Ulta Beauty "beauty" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4672 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
1,918 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Guest Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bolingbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful atmosphere, I loved my co workers.

    Cons

    The management was horrible at Ulta Beauty

    Advice to Management

    Listen, and there for your employees.

    Ulta Beauty2019-01-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Hired for drugstore but.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Beauty Advisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty for more than a year

    Pros

    Other workers were great as they understand what you are going through..

    Cons

    getting hired as a beauty advisor sucks. You do EVERYTHING! From cashier to stocks to customer service. EVEN WORK AT HIGH-END makeup side. Although high end makes more money for very little they do.

    Advice to Management

    treat people better

    Ulta Beauty2019-01-18
  3. Helpful (3)

    "not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor in Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free samples of makeup and skincare. 25% employee discount throughout the year. 30% during the holidays. fellow co workers were kind yet some can be snobby if you’re new.

    Cons

    part time employees are given 4 hour work shifts. they like to hire a lot of part time employees and split hours amongst each. this could be good for those who are in high school or college. it’s very common to be short staffed due to management trying to save hours. this makes the environment very hostile during busy days and more susceptible to theft and unhappy customers. they also require closers to clean the... store. beauty advisors are not really advisors, the correct term would be cashiers.

    Show More
    Ulta Beauty2019-01-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Absolutely Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Crystal Lake, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I guess the store is clean? The employee discount is all right, but plenty of stores have far better discounts.

    Cons

    The managers will lie to you when you ask about getting time to train with a brand or the possibility of a promotion. They'll ignore you when you ask for a break through the walkies until you walk up and ask them in person, as your co-workers confirm that they can, in fact, hear you and it's not your walkie that's the problem. However, the worst part is that the managers can make you supremely uncomfortable and no... one will do anything about it even if you report it. A manager recently made comments on my chest and they've warned me about tiny problems with dress code (I had patterned socks on under a floor-length skirt) while others are allowed to parade around in striped pants and leather leggings. There's even a beauty advisor whose numbers don't work at the cashwrap and the managers are doing nothing to fix it so she spends all of her time in prestige cosmetics and being extremely unprofessional to guests with severe acne.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate bias, fix the numbers for employees when they don't work instead of just letting them roam around the floor when we need help at the registers, and actually do something about sexual harassment.

    Ulta Beauty2019-01-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "To much work for little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor/Cashier in Plant City, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with makeup and discount

    Cons

    Hours are not good Low pay for all the work they want you to do Beauty advisor does cashier and unloading truck

    Advice to Management

    Change the pay for part time employees and hours let ppl have a life also

    Ulta Beauty2018-11-25
  6. "Greed, incompetence and looking the other way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team- truly wonderful people and great attitudes although they have been pot through the ringer.

    Cons

    -training; there needs to be a serious focus on FULLY training staff, ESPECIALLY Managment. Instead of consistently hiring outside "talent" with the expectation that the rest of the staff will just help train them. These same people they don't feel would be a good fit for Store Manager, are training the store managers. -Promoting from within. Stop hiring outside people that know little to absolutely nothing about... beauty...and I mean nothing. Truly remarkable how trade people are hired on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have worked in this industry for many years and of those years, I have yet to see such a successful and potentially great company, fall so incredibly short. The staff is treated so poorly and underpaid, outside talent brought in constantly that has no passion for the beauty industry, or knowledge, bullying and mistreating employees and vendors is constantly overlooked and swept under the rug. Truly a shame.

    Ulta Beauty2019-01-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Love my Job, Not Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Wonderful team, upbeat people who like to work -Good 25% discount, sometimes we get an additional discount on specified brands -I get to train the new hires, which I absolutely love -Guests are always so appreciative -Management has always been grateful for my work

    Cons

    -Only in manager truly does her job and does all of the “heavy lifting” for other managers -I was told in the beginning of November I would be promoted from Prestuge Beauty Advisor to Lead Cashier, the Associate Manager said the General Manager would discuss pay with me the next day, but it would be temporary. We already have two lead cashiers. The next day, the GM didn’t mention anything. I went on vacation for a... week, so I assumed they were waiting. The next week I mentioned to the GM I wasn’t in the system as Lead Cashier(I couldn’t verify returns with my numbers). The GM brought me to the back and couldn’t put me in the computer, so she called IT. She told me by my next shift I would be in. I wasn’t. I mentioned it again, she said she’d make a note to call HR. When I asked her about it again she said she thought we could only have two. Since then, it is like it never happened and I never received the promotion. -Very high turnover rate, it’s almost a brand new team from when I started -Almost everyone who applies is hired and then not trained by management, it makes it difficult to work -I had to leave for a few months and reapply for the position as PBA so I would be compensated

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Most employees get little to no training, be patient and help to educate them on what you know -Communicate openly with employees and other managers professionally, instead of gossiping about other workers

    Ulta Beauty2018-12-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Read the reviews first before applying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved my coworkers, the Dermalogica training was great, 25% discount, salon was tight knit & I learned a lot from veteran employees. Salon employees receive free services, customers and tips were generous.

    Cons

    They got rid of the best manager I've ever worked for & brought in someone no one can stand. My hours were cut severely & I was expected to do everything with nothing and FOR nothing ( min wage.) We were micromanaged to death. Breaks are few & if you have physical limitations it's not the job for you. You're expected to constantly recruit people for facials & do all the salon duties if you don't... have a client. If they no show too bad; you have to do conversions instead. I have a painful autoimmune disease & it finally became too much. My body decided my fate at Ulta for me & I don't miss the long hours, not having life outside of work & the emotional & physical pain for min wage ( commission structure is a joke.) Licensed professionals deserve better than this; I also have a college degree BUT beauty is my passion. If that were the focus instead of the almighty dollar then they'd have unlimited success. Also the clear bags/ check every time one leaves the store is humiliating. That's what cameras/ security is for. 3/4 of the salon left at once so that's saying something. My GM bad mouthed them afterwards, + they were all friends of mine. I stayed too long being miserable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let people do their jobs. Stop breathing down their necks.

    Ulta Beauty2018-10-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "100% is the expectation, not the goal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The absolute best part of working for Ulta is the ability to help women in all walks of life each and and everyday.

    Cons

    It is a growing company, it is in constant state of evolution. People: Invest in Training. Invest in your people. Performance: 100% is the goal, giving your team goals of 150%,200% or even 300% to goal is absolutely insane. That life is unsustainable, looking at that model long term is impossible. For a person to give 300% in a day is possible, but to expect that everyday? It’s why the turnover is HIGH.... Process: Someone, please take a look at your operational processes. Streamline the process. There’s no need to run 20+ different sales at any given time. Customers do not read signs. Take those hours/money wasted on signs and operational tasks and invest in more hours on the sales floor. The guests come to experience the world of beauty, they did not come to read signage.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    On average, all Ulta stores are rated 2-3 stars on yelp. That’s your customers reviewing their daily experience in your stores. What does that tell you? Your 200% expectation should be directed towards your people, your customers and the rest will fall in its place.

    Ulta Beauty2018-10-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ulta Beauty advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Beauty Advisor in Tualatin, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty for less than a year

    Pros

    I would say free makeup but they give you a lip gloss for every 20 credit cards you bring in. It’s an empty promise.

    Cons

    Horrible contradicting management. Management doesn’t have sympathy or concideration for the girls. You are asked to come in at 6am and unload boxes for hours a few times a week and they don’t include that in the interview or application. You are hired as a beauty advisor but don’t get to play with makeup or do people’s makeup, you’re a register girl who has to get credit cards and not get rewarded for it. There’s... bullying coming from management towards girls at the location I worked at aswell. No ability to be promoted as management would not hire girls from within who where qualified for positions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be considerate for the people under you or you will lose those who are helping the stores numbers therefore allowing you to keep your job. When there’s drama, don’t tell the girls to handle it themselves, go be a manager and fix the issue. And the bullying needs to stop, everyone understands management is incharge but it should stop there with authority. The girls working at ulta are not puppets who need to get you... food and drinks on their only 15 minute breaks, and then are asked to preform and don’t get rewarded for it. I’m confused how our manager got her position when I myself have management experience and was appalled by the way girls were treated.

    Show More
    Ulta Beauty2018-11-02

    Ulta Beauty Response

    November 6, 2018Manager, Field Talent Acquisition

    We would like to hear more from you; please contact our We Care, Let’s Talk line at 855-478-5821, thank you.

Found 4672 reviews