Ulta Beauty Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ulta Beauty Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4270 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
1732 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Working so many weekends that it’s hard to have any work life balance(in 144 reviews)

  • "Very little room for growth unless someone steps down/quits/gets fired, which is rare(in 63 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Skin advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Learned lots of knowledge of skincare

    Cons

    Life balance I spent most of my time at work. Sat sundays.

    Ulta Beauty2019-02-21
  2. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    No micromanagement, great people to work with

    Cons

    PAY is ridiculously low, a Walmart employee makes that as a start, we do not get bonuses, holiday pay.

    Advice to Management

    Stop starving your reps!

    Ulta Beauty2018-11-19
  3. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty

    Pros

    Amazing discount. It's great to play with make up and help women feel good about themselves. I loved getting a chance to try new products.

    Cons

    Nights and weekends, but that's expected with retail. There's a a lot of turnover so sometimes you need to work extra hard to make sure customers are taken care of

    Advice to Management

    Great place to work

    Ulta Beauty2017-02-01
  4. "Fast paced, cross functional, corporate driven, partnership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Freehold, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling Good salary and benefits Opportunities for development and growth

    Cons

    Typical retail annoyances Long holiday hours Will not approve over time

    Ulta Beauty2019-04-23
  5. "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    so many free products and half off salon services

    Cons

    no enough staff during holidays

    Ulta Beauty2019-04-24
  6. "Love!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor in Garden Grove, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts, Ability to improve and move up

    Cons

    Not enough training for prestige due to hours

    Advice to Management

    Train us more to be able to explain better, we havent had training in months

    Ulta Beauty2019-04-23
  7. "Good place to start in the beauty industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Holland, MI

      I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy place to work good discount friendly management

      Cons

      Limited hours that were not always guaranteed

      Ulta Beauty2019-04-23
    • "Great environment!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - MAC Makeup Artist in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The job itself is amazing if you are passionate about making others feel incredible about themselves! if you are a people person you'll love this even more! There is always someone new in your chair! You also are able to not only perform makeup applications but also teach makeup lessons!

      Cons

      Too many back to back appointments with little to no break time in between appointments!

      Ulta Beauty2019-04-23
    • "Best experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lancôme Beauty Advisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I grew to love and care for all my co workers and Lancôme products as well as my loyal clients.

      Cons

      Sometimes manager's are stretched too thin.

      Advice to Management

      Always stay Positive and keep leading by example.

      Ulta Beauty2019-04-22
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Lead Cashier 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great discounts, management listens, and easy to move up the ladder.

      Cons

      Getting people to sign up for credit cards. They are becoming more and more strict about meeting the credit card goals.

      Ulta Beauty2019-04-18
    Found 4270 reviews