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They empower all of their employees to do what is right for our customers.

    Cons

    Growing rapidly and the small company feel is gone.

    Ultimate Software2020-03-16
  2. "A Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work is all about people, and throughout my 3+ years at Ultimate Software, I've seen how much the company really does for its employees, and how much its employees really foster a great culture. I've felt lucky to be a part of it, especially the growing community we have in the Toronto office. Aside from that: - interesting tech - interesting problems to solve - great benefits - many communities of interest - philanthropic efforts

    Cons

    While management tries to respect work-life balance, I've had to put in a lot of overtime over the years to get all of the projects that have come my way done on time. That said, the unlimited paid time off has certainly offset that, as I've been able to take longer-than-average vacations during less-busy periods, and take random days off here and there when feeling overworked.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2020-05-25
  3. "Great work place/environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, people, environment, benefits, snacks/food, game room etc

    Cons

    nothing I can think of

    Ultimate Software2020-03-07
  4. "Love it here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees really do come first, and are well treated regardless of job title. Pay is competitive. As a virtual employee I am trusted and provided great opportinities to learn and to contribute.

    Cons

    Haven't found any yet after 2 years.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2020-01-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Perfect work life"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Level III in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, great compensation, perfect work life balance, good culture

    Cons

    From developer perspective, this company lacks engineering gene. Performance review is not tailored to tech role and it is pretty frustrating when customer is one key criterion to judge a coder when BA takes responsibility to ensure customer satisfying. Developers are mostly new graduates who are painfully naive and inexperienced. Truely experienced and intelligent developers might face challenge to improve their skill further. Most of teams base their development on fancy CQRS+ES paradigm which means you need to spend one whoe month to finish some basic CRUD service and full of bugs.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2020-01-11

    Ultimate Software Response

    January 13, 2020Talent Operations Specialist

    Thank you so much for giving us this thoughtful review. We value your feedback and look forward to continuously improving in the future.

  6. Helpful (2)

    ""People First" ??"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning environment, 'almost' everyone is helpful when you ask questions.

    Cons

    Overall pace was a bit slower, people have unlimited PTO so they can take vacation whenever they want (of course, to an extend). This could slow the process of development. For someone who's eager to learn and work at a fast paced environment, "People First" might not be what you are looking for. A lot of intermediate and senior developers left the company because they think the learning curve is not as steep as before. Sprint goal changes so frequently and make the developers in the team question the purpose of the team and the product.

    Ultimate Software2019-11-10

    Ultimate Software Response

    December 5, 2019Talent Operations Specialist

    We're sorry to hear about your experience. Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and will use this to improve in the future.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer II in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great "people first" culture, they really mean it. Every employee is treated like they belong, and there's constant effort to make our workplace better. Great benefits and great people.

    Cons

    Sometimes teams feel siloed, would prefer a workspace where more voices and consensus can be heard.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-10-15
  8. "The best place ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Human being is so valued at Ultimate Software . " People" first" is not just 2 words, it's more a solid culture where anyone and everyone is respected and has her/his right place and value.

    Cons

    Nothing really to say

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-10-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Pretty great company to work for, but has big company issues"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intermediate Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of great opportunities given to engineers straight out of university - Fun and very welcoming people - Great career learning opportunities - Straightforward career paths with lots of guidance on the way - Great benefits - Very fair compensation and stock options

    Cons

    - Can be very slow to adopt new technologies - Projects often get shifted around too frequently based on the wants/needs of upper management - Great developers frequently leave for other opportunities with more pay, less overhead and/or more expertise - Small changes often have far too much red tape - Culture can be kind of cult-like and bland at times

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-10-03
  10. "Good place to work if you love your work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Agent in Montreal, QC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ultimate Software full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Multiple shifts available to apply for. Supervisor is supportive and help when in need

    Cons

    Everything seems fine so far no cons.

    Continue reading
    Ultimate Software2019-05-29
Found 1146 reviews