USAA Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 478 of over 4,825 reviews

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
800 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits & supportive company culture(in 759 reviews)

  • "USAA is a great company to work for(in 381 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "USAA has talented engineers but I'd say the majority are just getting by skill-wise(in 410 reviews)

  • "lost of work which might impact work life balance(in 153 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about USAA

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Great company, Great Benefits, Great Culture

      Jul 9, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      USAA is one of the best employers in the world. You can work here your entire career and retire nicely with the benefits. - best retirement benefits (3% pension + 8% match to 4% contribution … yeah you read that right). - great pay and bonus structure - great work/life balance

      Cons

      The tech side can feel slow paced compared to the industry. USAA allows you to dive deep on your technology, but not wide enough to have a lot of context on the entire tech stack. Pay is great but lagging in the industry. USAA is pretty good about keeping up with this though.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful

      USAA Response

      Thank you for your feedback. USAA takes pride in our core values of Service, Honesty, Loyalty and Integrity. We continue to invest resources and time to explore how we can ensure our employees are satisfied with their jobs and benefits. Technology: In the fast-paced technology race, we continue to examine new capabilities and investments in tech that will improve employee and member experiences. Pay Structures: HR does an annual compensation competitive market analysis for all jobs to ensure our compensation ranges are competitive in the market which allows us to attract and retain diverse talent. Thank you for all that you do.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      USAA is a great company with excellent benefits and work/life balance

      Nov 30, 2021 - Quantitative Risk Analyst in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance, mission-driven company, good people

      Cons

      Upward mobility, career development, potential for career stagnation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      New Member Solutions Specialist

      Nov 29, 2021 - New Member Solutions Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance, Choose how you want your break time Choose over 52 shift schedule combinations. Every employee gets a holiday bonus(December), plus a huge annual employee bonus (February)

      Cons

      Depends on how leadership may treat you. However, just experience it for yourself, by applying & make your judgment then when hired. If you don't look to promote, leadership may look at you differently.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Chief Financial Office = Dumpster fire

      Dec 1, 2021 - Business Risk and Controls Advisor in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great amenities and home office. Somewhat OK work-life balance depending on the role you land. If you are in CFO its a dumpster fire. Do not expect a work life balance if you do not make it your intent to have one by having boundaries. Set up boundaries or you will be working late.

      Cons

      Overachievers overcomplicating simple tasks and micromanaging. The company offers a pension that has a APY of 3%. Thats a little more than a bank account. Go chase after 15% yields on your own. 3% is not a benefit to tout. Avoid the CFO office that has about 1200-1500 people approx. Its a cluster everywhere and for the folks that don't have a dumpster fire, they hide the fact they don't so as to not have work piled on them.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic company

      Nov 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance Understanding management Great benefits

      Cons

      Less interesting work Lots of red tape

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company with a great mission.

      Nov 19, 2021 - Quality Assurance Specialist in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with a great mission.

      Cons

      Depending on the department you work in, work life balance can be difficult.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Couldn't make it to 10 years

      Nov 27, 2021 - Bodily Injury Adjuster in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I always had great, compassionate managers who helped me develop into a better employee. The amount of PTO is great with the option the purchase more. The work/life balance is good for those who refuse to work more than 40 hours and good for those who choose to work overtime for more money. (Claims adjusters are paid an hourly rate.)

      Cons

      Everything started going downhill over the last 2 years. It's pathetic to say but a pandemic made everything tolerable until the phone volume skyrocketed back up again because of mismanagement in our non-injury department. Our annual bonus was going down at an alarming rate and I saw myself make less and less money each year. They restructured it but I was still making less money than my peers who went to different companies. I also saw my peers fail to move out of claims; claims is like a cult and they don't seem to want to let their valuable, underpaid claims adjusters pursue careers in other departments. The benefits used to be amazing: I was hired in when the bonus used to be 18-19%, an education credit card given instead of reimbursement, etc. Watching the c-suite be slow to action as employees were leaving and then changing benefits to be "competitive" when they really just made it clear we were no longer the same company proud to support our military members and their families made me realize it wasn't worth staying. That's on top of an intranet advice article recommending employees get a second job to make more money and seeing my social security tax being added to our "total rewards" (that's what they call the benefits, retirement & salary package) really pissed me off.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good experience so far

      Nov 17, 2021 - Risk Analyst in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great work/life balance - Great PTO

      Cons

      - Have heard work/life balance heavily depends on your team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great!

      Nov 14, 2021 - Data Engineer in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance, good tech stack

      Cons

      None, other than maybe the downsides of slower moving corporate culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Nov 9, 2021 - Business Intelligence Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance great benefits

      Cons

      Getting internal pay raise is tough

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 478 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with USAA Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at USAA? Share Your Experiences

    USAA logo
    or