USAA "military" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

USAA Employee Reviews about "military"

Updated Mar 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The first year on the phones are the hardest if you do not have previous call center experience(in 363 reviews)

  • "Very much out of touch with its military membership(in 127 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "military"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Stody, Traditional, and 100% Dependent Upon Brand Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Management Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Their corporate mission is noble.

    Cons

    Very traditional and silo'd structure. Heavy command-and-control culture. The people who do best wear dress clothes to work and have clipper-cut hair. Bonus is decent, but it's not guaranteed. Annual raises are between 1-3% usually. Pressure to show-up early and stay late. Financial products offered to members is shrinking rapidly due to their ineffectiveness in competing with other financial services companies. They used to have a financial advisory, but that's been sold. They used to have an investment company, but that's been sold. They used to offer a "car buying" service to members, but that has been discontinued. They used to offer "Trust services" for members, but that, too, has been offloaded. Basically, they offer life insurance, property & casualty insurance, and a bank now. Their products are good, but their prices are usually cost-prohibitive for most of the people they serve. USAA's hiring and employment practices discriminate in favor of women (60%). They purposefully recruit certain so-called "under-represented" segments demographically, form a pool of candidates from that cadre, and then select from that pool--excluding men. The executive and middle management layers of their Human Resources organization is comprised of 82.7% women and/or minorities. Yet, they incessantly plead, broadcast, advertise, and consistently brainwash employees on the unproven merits of "diversity and inclusion." Their Communications organization is also 75% women and/or minority. Their Marketing, Legal, Finance, and Strategy groups are 68%+ women and/or minority. Culture within the org is heavy-duty bureaucracy. There are layers upon layers upon layers within disparate organizational silos--most of which do not know what, or have visibility of, is going-on in other similar functions. There is a centralized "Change Management" organization as well that apparently employs the ADKAR model, yet also adheres to and promotes the ACMP methodology--these two models are not the same, and are often competing/conflicting. There is a MASSIVE "Compliance" effort underway now for 2+ years as well. This is consuming hundreds of millions of dollars and is ALL expense for the organization. There is little, if any, true process mindset at USAA as well. They used to have a pseudo-centralized "CI Office" which adopted the long-defunct six sigma method. This flamed-out quickly (as was expected and warned against). Now they have begun employing an image of a picture of a reproduced version of a chicken-wire/duct-tape facsimile of Business Process Management. This, too, will flame-out and die an ignominious death as soon as the new CEO sees its faultiness. To summarize, USAA is a bloated, fat-laden, military-culture, insurance-industrial-complex organization that better start moving in the right direction--and very soon. The 13+ million members who are keeping it afloat have more information on pricing and product offerings than ever before, are educating themselves thereabout, and are (or will) jumping ship faster than they can be replaced.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-03-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits, but out of touch with membership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Systems Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    8% matching on 401k, with an additional "retirement plus" percentage based on your age (4%-8% additional matching). Tuition assistance. Paid maternity/paternity leave. Annual bonus. Stuart Parker no longer the CEO.

    Cons

    Typically the salaries are below other companies in the area, which is why we receive a bonus each year...it brings us back up to industry average. Not very willing to negotiate salary. Very much out of touch with its military membership. IT systems are outdated and executive leadership doesn't see the need to upgrade to modern systems. Lots of Kool-aid to go around.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-02-11
  3. "Be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wealth Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Pay , Good Coworkers

    Cons

    Incompetent leadership, if you are not former Military you will not get ahead,

    USAA2020-03-06
  4. "Good choice if you think about retirement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Systems Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Private company with very good benefits.

    Cons

    Strong military culture, less innovation. You need obey and follow your manager or team lead.

    USAA2019-12-19
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Good Benefits, Horrible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Member Solutions Senior Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits only positive thing I can think of other than when applying for new jobs employers see you worked at USAA more than 5 years and are more eager to job offer you because USAA used to be known for only hiring quality employees.

    Cons

    Horrible direct managers in call center areas of USAA. Can have 1 good manager, and then a terrible manager that will only care about numbers and metrics. Pushy sales tactics are taught to employees in this department in order to meet metrics. If you have a higher moral standard and respect for Military and want to really help them when offering insurance policies they can afford management will ask why you did not write the policy that was 600.00 more than what they already have? Why did you not get them to say yes to the bank account (even though banking was not a good solution for that particular individual) I always had good numbers but it was more because I was ethical and do not lie to potential members. In the almost 6 years of working here I witnessed colleagues use bait and switch tactics, writing policies the customer was unaware were issued, and bank accounts opened and offered as free bank accounts just open accounts and policies to meet metrics for the department. Not much room for advancement in this department, had colleagues with masters degrees that had been in the same position on the phone for 10 years. To advance to a higher position in this department it’s more who you know because not many spots open up. Before becoming a work at home employee would see colleagues in weekly coaching in tears. Managers will tear you down and make you feel worthless in the call center side of USAA. If you can handle the stress of thinking you are going to lose your job everyday and an incredibly mismanaged department be my guest and work here. I have been a member of USAA for 14 years I can say after seeing from the inside of what goes on and company practices I am not as proud to say I am a Member of USAA. Do not ever file an employee relations complaint against a manger even if it is warranted, the no retaliation policy does not exist.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-14
  6. Helpful (7)

    "A pro military business who’s cares less about Veterans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Solutions Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s big, like airport big, great atmosphere!

    Cons

    As a veteran who suffers from PTSD they still treat you like a veteran who’s homeless, all they want you to do is force sales to our active, veterans and military family members as well. You want REAL veteran love? Go to Navy Federal.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-21
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great Company, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    USAA has great flexible schedules, bonuses and education assistance program

    Cons

    Call volume isn't distributed fairly amongst reps, it's a call center so expect to be treated as just a number producing sales. For an insurance company, the health insurance provided to employees is incredibly awful. The bonuses almost make up for less pay but because this is a sales position, commission at any other insurance company would still out weigh total salary with bonuses included. Management and resources providing information on how to handle calls is inconsistent. Managers micromanage everyone regardless of performance. Promotions are dependent upon sales numbers, military service and who you're buddies with.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-01
  8. Helpful (9)

    "I*** was not a good fit for the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing and very family friendly and there is always work to do.

    Cons

    Everything else- Mind you, I am not a very good corporate fit, however there was a lot of micro-managing, CONSISTENCY, CONSISTENCY, CONSISTENCY- Not being consistent? Bad month for you, maybe 2 or 3 months?? I had that. I was told I was unreliable and in order for me to meet the "USAA Standards" I had to over compensate for my end of the year performance evaluation in order to get my bonus. Also, if you're giving the job 100%... you could give more- you could never be good enough- this made my morale plummet. In fact, speaking to individuals that left USAA for other work felt much the same. It is very much so a militant style management and corporation, should be expected I guess. However, like I said, as a creative, I felt suffocated. But others that I worked with, those that came from military backgrounds or similar just thrived! It was me, not USAA, it is TRULY a wonderful **COMPANY** **OVERALL**. I just wish I had more opportunity to be creative within USAA and growing the brand.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-09-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company, excellent benefits, incredible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SIU 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people. Feel appreciated every day.

    Cons

    Not necessarily for SIU, but the company is very military based and is preferential to veteran status.

    USAA2019-09-24
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most friendly and welcoming company I've been apart of. People are genuine here, i still have relationships with past managers and amazing team mates.

    Cons

    Some managers (Not to be named here) said that they cared for the military and their families. That was a lie to be blunt. When I was going through hard times in my marriage and missing days here and there my manager told me if I missed another day that I'd be put on restriction. My wife gave me the news that she wanted a divorce and I was devastated, I was not in any way fit for work or to talk to members. Well that manager put me on restriction anyways, didn't listen to me or what I had to say about what was going on. I had the best sales on the team at the time and worked quite a bit of overtime. I had a few disabilities thanks to my service including one being IBS. It sometimes would require elongated bathroom breaks, my manager complained EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. and threatened me with various things because of my severe IBS. She refused to work with me despite being put up by a previous manager as employee of the month multiple times as well as the most recognition in my district by multiple superiors. This manager had it out for me, USAA lost a solid employee because of it.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-09-01
Found 127 reviews
</>Embed