Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
2,098 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots of turnover in upper management(in 191 reviews)

  • "Shifts were inconsistent; felt like beauty ambassadors were on their own(in 181 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Skin advisory"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Learned lots of knowledge of skincare

    Cons

    Life balance I spent most of my time at work. Sat sundays.

    Ulta Beauty2019-02-21
  2. "CSR"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    No micromanagement, great people to work with

    Cons

    PAY is ridiculously low, a Walmart employee makes that as a start, we do not get bonuses, holiday pay.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2018-11-19
  3. "Sales associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty

    Pros

    Amazing discount. It's great to play with make up and help women feel good about themselves. I loved getting a chance to try new products.

    Cons

    Nights and weekends, but that's expected with retail. There's a a lot of turnover so sometimes you need to work extra hard to make sure customers are taken care of

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2017-02-01
  4. "Great experience with my management team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and gratis is nice

    Cons

    Customers can be crazy, don't get paid enough

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-28
  5. "Not a bad place to work for anyone interested in cosmetics and hair."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise & Service Coordinator in North Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Discount, Great Management Team, Flexibility, Versatile, Gender friendly/fluid, and Fun Atmosphere to work.

    Cons

    Horrible contingency plan relating to COVID-19, the company handled the care of part-time employees terribly. A lot of people lost their jobs with no supplemental pay.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-05-27
  6. "Would definitely go back"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Ambassador 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome experience being around makeup and getting to learn about new products and techniques.

    Cons

    Shifts were inconsistent; felt like beauty ambassadors were on their own.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-27
  7. "I do cycle account ,I like counting."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Control 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I do cycle account, i like counting.

    Cons

    Who are hard working they should get bonus 10 ,20 ulta gifts card.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-05-28
  8. "Amazing place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly workplace. Management wants you to learn

    Cons

    Hours are not the best and those they like will get better hours.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-25
  9. "Fun but scheduling is tough"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Beauty Advisor in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love makeup you’ll love it. Customers are nice for the most part and your coworkers become great friends.

    Cons

    Weekends, nights, and holidays required. Break times are not well managed.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-26
  10. "Great management and company culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist in Marlton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, great culture, inclusive workplace.

    Cons

    Depending on position, pay is lower, but wages are normal for retail workers.

    Ulta Beauty2020-05-21
Found 5041 reviews