USAA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

USAA Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
USAA CEO Stuart Parker
Stuart Parker
1,101 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The first year on the phones are the hardest if you do not have previous call center experience(in 356 reviews)

  • "Some managers (Not to be named here) said that they cared for the military and their families(in 122 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Great Company, horrid job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Vision, Mission, Members, Gorgeous facility, Education benefit, food access, gym and other Perks on campus, respectful environment, flex Schedules after a year, 401K, great job for retirees or those who do not care about promoting. Diverse and hires Veterans, Second chance employer in some cases. Paid training and college credits.

    Cons

    Pay is low, medical benefits are not great, coworkers lack of critical thinking skills causes issues, lack of qualified employee pool for this pay level job, lots of calls, hard to get promoted if you are younger. This job is hard for the low money it pays and requires higher level thinking abilities. This is severe and lacking in our country today, and especially in AZ, which has a lowly educated state populace. I... left because I hated the job, moved out of state, and got another job paying better. I was sad since I loved the company. I just hated the job. Maybe other opportunities. This work is not for everyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I spend 90 percent of my day fixing wrong information given out by lazy or downright dumb employees who do not know how to do their job and lack critical thinking skills. Sorry, but just being honest. I loved the nice members but the nasty ones who insulted me ruined my day. You can only take that for so long before other jobs come calling.

    USAA2019-10-25
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Decision Science Analyst in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay Flexible hours Great gyms Great people

    Cons

    Compliance regulations Technology needs improvement

    USAA2019-11-17
  3. "usaa is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great company and they care about their employees. Competitive pay and benefits.

    Cons

    I did not want to leave USAA, but a call center job just isn't for me. I hope to come back to USAA in the future.

    USAA2019-11-17
  4. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people and the culture. Everyone values family life.

    Cons

    I have not really seen any so far.

    USAA2019-11-13
  5. "Insurance Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, company 401k match 8%, 40 hrs sick time, you can purchase additional vacation time, lump sum company bonus in February , holiday bonus, company gives Education card with up to 10k annually.

    Cons

    Sometimes Management isn't supportive, sometimes it's hard to change your schedule.

    Advice to Management

    If you aren't licensed it's mainly self study. Use that time wisely, you only get 3 chances to pass.

    USAA2019-11-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Culture, benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission to help military members

    Cons

    Beginning to lose culture with growth

    Advice to Management

    Stop poor (unqualified) promotions

    USAA2019-11-04
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Actuary 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good professional development

    Cons

    Heavy regulation work which takes you away from regular job

    USAA2019-11-07
  8. "Awesome for military families and everyone associated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, care and attention, autonomy, decent money, advancement is good

    Cons

    call center is always busy, if you consider that a con-- none, other than that

    Advice to Management

    none

    USAA2019-11-07
  9. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Msr in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefit, competitive pay, good training

    Cons

    hard to advance if you don't know the right people only located in a few states

    USAA2019-11-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always trying to make work life balance possible.. work from home is the greatest and also very flexible hours

    Cons

    Depends on manager and possible make the easiet job miserable

    Advice to Management

    Please make sure your manager knows all processes

    USAA2019-10-30
Found 2781 reviews
</>Embed