USAA "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

USAA Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Wayne Peacock
Wayne Peacock
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The first year on the phones are the hardest if you do not have previous call center experience(in 363 reviews)

  • "Very much out of touch with its military membership(in 127 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great if your ok with doing the same thing over and over, every day, non stop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great benefits, great people, gym/starbucks/multiple cafes, bonus structure all awesome. The training is perfect to help you succeed in the role you are in if you are a part of the call center. Also they pay for continuing education up to $10,000/yr.

    Cons

    hard to move off the phones, there isnt a big focus on internal hire for staff positions. If you do get off the phones its because 1. you know someone who knows someone or 2. your coming in on your days off or sacrificing breaks and lunches to shadow in other areas for up to 6 months-1 year. If you are not ok being tethered to your computer and every minute of your work day looked at for adherence purposes and doing the same thing over and over, then its not the job for you

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-03-11
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, great management, stable

    Cons

    stressful, high expectations, call center environment

    USAA2020-03-05
  3. "Overworked and underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The benefits are great, that is what kept me around. But those benefits have been eroding over the last few years.

    Cons

    If you are in service or claims (call center), it is a meat grinder. Stress is through the roof, turnover is very high, and every single second of your day will be hectic because the workload is unmanageable. Search "USAA layoffs" before applying. Employees are steadily being replaced by low quality contractors.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-03-06
  4. "Good overall company/benefits package."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant/Project Manager in Addison, TX

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, 401k Match 8%, Wellness Allowance

    Cons

    High call center advisor turnover due to short shelf-life and substandard income progression.

    USAA2020-01-08
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Good Benefits, Horrible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Member Solutions Senior Specialist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits only positive thing I can think of other than when applying for new jobs employers see you worked at USAA more than 5 years and are more eager to job offer you because USAA used to be known for only hiring quality employees.

    Cons

    Horrible direct managers in call center areas of USAA. Can have 1 good manager, and then a terrible manager that will only care about numbers and metrics. Pushy sales tactics are taught to employees in this department in order to meet metrics. If you have a higher moral standard and respect for Military and want to really help them when offering insurance policies they can afford management will ask why you did not write the policy that was 600.00 more than what they already have? Why did you not get them to say yes to the bank account (even though banking was not a good solution for that particular individual) I always had good numbers but it was more because I was ethical and do not lie to potential members. In the almost 6 years of working here I witnessed colleagues use bait and switch tactics, writing policies the customer was unaware were issued, and bank accounts opened and offered as free bank accounts just open accounts and policies to meet metrics for the department. Not much room for advancement in this department, had colleagues with masters degrees that had been in the same position on the phone for 10 years. To advance to a higher position in this department it’s more who you know because not many spots open up. Before becoming a work at home employee would see colleagues in weekly coaching in tears. Managers will tear you down and make you feel worthless in the call center side of USAA. If you can handle the stress of thinking you are going to lose your job everyday and an incredibly mismanaged department be my guest and work here. I have been a member of USAA for 14 years I can say after seeing from the inside of what goes on and company practices I am not as proud to say I am a Member of USAA. Do not ever file an employee relations complaint against a manger even if it is warranted, the no retaliation policy does not exist.

    Continue reading
    USAA2020-01-14
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Property Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Lots of benefits. Great atmosphere

    Cons

    Lots of phone calls. But it is a call center

    USAA2019-12-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "usaa is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great company and they care about their employees. Competitive pay and benefits.

    Cons

    I did not want to leave USAA, but a call center job just isn't for me. I hope to come back to USAA in the future.

    USAA2019-11-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, helping veterans. End of year bonus.

    Cons

    Claims is just a call center. They try to suggest that you have ownership over your claims and that you can help members, but it is just an inbound call center. Only metric they cared about was how many inbound calls you took. 20+ voicemails a day and no time to return the calls.

    USAA2019-12-11
  9. "Awesome for military families and everyone associated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, care and attention, autonomy, decent money, advancement is good

    Cons

    call center is always busy, if you consider that a con-- none, other than that

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-11-07
  10. "Just started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, Growth, Awesome company, and Opportunities.

    Cons

    Call Center/Metrics and that's all I can think of that might be cons but I haven't really started yet.

    Continue reading
    USAA2019-10-01
Found 390 reviews
</>Embed