Ulta Beauty Prestige Manager Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
45%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
77 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Thick skin need only apply"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Discounts, free stuff. Fun with the right staff.

    Cons

    Management says they are in your corner when really it is all about them. Far too many thefts that are ultimately deemed a managers' fault while we cannot stop them. Disregard employee safety when it comes to thefts. Training is terrible!!! Lack of training for a job that demands so much.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-05-17
  2. "Does Not Recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Sales Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The insurance is good, and the discount is amazing. Paid trainings were fun.

    Cons

    Low pay for too much responsibilities, the culture of the store is cliquish, and the only way to move up is to do underhanded things. The amount of theft stores see is insane, and you're expected to maintain your division of responsibility and play security guard. District managers rarely know what's going on.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-02-21
  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Great salary Amazing people

    Cons

    Nothing Nothing Nothing Nothing Nothing

    Ulta Beauty2020-02-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it’s cracked up to be"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Prestige Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gratis , discounts, networking. Fun working environment

    Cons

    Catty environments, backstabbing and cattiness

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-01-20
  5. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Sales Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Company Great Training Future Growth Opportunities Professional Growth Amazing Benefits

    Cons

    Hours can fluctuate Can not get holidays off Low Budget for Hours Crazy goals with staffing and resources

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-01-03
  6. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of gratis, flexible hours, many facets of the business to grow in.

    Cons

    High turnover rate in management.

    Ulta Beauty2019-12-31
  7. "Liked the job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Sales Manager in Portage, MI
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got along really well with most people in the store. The employee discount was great. Liked being a manager

    Cons

    Work life balance was really hard. Had to re arrange my schedule last minute a lot. When store wasn't staffed it made it really hard to do my specific job

    Ulta Beauty2019-12-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Ulta needs to put people first"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cosmetics industry is a fun industry to learn in

    Cons

    Ulta doesn't provide enough payroll to effectively staff the floor and cash wrap to ensure all guests are helped. Ulta preaches to give a "WOW" experience to guests, but stores are not given enough payroll to ensure associates can help guests on the floor. The end result is customers have to self shop and tend to get frustrated because no one is on the floor to help them.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-12-05
  9. "Very stressful"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Prestige Sales Manager 

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time

    Pros

    Free makeup and makeup education

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals, management is aggressive and time management

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-10-30
  10. "Good company with great potential"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prestige Sales Manager in Dublin, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cosmetics with out the pretense. Great product offering. Easily obtainable goals/metrics for associates. Mostly great camaraderie between stores.

    Cons

    Lack of merchandising vision among store leaders. Good pay for leadership teams, but lacking competitive rates for associates.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-10-24
Found 144 reviews