Ubiqus Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ubiqus Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ubiqus President of Ubiqus Group Vincent Nguyen (no image)
Vincent Nguyen
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great mid-size company, very loyal to its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubiqus full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly co-workers, ambitious employees definitely have room to make changes in their department and be earmarked for promoting. There's room to make the job as low-key or as dynamic as you want it to be. Management puts out a lot of initiatives to improve corporate culture and day to day enjoyment. Free breakfast on Mondays, free lunch on Fridays.

    Cons

    The departments are sometimes set at odds with each other, and management doesn't always do a quick job of handling underperformers.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder at filtering out bad staff and bad processes. Encourage more cooperation between departments.

    Ubiqus2019-11-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not worthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubiqus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brownies and greasy lunch

    Cons

    bad policies bad pay No culture

    Ubiqus2019-11-08
  3. "A great small company atmosphere with a large company presence."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubiqus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The first thing you will notice about Ubiqus is the tremendous diversity and high level of collegiality, people enjoy working together. Every team leader has extensive experience and is a top authority in his/her field, you will learn a lot from the best. Ubiqus actively promotes from within, aggressively and regularly. If you look for advancement you will find it! A great place to work and plenty of opportunities to shine. - Excellent PTO (18-24 days) - Casual but professional atmosphere - Serious about producing a great work product - Exciting technology initiatives - Telecommuting - Flexible work hours = good work/life balance - New CEO cares about the success of his people and the business - Quarterly town hall meetings - 4 offices: NY, NJ, LA, Irvine - 4% 401K match, immediate vesting - Three levels of healthcare coverage, + dental, vision, etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    - More structured training programs needed - CRM/ERP system takes a long time to learn and could be easier to use - Longer wait period (1 year) for 401K - Need more/better communication between international offices - Open floor plan can be distracting at times

    Advice to Management

    Continue to empower managers to help their teams succeed.

    Ubiqus2019-10-15
  4. "Great company for home working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ubiqus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work, reliable payments and flexible, interesting work from home.

    Cons

    Can be hard to balance work/home life but can be overcome with some discipline!

    Ubiqus2019-06-17
  5. "Great team, amazing professional growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Waterford
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working in Ubiqus, in the Waterford office for 3 years. It was supposed to be a short period for an experience abroad but it turned to be much longer. The team is the thing I miss most, very nice and smart people that on the occurrence work together to tackle new challenging projects. There is a "Social Club" as well, so that you can do nice activities after work (this is chosen by the employees with polls). I have to say I am very happy with the time spent there and with all the things I learned. I moved to Dublin for personal reasons otherwise I wouldn't have changed company. Being in a new company now I can see how all the things I learned in Ubiqus puts me in a position of advantage with my colleagues.

    Show More

    Cons

    Industry is going a bit too much towards the MT / post-editing

    Ubiqus2019-06-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "School Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start a career in sales

    Cons

    Treated like a child with assigned 1pm lunch breaks and 6pm finish. All movement within and outside office is monitored. Low Salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like adults and you will be surprised at the respect you may command.

    Ubiqus2019-06-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ubiqus full-time

    Pros

    Maybe could be a good place to start a career.

    Cons

    Terrible! - much procrastination - inefficient - unfriendly

    Ubiqus2019-03-18
  8. "A great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus

    Pros

    A great team and a supportive environment, which balances freedom and guidance effectively and allows you to really grow professionally + fast career progression for dedicated employees

    Cons

    Collaboration and communication between departments could improve

    Ubiqus2018-12-18
  9. "Good Post-Grad Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus full-time

    Pros

    okay pay skill development networking training

    Cons

    not much progression in status or pay

    Ubiqus2018-11-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hearing reporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus part-time

    Pros

    This is a very flexible company that will not punish you if you call out, for example. If you are looking for a non commitment position or for some extra money and don't need this job to pay your major bills, it's not bad actually. The hearings can be very boring but people are usually nice and there are many breaks, sometimes longer breaks where you can even go for a walk as long as you are responsible enough to return when you have to.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is no room to grow. They prefer to hire people from outside than invest in people who are already there, people they already know, which is strange. They simply assume that you are not fit for the position you apply for and that you don't meet certain requirements even though they can easily train you for any position there, really. Be mindful when accepting any position with Ubiqus because you will not grow and if you are a court reporter, you will always be a court reporter. They treat court reporters as the ones at the very bottom, meaning, you will never get invitation for the Christmas dinner or for the Thanksgiving Potluck. No matter how reliable and hardworking you are, you will not go anywhere. They expect your full availability but if you are in school, chances are, you won't get the days you choose unless they are very busy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your mentality.

    Ubiqus2018-12-17
Found 35 reviews