Uline "dress code" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Uline Employee Reviews about "dress code"

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Uline CEO Dick Uihlein
Dick Uihlein
355 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dress code"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Accounting Intern in Milton, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline for less than a year

    Pros

    -Exposure to both AR/AP and journal entries

    Cons

    -Dress code too serious for industry

    Uline2019-09-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay, strange company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for position, lots of tools to keep the productivity up, hard to get bored.

    Cons

    Very bizarre backwards 1960's office culture and dress code. Panty hose and skirts are required, suit jackets matching suit pants if god forbid you want to wear pants as a woman. Very sexist and outdated. Customer service reps don't even have physical access to customers, why the need for pantyhose?

    Uline2020-02-13
  3. Helpful (21)

    "BE PREPARED TO SELL YOUR SOUL AND LOSE INDIVIDUALITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Milton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great competitive salary benefits and RSP and yearly bonuses.

    Cons

    I would give it 0 stars if that was an option... If I could describe Uline in one word, the word 'Cult' comes to mind instantly. THERE WAY OR NO WAY!!! Ran by a bunch of rejects that probably settled with the fact that they'll be nothing more but Warehouse know-it-alls. Micro managed to the most deadliest degrees... Some examples are : how to "properly" highlight, tucking in your sweater, how to "properly" bend over to pick up a box...these things are NOT said in a helpful way, but in a way where you will actually get in trouble. Along with the micro managing, managers picking favourites and gossiping. Very strict dress code. NO tattoos shown. Facial hair is frowned upon, forced overtime, and labour laws are not followed.... the list goes on and on. 90% of the employees are very unhappy and they all talk about how seriously depressed they are to each other. (They cheered for me when I told them I was leaving, lol). Uline preaches family and teamwork but it is indeed the opposite of that. Co-workers are forced to inform on each other, instead of help each other. Where is the teamwork in that!?! All in all Uline is a very very very very strict company and they like to control the people that work for them by telling them what to do, how to do it, and when to do it. They constantly CONDESCEND, BELITTLE, and PUT YOU DOWN for the most minuscule things, they make every one feel bad. If you want to feel stupid then this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Uline2019-01-26

    Uline Response

    January 31, 2019

    We’re disappointed to hear about your negative experience at our company. At Uline, we always say the details matter. Our dress and protocol are specifically designed to support your success. Our standards for excellence are high, and we know that working in the warehouse can be challenging. We continue to be humbled by our employee’s commitment to serving our customers. As an employer of choice for over 6,100 team members, we always try to help our employees develop professionally, and that starts with a structured work environment. We’ve worked hard to develop a comprehensive orientation program, numerous management training programs and have an open-door policy that we think give employees channels for open communication, and help set them on a great path to success. Thank you for sharing your input.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Milton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong training program, equipped me to do my job confidently followed by a mentor program which helped me to improve and grow in my current role, this was unseen in my previous jobs with other companies

    Cons

    I had to revamp my wardrobe to comply with the unique yet professional Uline dress code, and it is still a work in progress, however I'm not minding it that much, on the contrary

    Continue reading
    Uline2017-11-30
  5. Helpful (9)

    "I wouldn't if I were you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, bonus program and benefits It will make every job you work after this one seem like a dream come true

    Cons

    Not entirely sure where to begin. Micromanagement. Not an environment that encourages out of the box thinking or personal sales style. Uline way or the highway. And by the highway, I mean passive aggressive emails that imply you're a failure in every way. Your numbers can be exceptional but if you didn't achieve them their way, you're garbage to management and will be treated as such. You will not grow as a sales professional here. You'll learn to fit into their very specific mould - a mould that won't help you down the road unless you plan on staying here for your entire career. Employee friendships are discouraged... I was once told by a manager to "reconsider who I choose to eat my lunch with" Big Brother feel. You're being watched. Always. Even when you work from home. Yes, actually. Zero flexibility. None. Nada. You're done at 4:45? No you're not, better find something for you to do until after 5 because thats what time they "own" you until (EVEN if you came in early - which is mandatory. And EVEN if you worked late every single other day that week) Dress code is archaic and sexist. I'm not even going to start on the workplace harassment I witnessed/heard about from my female colleagues because half of the stories I have are flagged by this website as inappropriate. Let's just say, there were three women on the sales team while I was there and all three left.

    Continue reading
    Uline2017-07-19
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Uline

    Pros

    - growing - good compensation - good bonus/profit sharing - structured

    Cons

    - no opportunities for growth - it's an old boys club - no flexibility - can not work from home. They "frown upon it" but expect you to do a lot in the limited time you are at work especially if you are a parent. - dress code - very old school for this day and age

    Uline2017-06-12
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Positive, but not for those who think outside the box."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst in Brampton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability, guaranteed overtime, above-average income for the role in the industry.

    Cons

    Extremely stiff and robotic, very cult-like, no room for growth unless you wish to relocate to the Wisconsin head office. Ridiculous dress code for this day and age (men must wear ties, women must wear pantyhose, and skirts not above a certain length)

    Continue reading
    Uline2014-04-05
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Top management really does care about you. Food is amazing in the cafe. Free massages, fitness center and personal trainer available. Training is really good. Beautiful office. Not just stuffy white walls. Bonuses are awesome. The cons are out weighed by all these pros

    Cons

    Business professional Dress code, can only have 5 personal items on your desk, strict 8-5 hours, clock in and clock out even for salary employees.

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-01-23

    Uline Response

    February 27, 2020

    We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your time with Uline and appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Communication Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They're committed to making money, which pays employees well. Excellent job security, especially since they never close, even when it endangers their employees.

    Cons

    The communication within the organization is terrible. Any messages to employees are far and few between. What is communicated gets censored by the Creative department. Their messages are not informative or genuine. The company forces managers to spin information the same way to their employees to try to justify any absurd policy decisions. Their response to coronavirus was non-existent. Without listening to and acting on the grumblings of their "family" of employees (i.e. work from home options, dress code, flexibility, reducing the audit culture, etc), they will find themselves with all of the inventory and none of the people to make their business successful.

    Continue reading
    Uline2020-03-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "micro management w/ good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, no weekend work, overtime. bonuses, yearly pay increase

    Cons

    micro management, strong dress code, metrics, they work you like a horse and let you go for fresh ones.

    Uline2020-03-15
Found 92 reviews