Ulta Beauty "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ulta Beauty Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
2,048 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Beauty is not everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Journalist in Warwick, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount Product knowledge working with vendors Gratis

    Cons

    Upper management Theft and safety Payroll

    Ulta Beauty2020-01-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts are great, good product

    Cons

    Staffing is awful, upper management and corporate are unbearable

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-12-16
  3. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Make Up and Some friendly conworkers

    Cons

    Upper Management expects unrealistic goals for store goals

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-12-04
  4. "The worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operationa Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees. The discount and gratis was great when management wasn't taking it or not giving out properly. Good co workers

    Cons

    Upper management Drama Inconsistent and not fair

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-10-22
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Where do I start... This place is ridiculous."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gratis, employee discount, honestly that is all I can think of.

    Cons

    Scheduling, (lack of) training, no support from HR or upper management, rude customers, favoritism.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-09-24

    Ulta Beauty Response

    September 25, 2019Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We would like to hear more from you; please contact our We Care, Let’s Talk line at 855-478-5821, thank you.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "You will be really sorry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training Good Benefits Free Gratis Great employees

    Cons

    Long Hours Sub Par Pay Horrible Upper Management Unrealistic Expectations

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-09-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Okay no cool benifits like competitors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor in Rocklin, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool management and flexible hours

    Cons

    Upper management and raises biyearly or yearly

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-09-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good salary but you'll see why."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Benefits, Extra pay for holidays, gratis.

    Cons

    Always understaffed. The company does not invest in Loss Prevention department so all managers have to be LP to protect the company assets. No work life balance, I hardly get 2 days off in a row. The upper management just micromanages with little to no support. Credit card goals are unrealistic and stressful. The enivorment is extremely toxic. I do not get all my rest breaks. The mass side of the store is always a mess due to no help from anyone else in the store. Honestly worst job I've ever had. Would not reccomend to anyone.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-10-06

    Ulta Beauty Response

    October 15, 2019Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    We would like to hear more from you; please contact our We Care, Let’s Talk line at 855-478-5821, thank you.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good benefits but horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a great benefits for full time employee You get health insurance, paid sick time, paid personal time off right after you started. No waiting period time which is awesome.

    Cons

    Under paid and always under staff. I always work over time every week that was how I make money. Due to we have such a high turn over we always low on staff and we have so many shoplifter that we have to deal with all the time. Company not invested in Loss Prevention department so all managers have to be LP to protect the company assets. No work life balance, I hardly get 2 days off in a row. The upper management very micromanage, you need to get check your clear purse before you leaving the store and have to have manager approved a customer return transaction.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-09-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Could be so much better than it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment. Great coworkers. People passionate about helping people feel good about themselves. Loyal customers. Company that stays current.

    Cons

    HR and upper management do NOT help employees. They look out for each other and even if an entire store of employees is having sue-able issues with management, they just offer to transfer the employee instead of removing the issue. Management can be great, but only depending on your store. No room to grow. As a salon employee, I’m not even allowed to work extra shifts on the retail side of the store if they need help with shipment, as it counts against salon hours. That would be a huge benefit to the team if they changed that. The point system is absolute G A R B A G E. If you show up at 10:06 instead of 10:05 you get a half a point, sometimes even if it’s an “excused” lateness (which comes back to store management not being fair). As if the point system theory wasn’t bad enough, you CAN’T EVEN WORK BACK YOUR POINTS. So if you come in early to help, cover someone shift to help, noneeeeee of that makes any difference and won’t work off any points. If you have a point system, where is the room for people to improve themselves? You’re only punishing employees instead of working with them on striving to be better. OH, and you can’t even clock in early. So if your shift starts at 10 and it’s 9:54, you can’t clock in and have to wait till at least 9:55. As a salon employee, this isn’t even enough time to set up for clients and get situated into your day. So, there’s literally 0 incentive to show up early. Again, if you have a point system but don’t allow people to clock in early if they come in early to beat traffic, you’re only punishing them. A lot of “retail” vs “salon” atmosphere from mostly management and not even employees. If a salon employee wants to help retail and learn more products to help sell by attending retail classes, they shouldn’t be discouraged to do so because it’s “retail only”, yet in the same breath told we are a “team”. That’s not how to create a cohesive unit. I understand as a business you have to abide by certain things, but some of the corporate rules seem to go against everything the company stands for. Wanting to grow as a hair stylist in Ulta can feel like a joke. I can legally do lash extensions in my state due to my licensing in Cosmo, yet ULTA requires certification, BUT WON’T PAY FOR IT. So you have to pay an extra $1500-$2000 to get a certificate in something you may already know how to do, JUST to grow yourself AND your store. Hogwash. This used to be my favorite job when I first started, and right now the only thing keeping me is to keep my clients happy.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-08-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 186 reviews