Ubiqus Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ubiqus Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
Ubiqus CEO Vincent Nguyen (no image)
Vincent Nguyen
0 Ratings
  1. "Great company for home working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ubiqus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work, reliable payments and flexible, interesting work from home.

    Cons

    Can be hard to balance work/home life but can be overcome with some discipline!

    Ubiqus2019-06-17

    Ubiqus Response

    June 21, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for the review of Ubiqus; we are happy that you are having such a positive experience. We are only as good as the sum of our parts and value the relationship with the transcriptionists working with us.

  2. "Great team, amazing professional growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Waterford
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working in Ubiqus, in the Waterford office for 3 years. It was supposed to be a short period for an experience abroad but it turned to be much longer. The team is the thing I miss most, very nice and smart people that on the occurrence work together to tackle new challenging projects. There is a "Social Club" as well, so that you can do nice activities after work (this is chosen by the employees with... polls). I have to say I am very happy with the time spent there and with all the things I learned. I moved to Dublin for personal reasons otherwise I wouldn't have changed company. Being in a new company now I can see how all the things I learned in Ubiqus puts me in a position of advantage with my colleagues.

    Show More

    Cons

    Industry is going a bit too much towards the MT / post-editing

    Ubiqus2019-06-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "School Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start a career in sales

    Cons

    Treated like a child with assigned 1pm lunch breaks and 6pm finish. All movement within and outside office is monitored. Low Salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like adults and you will be surprised at the respect you may command.

    Ubiqus2019-06-05

    Ubiqus Response

    June 13, 2019Director

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback on the company as it is an important way for us to learn about our employee’s (past and current) experiences and make any necessary adjustments. We are glad that you feel it is a good place to start a career in sales but ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ubiqus full-time

    Pros

    Maybe could be a good place to start a career.

    Cons

    Terrible! - much procrastination - inefficient - unfriendly

    Ubiqus2019-03-18
  5. "A great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus

    Pros

    A great team and a supportive environment, which balances freedom and guidance effectively and allows you to really grow professionally + fast career progression for dedicated employees

    Cons

    Collaboration and communication between departments could improve

    Ubiqus2018-12-18
  6. "Good Post-Grad Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus full-time

    Pros

    okay pay skill development networking training

    Cons

    not much progression in status or pay

    Ubiqus2018-11-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hearing reporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubiqus part-time

    Pros

    This is a very flexible company that will not punish you if you call out, for example. If you are looking for a non commitment position or for some extra money and don't need this job to pay your major bills, it's not bad actually. The hearings can be very boring but people are usually nice and there are many breaks, sometimes longer breaks where you can even go for a walk as long as you are responsible enough to... return when you have to.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is no room to grow. They prefer to hire people from outside than invest in people who are already there, people they already know, which is strange. They simply assume that you are not fit for the position you apply for and that you don't meet certain requirements even though they can easily train you for any position there, really. Be mindful when accepting any position with Ubiqus because you will not grow... and if you are a court reporter, you will always be a court reporter. They treat court reporters as the ones at the very bottom, meaning, you will never get invitation for the Christmas dinner or for the Thanksgiving Potluck. No matter how reliable and hardworking you are, you will not go anywhere. They expect your full availability but if you are in school, chances are, you won't get the days you choose unless they are very busy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your mentality.

    Ubiqus2018-12-17

    Ubiqus Response

    January 7, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you, we appreciate your review in our continuing efforts to maintain a great working atmosphere for all of our full and part-time employees. In order to help our Glassdoor viewers understand the role of Hearing Reporter, it’s important to note, that by definition the role is ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Joke of an organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubiqus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Would give 0 stars if I could. I work in the London office There's actually none to list, other than a FEW members of the company are easy going

    Cons

    Managing Director is ignorant, and stuck in his old ways and mentality, which results in a failing business, and does not listen to staff. The days are long 9-6 (40hr) which is so old fashioned, and if you are unwell, you have to use your annual leave to cover sick pay. If you do work from home, the 5 days you get a year, you must use your own equipment and install their cluggy system on your PC. Not sure how... data protection what would view this. In October 2018, there is no heating and we are forced to work 3 days without any heating when the outside temperature is 8 degrees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have been here for 2 years and hate the fact that the company so rigid, it needs a strong update and to in line with current environments. We should not be here working in a freezing office for 3 days of no heating, its a basic human rights to be warm at work!

    Ubiqus2018-10-30

    Ubiqus Response

    November 1, 2018Director

    Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry to see that your experience with us at Ubiqus is not a positive one. I’m disappointed to hear that you believe that you are part of a failing business as this is not the impression we have tried to give off, particularly as we have grown considerably ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Controller in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubiqus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I was given a fair opportunity and not seen as just a two page CV candidate - They have great staff to work with, they are all welcoming and hardworking. - Manager is firm but approachable and will work with you to help you grow with the company as you show dedication to the role. - They provide on the job training to help understand things better and are very welcoming to any questions -... There are opportunities for a greater role within the company

    Show More

    Cons

    - Their system needs tweaking but i guess all companies have that con

    Advice to Management

    Call the programmers and have them sort out the systems little faults and necessities

    Ubiqus2018-07-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good stop gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Ubiqus

    Pros

    Flexible freelance work good for between jobs or supplementing income

    Cons

    Clients pay Ubiqus more than double what transcribers receive, especially for cancellations etc

    Ubiqus2018-05-08
Found 32 reviews