USAA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

USAA Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2645 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
1013 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The first year on the phones are the hardest if you do not have previous call center experience(in 341 reviews)

  • "None this is honestly a career long employer and head and shoulders above working at other companies especially military contractors(in 115 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "USAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    amazing company to work for. I would not want to work for anyone else.

    Cons

    I have no cons for this company.

    USAA2019-07-16
  2. "Very awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Pay, Culture, Location, Opportunities

    Cons

    Communication, Communication, Communication, Communication, Communication!

    Advice to Management

    Before implementing something new, check with the people that actually do the job to see if it will work

    USAA2019-07-17
  3. "Senior Litigation Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Litigation Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time

    Pros

    One of America's great companies; I felt it was a privilege and an honor to serve the women and men who protect our country.

    Cons

    I have no real criticisms.

    USAA2019-07-15
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Decision Science Analytics in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Pay based on tenure not skill

    USAA2019-07-12
  5. "It is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Digital Product Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Flexibility, benefits, culture, work-life balance, and people.

      Cons

      Pay is lower than expected,

      Advice to Management

      Practice what is preached. Ensure there is consistency in direction being given to drive our mission.

      USAA2019-07-08
    • "Fantastic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Casualty Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Amazing benefits & people. 401k match, health insurance & PTO.

      Cons

      Heavy workload. Phone heavy environment and lacking people to get the job done.

      USAA2019-07-03
    • "Great environment to design for problems at scale and grow in your career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Designer in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The mission, growth structure, and leadership within the design org (and most orgs) at USAA is unrivaled when compared to anything I've experienced before. I've been given constant guidance and support pertaining to career growth. I've been continuously encouraged by peers and leaders to keep pushing myself and the company. I've also been rewarded for that not only with career advancement but also in new and interesting...

      Show More

      Cons

      The slow pace of progress on certain projects can be difficult for those looking for more rapid turn-around type of work, although this is being worked on at a company level with greater adoption of Agile, SAFe and Design Thinking methodologies.

      USAA2019-07-03
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Operational Planning Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Amazing pay and benefits. Room to grow

      Cons

      Lots of organizational change.

      Advice to Management

      Stop micromanaging

      USAA2019-07-03
    • "Incredible Culture/Real Mission/The Real Deal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      USAA truly delivers a mission focused, behavior based culture. The company lives it’s values, places employees and members first and draws top talent as a result. In over 3 years at the company I’ve yet to see empire building, back stabbing, Me First or other destructive leader qualities. USAA’s culture is so strong poor leaders self select out very quickly. The result is a company with laser focus and drive to deliver...

      Show More

      Cons

      USAA is a fast paced environment. Some people may not be able to sustain the pace. For those who don’t integrate into the culture, it may be frustrating as they will struggle to achieve results. Lastly; owning a bank creates additionally regulatory requirements that can sometimes demand extra rigor other companies may not have.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to balance the great culture with change and preserve what’s good while leading forward into the next century.

      USAA2019-07-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company with great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member Solutions Senior Specialist in Tampa, FL

      I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great salary and benefits.

      Cons

      No growth opportunities and no support from managers.

      USAA2019-06-30
    Found 2645 reviews