US Marine Corps "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

US Marine Corps Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
US Marine Corps Commandant Joseph F. Dunford, Jr.
Joseph F. Dunford, Jr.
2,575 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have Great Benefits for the whole family(in 403 reviews)

  • "Brotherhood and Leadership that prepare employees for success(in 347 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unexpected long hours without warning(in 941 reviews)

  • "deployments, sometimes away from family(in 661 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobility Chief 

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time

    Pros

    They have Great Benefits for the whole family.

    Cons

    Every workplace/ Job has cons, none are perfect.

    US Marine Corps2020-03-17
  2. "Great Job Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airport Operations Crew Member in Beaufort County Landing, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Great Pay. Awesome team.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours. No overtime.

    US Marine Corps2020-03-15
  3. "4 Year Marine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Comptable 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    World travel, great benefits, Tricare

    Cons

    Potential poor leadership depending on location

    US Marine Corps2020-01-20
  4. "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Attorney in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, wide range of opportunity

    Cons

    Limited control over assignment and work location. Promotions not merit based. Family-Work balance is difficult

    US Marine Corps2020-01-10
  5. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic 

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time

    Pros

    Great co workers, good advancement, great benefits

    Cons

    Hours can vary greatly so be prepared

    US Marine Corps2019-12-22
  6. "I was a small unit i infantry leader."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at US Marine Corps

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great friends. Great times.

    Cons

    Long hours, long nights. Can’t make more even when working more.

    US Marine Corps2019-12-18
  7. "Its Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Combat Engineer 

    I have been working at US Marine Corps full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits during and after service

    Cons

    Can be stressful to some

    US Marine Corps2019-11-25
  8. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Precision Measurement Equipment Technician in Jacksonville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits for the time served.

    Cons

    Long Hours varied depending on maintenance load.

    Continue reading
    US Marine Corps2019-11-12
  9. "Communications Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Camp Lejeune, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. The best leadership training and opportunities. A lot of world travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Long hours, last minute deployments.

    US Marine Corps2019-10-26
  10. "It had its ups and down, but I'm glad I did it. I'm certain it has shaped my life for the better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Twentynine Palms, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Marine Corps full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A chance to travel (usually), job security, housing provided, steady paychecks, excellent opportunity to get in shape, and great benefits (including free college). Really it all depends on your attitude.

    Cons

    Your life belongs to Uncle Sam, every single second of it from the moment you join to the moment you get out (maybe for while after you get out too). High potential for life threatening situations, though I'm sure many consider that a pro. Potential for getting a different MOS (job) then what you desired, Uncle Sam makes the decisions now. Every Marine is a rifleman, but every Marine is also a janitor, especially those in the lower ranks. Whenever you do end up getting out your body will feel 20 years older then your actual age. Like I said, it's all about your attitude.

    US Marine Corps2019-10-25
Found 403 reviews