Find jobs for Hair Stylist

Ulta Beauty Hair Stylist Reviews

Updated May 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Ulta Beauty CEO Mary Dillon
Mary Dillon
41 Ratings
  1. "Stressful AF"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meaningful friendships, great coworkers, amazing clients, loved my career, benefits were great if you got them

    Cons

    no stability, no leadership, couldn't keep a salon manager to save their lives, the pay was not worth the amount of time I worked there, NEVER got benefits because I wasn't considered a "full-time status" employee

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-05-14
  2. "Didn't get along with boss"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Texarkana, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good with teaching you how to do things that you really didnt understand

    Cons

    Not very good with setting appointments especially when it comes to walk ins

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-02-11
  3. "NOT ALOUD TO SIT!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they get a lot of walk-ins

    Cons

    I am not ALLOWED to sit down, I have to go to the bathroom and sit on the toilet to rest my back for a few minutes

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-03-07
  4. "Perfect place for someone who's looking to gain more skills and build clientele."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hair Stylist in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ulta Beauty

    Pros

    They offer classes when you get hired as a hair stylist, and you get paid your hourly wage for the duration of the class.

    Cons

    When you don't have client in your chair, you have to be on the floor to help customers find the right foundation and/or concealer for their skin tone and type, or any other shipping needs they might have. But, since you're a stylist you don't get trained on the different make-up lines or how to properly shade match someone for foundations. If they were to offer more in-depth training on all this, everyone would be set up for success.

    Ulta Beauty2020-01-28
  5. "A belittling Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great client base for a walk in basis

    Cons

    Having a manager who belittles you in front of clients does not make for a good atmosphere. I have been in this industry for over 30 yrs and to have a manager insinuate that i do not consult with my clients or that because i called out that i do not know my job.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2020-01-20
  6. "Enjoyed it"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist 

    I worked at Ulta Beauty part-time

    Pros

    fun place to work good discount

    Cons

    busy had to do other things other than hair

    Ulta Beauty2020-01-14
  7. "Unlimited opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in West Long Branch, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management is great Opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    I don’t have any negative feedback

    Ulta Beauty2020-01-02
  8. "Poor management, poor marketing. Slow during the holidays."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Puyallup, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    thank goodness that people tip, wage hourly sucks!

    Cons

    hourly wage and managers cutting hours.

    Continue reading
    Ulta Beauty2019-12-21
  9. "Hairstylist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They have benefits for full-time

    Cons

    You need to work and if ours in order to get benefits and hit commission structures but that can also be a pro

    Ulta Beauty2019-12-02
  10. "Good company bad timing"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist 

    I have been working at Ulta Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on products, friendly coworkers, good education. I built up a decent clientele. You really get to use a variety of products. If you new to the industry it’ll help you hone your skills

    Cons

    Pay, I couldn’t afford most of my bills on this income. Lots of drama at the location I was at. Slow steady building of clientele.

    Ulta Beauty2019-11-08
Found 104 reviews