Ubisoft "french" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ubisoft Employee Reviews about "french"

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Pretty low salary but acceptable(in 101 reviews)

  • "Management remains mainly French - locals tend to get bypassed in management/leadership roles unless you get into their clique(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "french"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ubisoft, good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very good work life balance for family

    Cons

    - Advantage to speak french and english

    Ubisoft2018-06-01
  2. "Not for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly. They are always ready to help. They like to teach juniors various stuff about game dev or dev in general. Montreal studio is diverse and multicultural. This is one of the big game studio in Montreal where you're not expected to do (unpaid) overtime. Looks good on a CV because of the brand name I guess.

    Cons

    There's lots of cons. Enough so that the Pros were not a reason to stay at that company. This is not the place if you're ambitious and want to progress quickly in your career. This is also definitely not the place if you want to get promoted quickly and get raises. Even with a perfect performance evaluation you're lucky if they raise your salary by 5%. That's almost insulting. Some people seem to get promoted because they're friend or agreeable with management Management is outdated. Most of the management are French guys (from France) in their late 40's and they don't have a clue anymore about what games should be. There's favouritism towards employees from France. For some reasons I always felt they are treated better and more respected. I've seen stellar programmers from other countries and they don't have the same status as their French coworkers. A lot of people, especially youngest employees, care more about being in a "somewhat cool" company with a big brand name than producing quality code and games. The studio is huge, so a lot of people actually do nothing. I feel that the average employee production is absolutely terrible. Easy tasks can take them days. No effort are made to change some of the 12 years old base code witch is becoming more and more buggy and impossible to work with. I feel the company prefer to hire bunch of people and keep the raises and salaries low instead of having a small amount of very good engineers. I am probably not alone to have this feeling since a lot of people are leaving the studio for better opportunities and they would probably agree with me on some points I explained above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I am talking about the Mtl studio management : Maybe it's time to take a break. You should get new management, more diversified (not just French guys please!!!). Value more skills and competence than hype and friendship.

    Ubisoft2020-01-22
  3. "Amazing culture, games & tech - low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Gameplay Programmer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazingly passionate team members and super talented people - it's just so lovely to go to work everyday and hang out with the some of the coolest people in the world - Relaxed atmosphere - unlike other AAA studios the pressure isn't as high - So many different IPs and projects to choose from - once one project is over, you can move to tens of other brands if you choose - Lots of events, happy hours, parties, hangouts, lunches, talks, presentations, lots of information sharing, lots of skill development

    Show More

    Cons

    - Salary is quite low compared to other AAA studios - Benefits aren't as good as compared to other AAA studios - Being a member of close to 4000 employees, it's not easy to grow in your career or rise in your rank - Ubisoft doesn't really care about keeping its employees - they know new employees will keep applying so it doesn't do much to retain current ones - Sessions are sometimes in French which is a bit annoying since this is an international company, there are many international employees here. And it's not that we're not trying to learn it - but it takes time and we miss a lot of important things sometimes

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The concept of "levels" is a bit strange and not transparent, also 5 levels all the way to CEO is too less of a division. Spend a bit more on your employees, give them coffee, increase their salary, and provide recognition for employees who perform well.

    Ubisoft2019-09-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work and learn, not for the long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Backend Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome projects on AAA titles Get to face good technical challenges and gain good experience Flexible work hours On-site gym and clinic

    Cons

    Management practices/procedures end up creating silos, knowledge sharing should be encourage more. Pay is not competitive, specially if you gain seniority and experience pay lags. There’s a “French glass ceiling”, I managed to be proficient in French in my first years, reviews with flying colours, I was on lead of several initiatives in my previous team over the years, but promotions are hard to obtain since non native are often regarded good as leaders in several groups. It’s a more open culture if you manage to work on teams under anglophone management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Review practices and salaries to improve employee retention over time and not get poached

    Ubisoft2019-04-25
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Good place to start, bad place to continue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You get to learn a ton of new things and its a great out of-school place to grow but you'll need to be an specific demographic to thrive inside the company - You will be part of AAA titles right from the start

    Cons

    - Unless you speak native french you won't make it far - Takes forever to adapt new technologies - They are cheap, like not even free coffee cheap - Only top tier employees (The Frenchlite) get real benefits

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on keeping employees and developing, rather than getting external people, RAISE THE SALARIES!

    Ubisoft2019-02-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Generalist programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Generalist Programmer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good tech, employee has a lot of opportunities to learn a lot

    Cons

    French company, hard to integrate as non-French speaker. Salary not as competitive

    Advice to Management

    Depending on the projects, there are some crappy managers.

    Ubisoft2017-10-19
  7. "Ubisoft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great workplace and culture

    Cons

    Not knowing french might hurt you

    Ubisoft2017-10-20
  8. "Worst management ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time

    Pros

    - famous in Montréal - Video game industrie

    Cons

    - French management - Salary - Politcs everywhere

    Ubisoft2017-03-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Work and life well balanced.

    Cons

    Lack of room for growth once past certain point, especially for non-French speakers.

    Ubisoft2016-11-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Work hard... And don't get rewarded."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft

    Pros

    Work on AAA games. Good bonuses if the project gets any.

    Cons

    Horrible offices (coffee leaking through the floors, very noisy). All the negatives that come from a huge company (no one knows you, changes are hard to make, etc.). Extremely hard to get anywhere in your career if you're not friends with those that have seniority. French management is out of touch with the gaming industry. Horrible overtime hours during crunch (not compensated).

    Ubisoft2016-01-07
Found 57 reviews