Ulta Beauty Skin Therapist Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ulta Beauty Skin Therapist Reviews

Updated Jul 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
17 Ratings
  1. "Current Skin Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Therapist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount on retail products

    Cons

    Poor management Micro Management Only get support when you complain. No consistency. Manangenent lacks information about services. And professional needs of the skin therapist. I am treating more like a salesperson then a licensed professional.

    Advice to Management

    Be clear about ones duties during hiring interview. Don't wothhold information just to fill the position.

    Ulta Beauty2019-07-24
  2. "Love my Ulta family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great like-minded people in a fun environment

    Cons

    I'm only there very part time so I don't always know everyone

    Ulta Beauty2019-07-08
  3. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Therapist in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    How much you make depends on how much clientele you have.

    Cons

    Clients that don’t show up or cancel last minute. No down payment.

    Ulta Beauty2019-05-17
  4. "Great start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Therapist in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the atmosphere Good trainings Great starting point for estheticians

    Cons

    Compensation structure wasnt the best, I have heard it has changed though

    Ulta Beauty2019-04-05
  5. "If your an esthetician's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Therapist in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work for beauty advisor but any other job there sucks

    Cons

    if you're an esthetician this is a good place to start but not worth the impossible goals they give you

    Advice to Management

    focus on your employees not just doing your own job.

    Ulta Beauty2019-02-28
  6. "Best Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Therapist in Hammond, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of walk-ins, training, gratis

    Cons

    odd salon hours, feels like you work retail even though you have an education,

    Ulta Beauty2019-02-12
  7. "Fine place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Therapist in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a really good manager that was accommodating to my schedule, good benefits

    Cons

    Very dependent on tips to make decent money. A lot of pressure to sell more, constant talk about goals & numbers

    Ulta Beauty2019-02-14
  8. "Great for retail and hair, less so for skin care."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Therapist 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts; caring shift leaders; training was informative.

    Cons

    Stylists tended to be clique-y; not that many pushes to help skin department.

    Ulta Beauty2018-12-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Skin Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Therapist in Dunwoody, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    IDI product training Great benefits such as employee discount Salon employees receive free services

    Cons

    Stuck up and rude management Pay was absolutely terrible Corporate does NOT support the skin therapists we are only there to make the company more money They don't put any advertising out about us Having to harass shoppers on the sales floor and trying to get them to get a facial in a loud, bright store.

    Advice to Management

    Trained professionals should be compensated for their expertise. Minimum wage is a slap in the face

    Ulta Beauty2018-12-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Read the reviews first before applying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved my coworkers, the Dermalogica training was great, 25% discount, salon was tight knit & I learned a lot from veteran employees. Salon employees receive free services, customers and tips were generous.

    Cons

    They got rid of the best manager I've ever worked for & brought in someone no one can stand. My hours were cut severely & I was expected to do everything with nothing and FOR nothing ( min wage.) We were micromanaged to death. Breaks are few & if you have physical limitations it's not the job for you. You're expected to constantly recruit people for facials & do all the salon duties if you don't... have a client. If they no show too bad; you have to do conversions instead. I have a painful autoimmune disease & it finally became too much. My body decided my fate at Ulta for me & I don't miss the long hours, not having life outside of work & the emotional & physical pain for min wage ( commission structure is a joke.) Licensed professionals deserve better than this; I also have a college degree BUT beauty is my passion. If that were the focus instead of the almighty dollar then they'd have unlimited success. Also the clear bags/ check every time one leaves the store is humiliating. That's what cameras/ security is for. 3/4 of the salon left at once so that's saying something. My GM bad mouthed them afterwards, + they were all friends of mine. I stayed too long being miserable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let people do their jobs. Stop breathing down their necks.

    Ulta Beauty2018-10-24
Found 50 reviews