Ulta Beauty Prestige Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ulta Beauty Prestige Consultant Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
55%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
54 Ratings
  1. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Consultant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are passionate about make up and skincare, this is a great place to work

    Cons

    At times, the other employees can be catty

    Ulta Beauty2020-02-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Management is bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Prestige Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount is good, especially around the holidays

    Cons

    The employee turnover is huge! They kept hiring new people and at the most we would get 8 hours per week each. The manager showed a lot of favoritism. Everyone that started working there with me ended up quitting

    Ulta Beauty2019-09-27
  3. "Its okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gratis, makeup, clients, fun, and good events

    Cons

    they work you like a dog and promote others

    Ulta Beauty2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Job satisfaction depends on who you work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor/Task/Prestige Consultant in Tukwila, WA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Useful product/brand educational trainings and gratis (Prestige Beauty Advisor only) 25% employee discount, sometimes (usually around the holidays) specific brands will add an additional discount on top of the normal 25% Brand events/store competitions to win free products/food is a great way to motivate the team to work together and succeed. The overall management structure that Ulta follows is exceptional/better than most retail stores, there can be up to 5 or 6 managers overseeing different aspects of the store which is nice. Extremely fun to be at work when its with the right people?

    Cons

    All it takes is one rotten apple to ruin the whole tree. Up until my last couple of months I truly felt my store had one of the best teams until we got a new GM who was clearly under qualified and did not know how to run a cosmetics retail store. Because she was in control of most of the store decisions, she drove away pretty much all of the workers and our store completely turned over.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-07-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Much better than I expected, but still not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prestige Consultant in Parma, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -25% Employee discount on all Ulta products -You get to make people feel beautiful and confident -Most of the staff here really gets along and it's like a big family -It can feel like you get to enjoy creative work -Since you're constantly around the samples, you can really always try out products extensively before purchasing them and make sure that your money isn't wasted. -No minimum sales requirements per shift, although they do have numbers that they'd ideally like you to hit.

    Cons

    -Sometimes you don't get your schedule until the day before you're expected to work, so it's impossible to plan anything -Hard to get time off/pretty much all of my requests for time off were ignored -Forget enjoying your holidays because they will abruptly extend store hours and not even tell you, but expect you to suddenly be available for those hours. 30 minute lunches constantly get interrupted because they have no employee lunch area so you end up eating in the stock room and people constantly come in and out asking you questions, talking to you about work, etc, until it doesn't feel like you've had a lunch/break at all. -I know a lot of other stores get gratis, but the whole time I was there I got gratis maybe once, and it was always leftover stuff in unattractive colors that the managers find undesirable, otherwise they keep it for themselves. -Managers are cliquey. If they like you then I guess you're fine but if not then prepare for trouble because they run around like bullies and have no problems talking about you behind your back, even to OTHER EMPLOYEES.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-07-03
  6. "Great entry level position into the beauty industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Prestige Consultant 

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sent to monthly trainings Flexible schedule Team environment

    Cons

    Not much room for growth Retail environment

    Ulta Beauty2019-06-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor/Task/Prestige Consultant in Creve Coeur, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount is good Meeting new people Each location is different

    Cons

    Management is a disaster Hours are hard to come by Transfer process is difficult Inconsistencies from one store to another

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-06-26

    Ulta Beauty Response

    July 1, 2019TA Social Media & Communications Intern

    We would like to hear more from you; please contact our We Care, Let’s Talk line at 855-478-5821, thank you.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "They don’t care at all about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor/Task/Prestige Consultant in Everett, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The discount and that is it.

    Cons

    The we care hotline is ridiculous. They don’t care about their employees at all. Even when employees get mistreated. If anything happened they will work against you good luck because you’re on your own. If you stand up for yourself in anyway you will get terminated.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-07-12
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Ulta Prestige Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s easy work no stress

    Cons

    Long hours Poor management

    Ulta Beauty2019-05-01
  10. "Ulta Prestige Beauty Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ulta Prestige Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    gratis, independence to advise customers

    Cons

    Inventory restock hours 4am and had to work them very often

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-04-15
Found 144 reviews