Ulta Beauty Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ulta Beauty Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4539 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
1861 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management was a nightmare(in 172 reviews)

  • "Prestige beauty advisors cannot do makeup applications(in 167 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Skin advisory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Learned lots of knowledge of skincare

    Cons

    Life balance I spent most of my time at work. Sat sundays.

    Ulta Beauty2019-02-21
  2. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    No micromanagement, great people to work with

    Cons

    PAY is ridiculously low, a Walmart employee makes that as a start, we do not get bonuses, holiday pay.

    Advice to Management

    Stop starving your reps!

    Ulta Beauty2018-11-19
  3. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty

    Pros

    Amazing discount. It's great to play with make up and help women feel good about themselves. I loved getting a chance to try new products.

    Cons

    Nights and weekends, but that's expected with retail. There's a a lot of turnover so sometimes you need to work extra hard to make sure customers are taken care of

    Advice to Management

    Great place to work

    Ulta Beauty2017-02-01
  4. "No room to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere and lots of discounts and benefits

    Cons

    Too much pressure on credit card sign ups

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-18
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, incentives, salon management

    Cons

    Store manager. Salon manager is great

    Advice to Management

    Do what you would expect of employees

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-18
  6. "Great for short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rom 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefit, discounts, and environment. There is room for growth.

    Cons

    Stressful can be very demanding.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key.

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-16
  7. "You will grow here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Weatherford, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ULTA is great at training you and you will learn a lot here!

    Cons

    Not many cons except you have to push product on customers I felt like.

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-16
  8. "Room for Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Communication isn’t as good and team isn’t on same page

    Advice to Management

    Keep everyone in the loop

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-15
  9. "Great starting job to get into the beauty industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Cashier in Tualatin, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, gratis, lots of things to do, good management, flexibility

    Cons

    Standard pay, rude customers, sometimes low hours depending on your performance

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-15
  10. "For retail, a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise & Service Coordinator in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay (above minimum), lots of opportunity for advancement, yearly raises, open to raises when suggested.

    Cons

    It's retail. Hours depend on performance, so it can be very short staffed at times. The quality of the workplace is completely depend on who you are working with.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management, please give each store enough hours to actually make budgets,

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-14
Found 4539 reviews