Ulta Beauty Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4381 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
1796 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management was a nightmare(in 170 reviews)

  • "That is not referring to myself I had my solid hours but for the other beauty advisors they really struggled with that(in 165 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Skin advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Learned lots of knowledge of skincare

    Cons

    Life balance I spent most of my time at work. Sat sundays.

    Ulta Beauty2019-02-21
  2. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    No micromanagement, great people to work with

    Cons

    PAY is ridiculously low, a Walmart employee makes that as a start, we do not get bonuses, holiday pay.

    Advice to Management

    Stop starving your reps!

    Ulta Beauty2018-11-19
  3. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty

    Pros

    Amazing discount. It's great to play with make up and help women feel good about themselves. I loved getting a chance to try new products.

    Cons

    Nights and weekends, but that's expected with retail. There's a a lot of turnover so sometimes you need to work extra hard to make sure customers are taken care of

    Advice to Management

    Great place to work

    Ulta Beauty2017-02-01
  4. "Best Career move ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Sunset Valley, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Constant flow of Guests, great incentives, education!

    Cons

    Constant change in management on retail side. Sometimes retail is confused about Salo culture.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communication and symbiotic relationships flowing.

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-15
  5. "Great place for lower level employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount Fun environment No individual sales tracking or goals Lots of pathways to move up within store

    Cons

    Managers have too many responsibilities and very little time to do them DMs are rarely present in store Hard to move up after reaching associate manager in store Management schedules very erratic and subject to change often

    Advice to Management

    Store management needs more payroll to complete management tasks, or every store needs a co-manager. Consistent and compiled reporting methods would alleviate a lot of field managements stress and shorten office time. Operational standards and practices are not effective for successful future operational process updates.

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-13
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Manager in West Des Moines, IA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful opportunity to grow your business acumen. Great company culture and mentoring available.

    Cons

    Schedule is typical for retail which includes all but one weekend working and a minimum of one closing shift per week. Opportunity to better compensate as compared to other companies right now.

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-11
  7. "Good if your are looking for short term experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Experience Good Hours busy not boring Discount Gratis

    Cons

    low pay not a lot of positions

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-11
  8. "Positive Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Growth opportunity.

    Cons

    Upper management. Senior leadership. Politics

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-10
  9. "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Denham Springs, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount. Dress code let's you express yourself. Fun team to work with

    Cons

    Hours are strange. Alot of standing

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-10
  10. "Makeup Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Makeup Artist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Assisting customers with makeup products and application

    Cons

    Salary is below market rate

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-08
Found 4381 reviews