Cover image for Ubisoft
Logo

Ubisoft

Engaged Employer

Ubisoft

Add a Review

Ubisoft Reviews

Updated Feb. 3, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,464 of over 4K reviews
3.8
79% Recommend to a Friend
Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot
81% Approve of CEO

Found 2,968 of over 4K reviews

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot
Yves Guillemot
1,813 Ratings
Pros
  • "Multi-cultural work environment(in 261 reviews)

  • "good place to learn a lot of stuff(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low salary for the amount of work expected to carry out(in 188 reviews)

  • "Work can get boring, work life balance(in 35 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ubisoft and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Programmer

      Jan. 20, 2023 - Online Programmer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is a well-known and successful game development studio, with many popular franchises such as Assassin's Creed, Far Cry, and Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six. Ubisoft offers a creative and collaborative work environment, with opportunities for employees to work on a variety of projects and to contribute to the development of new ideas. The company has a strong emphasis on diversity and inclusion, with a number of initiatives in place to support and promote diversity in the workplace. Ubisoft offers a range of benefits to employees, including health insurance, retirement savings plans, and paid time off. The company has a number of locations around the world, offering employees the opportunity to work in different countries and cultures.

      Cons

      The company is known for its demanding work schedule, with long hours and tight deadlines common in the game development industry. Some employees have reported issues with management and a lack of communication within the company. The company has faced criticism and controversy over its treatment of employees, particularly with regards to working conditions and crunch time. Some employees may find the pace of work and the constant need to adapt to new technologies and trends to be challenging. The company has a strong emphasis on expanding its business, this may lead to a change in strategies, which may affect the job stability and security of some employees.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company with opportunities

      Jan. 31, 2023 - UI Programmer in Quebec, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - It's easy to create ourselves opportunities in Ubisoft and evolve in our career - Nice company culture with a lot of events and stuff that makes working actually fun - Good salary overall even if not amongst the best ones on the market - Since the scandals that took place a few years ago, Ubisoft really worked on making the company being a good and inclusive place

      Cons

      - Project managements seem to be unaware of what actually happens on the field and sometimes their decisions seems to make no sense

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. Join the Ubisoft team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great People

      Jan. 30, 2023 - UI Programmer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job Security, Highly Experienced Peers, Great Atmosphere

      Cons

      Indecisive Management, Long Processes, Questionable Directives

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good working conditions, average salary

      Jan. 26, 2023 - Senior Online Programmer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good working environment - Good work/life balance - Managers are close with their team and are always available - Beautiful office situated in a trendy neighborhood

      Cons

      - Average or slightly below average salaries - Somewhat negative company image - Profit-driven decisions taken by top management, which clashes with a creative domain like video games

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people, good work life balance, low salary

      Jan. 25, 2023 - User Researcher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people Fun work Good hours / work life balance

      Cons

      Low salary compared to other companies in this industry - some of my colleague are overworked but not in my direct team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Cheap and asks for a lot

      Feb. 3, 2023 - UI Programmer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After transitioning over from the tech industry this was my first job in the games industry. They offered me a level 2 position and allowed me to spend some time upfront learning the ropes. Some of the benefits were also pretty good, particularly 6 weeks of vacation, an onsite medical clinic, and personal trainers at the company gym. And I guess it's a plus that I was never asked to crunch (live game).

      Cons

      The technical onboarding consists of being sent a giant folder of links to documentation that is old and often wrong. Finding the right way to run the development environment and debug Ubisoft's internal tools was challenging, and since I didn't come in as a level 1, at some point their patience abruptly ran out. Apparently a learning curve is not tolerated if it's not your first job out of university. I eventually did find a solid rhythm for completing tasks, but I was frequently criticized by my manager for asking questions (not "help I don't know anything solve this for me" questions, more like "I've diagnosed the issue and found a potential solution, but I'd like your opinion on my approach before wasting time implementing code that will get rejected in review" questions). So I was submitting quality code that was OK'd quickly by fellow programmers, but put on my manager's shitlist because I wasn't enough of a lone wolf. It's the total opposite of most work environments I've been in, very weird. I have to add that on top of this frustrating work experience, the compensation was below industry standard (although better than before for new hires it seems), and the company tended to have a cheap attitude about many things, compared to other companies where I've worked. Expect to pay yourself for things that you might have expected to be covered at other jobs (coffee, cutlery, transportation to special company events). Also expect regular ads in your work email for you to buy stuff from your employer, like you're a customer, not an employee.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Jan. 18, 2023 - Online Programmer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great workspace and nice people.

      Cons

      Pay is above average and a lot of management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall Good

      Jan. 18, 2023 - Art Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, no crunch, great for people with families

      Cons

      Not the highest paying studio, projects sometimes not well organized or uninteresting

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good challenges

      Jan. 12, 2023 - Live Producer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      bottom-up structure where everyone can contribute to what to do best. Decent compensation.

      Cons

      Office politics often is the primary decision maker and driver for career promotions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Kind of awesome

      Jan. 10, 2023 - Project Manager in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great projects, great folks, lots of liberty to find value

      Cons

      The first year is really challenging, it's not a "clear" company. It's not for everyone.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,968 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Ubisoft Reviews FAQs

    Ubisoft has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 4,193 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at Ubisoft to a friend and 61% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Ubisoft employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Ubisoft. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    79% of Ubisoft employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Ubisoft 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Ubisoft Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ubisoft? Share Your Experiences

    Ubisoft logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Ubisoft Photos

    + Add Photo
    Ubisoft photo of: Singapore new office (2020)
    Ubisoft photo of: Cafétéria
    Ubisoft photo of: Wall of Fame - Studio de Paris
    Ubisoft photo of: Esprit Lapins
    Ubisoft photo of: Ambiteuse studieuse
    Ubisoft photo of: Un accueil accueillant
    Ubisoft photo of: Pause détente
    See All Photos

    Affiliated Companies

    Red Storm Entertainment Inc.Future Games of LondonMassive Entertainment Inc
    Blue Byte GmbH

    Ubisoft Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Blizzard Entertainment Logo
    Blizzard Entertainment

    3.7

    1,338 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 4,193 Ubisoft reviews submitted anonymously by Ubisoft employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Ubisoft is right for you.